We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They certainly "create them"!”

Camelot Gourmet Pizza
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Benowa
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“They certainly "create them"!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although not the fanciest of places, if you're looking for a decent pizza ... this place will put a smile in your belly. The restaurant is clean and the guy making the pizzas is very friendly & helpful. Everything is reasonably priced, so you will get value for your money. The pizzas are huge ... as the toppings are stacked up high. So, I strongly suggest you order several "small" pizzas, so you can try many of the unique flavours that they have to offer.
We definitely reccommend the "Dungeon Master Supreme" if you like the lot!! Absolutely beautiful!! And if you're into seafood ... you can't go past "Excalibur"! Just brilliant!!
Just make sure you're hungry when you get there ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Best pizzas on the Gold Coast, no bull......”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have been dining at Camelot Gourmet Pizzas, Benowa for two decades now; ie well before they relocated to their present premises. Camelot serves the best pizzas on the Gold Coast and they leave the rest, especially the chain/franchise pizzas, way behind... and I mean way behind. Ever since tasting Camelot's pizzas, I have never been able to bring myself to having pizzas from a chain pizza outlet.

Their pizzas are named after characters from Camelot or in the medieval theme. The Dungeon Master Supreme, for instance, IS supreme! It ranks as my all time favourite followed by Guinevere, Lancelot and Dragons Breath. Once you try the Dungeon Master, you will find it difficult to order a Supreme from another outlet.

The pizzas are sized from Petite, Small, Regular and Large, and priced between $10.50 to $30.90. My best mate and I often share a large Dungeon Master, and it fills us both. The large is also adequate as a good meal when I am accompanied by my wife and teen-adult daughter. The large pizza is the best value, even for the smallest groups.

The chef is ever happy to make your pizzas, half and half in toppings. We often order the Dungeon Master and Chicken-Avocado combo.

The restaurant is open for lunch as well as dinner, 7 days. Be warned though that Camelot gets crowded especially on Friday and Saturday evenings and I would strongly recommend you book a table on those nights.

Whilst it is sometimes difficult to secure a table, especially at the spur of the moment, it is wise to remember that a crowded restaurant is a definite sign that it is a good restaurant.

I can highly recommend Camelot Gourmet Pizzas. In my humble opinion, the best pizzas on the Gold Coast, if not, in Queensland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skis-gitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Pizza Perfection”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Two of us arrived Wednesday eve for a quick bite. Place was packed. Inside and out. Forgot to ask why the inside tables have linen tablecloths whereas the ones outside don't. Maybe inside is the VIP room - he he.
When I say outside room, it really isn't outside as such. Strong roof and cafe blinds keep the winter chill out and with one gas heater on, the place was quite warm.
Waitress was flat out busy. Glasses arrive quickly and an apology to say that any order would take 30 minutes. Set the stopwatch!
When there's a crowd in a restaurant, time passes quickly due to "people watching". Even though the place was crowded, noise levels were fine.
Chose a large half and half. It arrived smack on time.
No wood fired oven but who cares. Bases were neither thick or thin - just right. Lashings of topping.
Moorish.
Only complaint was that the pizzas were so good we each ate probably one too many slices. Leftovers bought home in a box.
Less than $35 including corkage.
Great place for couples and families.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MurielMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenslander
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value, great pizzas, great pasta”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

When we go to Camelot for a pizza, pasta or great salad it is a great dining experience for us. As a couple we love the pleasant atmosphere, either inside or the alfresco area. Food is always great, pizza toppings extremely generous & high quality. Pasta too if you prefer or I also like the Seafood salad or the Caesar Salad. It's BYO with a bottle shop a few doors down so you can grab your wine or beer easily. Best of all the bill for the two of us is $30! Now that's a great dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Class Pizza”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a well known local pizzA restaurant. Gr8 Menu. BYO. Always busy. Run by an italian, thats why its good.Good service.Good prices.

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelot Gourmet Pizza also viewed

 
Ashmore, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Labrador, Gold Coast
 

Been to Camelot Gourmet Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing