We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quamby Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quamby Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hagley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed with a friend pre Overland track walk, great place, very relaxing, lovely building, great grounds, good night sleep, great food, fantastic staff, nothing was a problem and to top it of brilliant weather!! Had a fantastic stay here...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    39
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
89
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great service and a wonderful and relaxing homestead/mansion. Only 10 or so rooms beautifully appointed. And a great 9 hole golf course beautifully manicured and quite luxurious. The grounds are beautiful for just strolling around and also has a number of rooms where you can just sit and read, etc. A lovely wrap around verandah for a few drinks or afternoon tea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at Quamby Estate late April and must say the property looked just beautiful when we arrived, definitely a great time just as all the leaves are changing colours.
Warmly greeted we were shown to our downstairs room which looked very luxurious and warm. The bathroom was long and narrow with a good size shower. Only fault with the room was that only one of the lights in the bathroom was working - the other 3/4 had electrical problems, meaning you were unable to put on make up or see in the mirror drying hair when it got dark!! Not good enough for an expensive room and were advised that an electrician would be coming out the next day to look at problem.
Drinks in the sitting room by the fire was very pleasant and lots of reading material...fire roaring was a lovely touch.
Dinner was good and the entree and main both well presented and of a good quality. At times the staff were a little too relaxed and unpolished, their standard did not quite match up with the feel of Quamby at times.
When we ordered two sparkling from the wine list one arrived as ordered, the second came from a newly opened bottle which was completely different sparkling to that on the wine list. We advised this is not what we ordered and really she should have known to ask first before just opening something else and pouring. Maybe some in house training of staff to lift the professional standards just a little may help?
All in all we did have a lovely and relaxing time, walked around the Estate before dark, and enjoyed it .... just would be nice to see a little more 'polish' on some of the staff (and to have adequate lighting....or any lighting in the bathroom!!).

Room Tip: Check the lighting before settling for the room! Downstairs was quiet but we could hear people walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had our wedding reception at quamby and loved every minute off it. What a excellent classy venue! I would recommend quamby to everyone that wants a fantastic time away! The staff service were so amazing and so was the food. Definitely 10/10!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

May I say that the 3 nights my husband and I recently stayed at Quamby Estate were the absolute highlight of our trip. From the first friendly welcome by staff to our final farewell we felt cocooned in a very special experience. Our room was superb and utterly luxurious, the meals were beautiful, the house itself just divine, and the surrounding grounds a pleasure for walking. The Estate is a great base for exploring the surrounding area including many, many beautiful little villages and only a half hour drive to Launceston. We wish we could have stayed longer, we will very definitely be back, and we are extolling the value of such a special place to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Quamby before and after the Cradle Huts walk and thought it was a lovely place to spend a night or two. The homestead had been beautifully restored. The two rooms we stayed in were both really lovely with an old world feel to the bedroom and a modern en-suite. The dinner was really wonderful. A small but varied menu with a nod to local produce is what can be expected. While the staff were friendly and willing to help with any requests they could do with some training about the wines on offer. Would have liked to have more time to explore the lovely grounds but will just have to plan a return trip for this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Quamby Estate is the place in which we chose to hold our wedding, and what a great decision that was. The natural charm and beauty of the homestead and picturesque grounds of Quamby Estate set the seen for the most beautiful wedding. The staff lead by Jo Da Silva were fantastic and they all went above and beyond to ensure our wedding day was perfect and that everything ran smoothly throughout the day. Fantastic setting, beautiful food, amazing service and quality accommodation, we could not have asked for anything more. Thank you Quamby Estate and your professional team of staff for making our dream wedding come true.
Carla and Brock

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 534CarlaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hagley
12.0 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
11.9 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
9.4 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
6.8 mi away
Red Feather Inn
Red Feather Inn
#1 of 1 in Hadspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.7 mi away
Entally Lodge
Entally Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hadspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quamby Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quamby Estate

Property: Quamby Estate
Address: 1145 Westwood Rd, Hagley, Tasmania 7292, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hagley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hagley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quamby Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quamby Estate is an iconic country manor situated on 150 acres of picture book landscape just 15 minutes on the Highway from Launceston in Tasmania's pristine and stunning Tamar Valley. A free shuttle service is available from the airport at selected times. This enchanting property is one of Tasmania's most prestigious and historically significant properties dating back to 1828 when it was the ancestral home of Tasmania's first-born Premier, Sir Richard Dry. Lovingly restored, Quamby Estate's charming Anglo-Indian designed architecture, period antiques and marble fireplaces combine modern luxuries to offer the complete country getaway. Extensive entertaining areas, a restaurant or private dining locations, library and a chef to showcase Tasmania's gourmet local produce will complete your Quamby experience. Quamby Estate's beautiful homestead features ten impeccably restored guestrooms and suites, luxuriously adorned with an eclectic collection of original art and antique furniture mixing the old and the new. Marble or stone bathrooms with heated floors and superior amenities, flat screen TV's, DVD players, complimentary continental breakfast, WiFi and in-house movies and heating units or fireplaces feature. Deluxe suites are also inclusive of spa baths. Quamby Estate boasts a tennis court, tree-lined laneways, hiking and bike trails, lakes and streams and an impeccably manicured golf course which Sir Richard Branson holds the Number 1 Membership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quamby Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing