We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but must improve.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
RACV Royal Pines Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benowa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good but must improve.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights over a weekend. Have previously stayed here a few times over the years and once organised a large function for a national organisation here. All these previous experiences meant that I was looking forward to a rerun.

Sadly, while still a nice place it did not live up to my expectations. This resort nearly hits the mark but misses because of a few cheap, penny pinching issues.

1) Once was the time you arrived by car and were met by staff who took your luggage and offered Valet parking. No more it would seem.
2) The rooms are still first rate and the views no matter where you are in the building are great. But in 2013 there is no excuse for the lifts creating so much noise that it was audible in your room and was intrusive.
Can't speak for Saturday night, but on Sunday night there was only one restaurant operating but no bar!! If you wanted a night cap, forget it.
3) The Hydrate Bar is a joke in a hotel like this. It had all the atmosphere of a run down suburban pub. With the outlook it has it could be so much better.
4) The lobby (Panorama) bar is nice when its open, the hours of which seemed to be haphazard.

This hotel has the possibility to be so much more but its let down by a few silly aspects. However in spite of my disappointment we will likely be back. For while it has shortcomings it is a much better alternative to staying in Surfers and thats no bad thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Dusse

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent return stay at RACV Royal Pines. Apologies your arrival was a little lacking - we do have concierge staff on and still valet park - it appears that on your arrival they were busy elsewhere - that shouldnt have happened.

The lifts - we are very close to the end of our lift upgrade project - all four guest lifts are being upgraded and the lift specialists are working on the fourth lift now.. this has meant some delays and noise but this will be a thing of the past, very soon

On Sunday night the bar in Amici's restaurant is open - this should have been advised to you - apologies if this was not the case.

We do look forward to welcoming you back - please feel free to contact me directly prior to your return so that I can personally handle your reservation

Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    351
    95
    23
    10
See reviews for
270
258
33
336
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice hotel room. Staff very pleasant but slow service. Breakfast has a works cafeteria feel. Conference rooms are dated. Technology seems to be a real problem - TV systems clunky and the slowest WiFi you can imagine. Could be great, but is just OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Mike C

Thanks for your review though it was concerning to read about the slow service and WIFI problems. In regard to the conference rooms we are about to embark on a very exciting project when, later this year we refurbish all of our Conference and Events facilities and will have the most modern facilities available. It will be an amazing new space!! We are also reviewing our Wifi service as part of that project and upgrading the free internet that all guests currently receive
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went with a few families for three nights to RACV's Royal Pines Resort. We arranged kids club for the evenings so the adults could have dinners together. The kids loved this as they got to play with their friends. We played golf and a bit of tennis. We relaxed around the pool and because it was so well heated, the kids swam all day despite it being in the middle of winter! We opted for a corner suit room with an a joining room which gave us plenty of space (two adults, two children). All the staff were friendly and the food was great offering plenty of choice. The breakfast buffet was well set out with lots of different cuisine options.

Room Tip: If you are going for more than a couple of nights with a family of four, the connecting room option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivygir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Cav0k
It was great to read your review about your recent stay with us. The Kids Club is really popular in school holidays and gives parents a chance to relax and enjoy any of the four restaurants we have. With the pool activities, Segways and a range of other activities we can tire most kids out by the end of the day....!
I have passed on your comments about how good the food was to our Executive Chef - he, like I, loves to read the positive comments on his food and the resort service in general
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abermain, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Don't eat here, expensive and woke up in the middle of the night with a dry mouth every time I ate there, breakfast was ok but again the quality of food was sub-standard IMO. The room was nice and the golf course was truly outstanding but the restaurant's are woeful and majorly over-priced and the bar is just bad, no tv's showing sport, just a big room selling grog, boring and bland.

Golf fan?; play here but don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 724GCSuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear 724 GCSuns

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am not sure how you have rated our restaurants as "majorly overpriced:' as we do regular competitor comparisons to ensure our pricing is in line and our last comparison, in April,, had our pricing positioned under most of our competitors. Still, I appreciate your constructive comments and have asked our Food and Beverage Manager to update the comparisons to see where our pricing sits.
I am glad that you enjoyed the room and the golf course - as you say "truly outstanding " and we are all very excited about the PGA Championship being held here later this year.
We hope to welcome you back to the golf course and the resort in the future
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I just stayed here for a romantic weekend. Wow such a nice establishment. We had a great deal to get a spa suite (extra large room, sunken lounge and amazing views and breaky was included.) Ok the spa was small, but the view and the beautiful room made up for that. The pool was 27 deg in the middle of winter. (Pity I didn't take my bikinis.) The coffee shop in the lobby does high tea. And the bar had a nice view and atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent. Definitely going back with girlfriends for high tea and to try out the day spa. (And only a short walk to the Metricon stadium to watch the footy. Tip: walk to the stadium don't catch a cab, traffic is horrendous and its quicker walking there.

Room Tip: Check special on wotif
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woowoo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
126 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This review covers the very specific Torquay suite with all the privelidges that come with this standard. It does not apply to normal rooms or areas which appeared a little run down and in need of upgrading.

The suite was outstanding, situated on the 22 floor with views over the golf course and Gold Coast. Entry is into a large lounge with 60" TV and a dining table for 6.

The kitchen is all granite and has a full size refrigerator and special Miele coffee machine. A guest bathroom is behind the counter.

Main bedroom also has 60" TV and king size bed with plenty of wardrobe space.
The bathroom had a marble spar and twin showers and basins.
The window here looks towards Tweed Heads.

All windows are electronically controlled.

The executive lounge was for Australia very good and breakfast was a small buffet of good quality with special orders straight from the kitchen in minutes.

Very impressed with the CEO who was observant and very discreet. Valet parking was also included with this room.

Golf courses, tennis courts and landscaping where all excellant.

We will return, making sure school holidays are avoided as this complex will be a magnet for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Archer 66

Your review of the Torquat Suite is the first review we have had on Trip Advisor of our "best room in the house" - thanks for taking the time to share your experience and i am delighted that, in your words it was "outstanding". We are very proud of it and I personally think it is the best value Suite of its kind on the Gold Coast. (then again, I might be biased!)

The Executive Lounge is a great experience and is becoming more and more popular with guests enjoying the magnificent views, the discrete luxury it provides and of course the breakfast buffet and evening drinks and canapes.....

We look forward to your return

Kind Regards

John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is very well run, the staff at check in were very helpful and polite. If your a golfer such as me, this is the place, as it is the home of the Australian Ladies Masters. The course is in very good condition and very tough with LOTS OF WATER...so good luck!!! The cost per game is $81.00 and they also give you a electric buggy as these are compulsory and a mobile drink cart is on hand as well. The room itself was very clean and big. The bedding was comfy and a mini bar to be well stocked. As we were up on the 16th floor the view was fantastic. If your also a footy follower (AFL) Metricon Stadium is only a short walk. The grounds are in tip top condition and the restaurant on site was very good and lots to choose from..The inground pool is big and very well clean. If you have kids this hotel caters for them also. So all in all a very nice and well run hotel.. A big bad tick goes to Tiger Airways for all Australian travellers..If you don't book your bags when you purchase your ticket they charge you a pack it when you check in. In my case, they charged me $80.00 for my golf clubs and because there terminal is down in the back drops of the airport they have you...A return flight was meant to leave Brisbane Airport at 7.10pm but didn't leave to 10.30pm and there excuse was it had to do with the flight tower..Please Tiger take the blame on yourself!!!! Never again!!!A very bad airline!!!

Room Tip: The room we had was very good and I would say there all like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
dear Woo Woo 25

Great to read how much you enjoyed your recent romantic weekend at Royal Pines. The corner Spa Suites are really popular - for the spa, the sunken lounge room and the views from two sides of the hotel
We look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriends back to try the Spa here - while on the Spa, we are currently building a brand new truly amazing one - it will open late November/early December and will be unique experience!
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benowa
3.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
3.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
3.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
3.9 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RACV Royal Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV Royal Pines Resort

Property: RACV Royal Pines Resort
Address: Ross St, Benowa, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Benowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — RACV Royal Pines Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RACV Royal Pines Resort stands at the centre of beautiful established gardens offering 331-stylish guest accommodation rooms and premium spa suites with expansive views of the hinterland, chic tropical pool, Gold Coast skyline or the golf course. RACV's flagship resort is a golfer's dream - offering a renowned 27-hole composite golf course and state of the art driving range, the course is proudly home to the Australian PGA Championship and Gold Coast RACV Ladies Masters. But if you're not into golf, never fear. Relax in the Day Spa, or grab a sun lounge by the outdoor lagoon pool, while the kids burn off energy on the pool's fun slippery slide or children's playground with jumping pillow, or have a hit of tennis on one of our five tennis courts. Time Out Adventures, our on-site adventure company, offers a great range of additional activities. Why not take a Segway Adventure Tour, walk on water in an Ozbobble, laugh yourself silly making a Bopping Heads music video DVD, or have a blast with Laser Clay Shooting. There's something for everyone at RACV Royal Pines Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your RACV Royal Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racv Royal Pines Hotel Benowa
Racv Royal Pines Ashmore
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, Australia - Benowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing