We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the off season!”
Review of Luna Negra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Negra
Ranked #3 of 6 Cambutal B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My friend and I made a last minute reservation here and glad we did. As we came during the off season, mid June, we had the place to ourselves most of the time.The accommodations were as described in other reviews. I particularly liked the special touches with the shower tiles (we stayed in the Casita) and the use of the native woods in the construction of the buildings and tables. The restaurant was closed for our stay, but Aaron and his girlfriend Brittany, made a special seared Suishi dinner for us one night that was phenomenal! The "garden" was particularly pleasing to the eye and fused with the grounds with its meandering paths. I loved swinging in the hammocks during the rain storms and drifting off to a well deserved nap listening to the ocean. The owners of Luna Negra have put a lot of love and caring into the place and their interactions with us made our 11 day stay very memorable. The surrounding community is wonderful and there is a total absence of the tourist hustle seen in other areas. There are several good choices for dining, although, we really enjoyed the fresh fish at some of the restaurants. Aaron, thanks for all the surf tips and Brittany, thanks for the French Press coffee in the mornings! Well done. Erik Swannack and Rick Novak

Room Tip: Treat yoursel and stay in the stand alone Casita.........nobody walking in the area and wonderful vi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Luna Negra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 56 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Playa Cambutal is one of the most remote places in Panama. It's about a 5 hour drive from Panama City, depending on the route, on the Pacific peninsula. The majority of Panamanians have never heard of the place. It's remote, it's quiet, it's relaxing and if you like to surf there are some great waves. The place is populated by "mom & pop" bed & breakfast surf & yoga type places, many of them operated by expats. We stayed at Luna Negra for 3 nights with another family - 4 adults, 6 kids, and one small dog. The duplex cabanas were perfect for our needs. We are hotel/resort people - the Luna Negra is not a "resort" per se. There's no wi-fi, no TV, no pool and for the most part no cell service. But that's what makes it great. Relax on a hammock and look at the black sand beach, ride horses on the beach, surf, body board, ride bikes, hike to waterfalls and look at the capuchin monkeys in the trees. Anita and son are Americans and they know how to cater to foreigners. The breakfast was excellent - bacon, omelets, fresh fruit, smoothies, milk shakes. We were there during the week so Anita didn't do dinner. We ate dinners at "Boom Shiva," a little italian place down the road run by a real Italian dude. I'm pretty sure the guy doing the cooking was shirtless - all part of the charm. Bottom line, we are not "roughing it" kind of people, but we loved the peace and quiet of Luna Negra (my kids were less thrilled about the lack of wi-fi). If you want more of a traditional hotel experience with satellite TV and wifi (and great hamburgers), stay at the Hotel Playa Cambutal just down the road. The hotel has a pool, very nice rooms and is located on what I would consider to be the best beach in the area - especially for surfers. But if you want personalized attention, service and good advice, stay with Anita at Luna Negra.

Room Tip: If you prefer to camp, Anita also has tents set up on the property.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

As special as Cambutal is, Luna Negra is an oasis of relaxation, comfort, and hospitality on an even higher scale! Anita and staff are the most accommodating folks you can hope to find at the end of a long journey! We spent 9 amazing days at Luna Negra and couldn't have had a more delightful experience. As an added bonus, their food is by far the best in the area! We are already dreaming about our next opportunity to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We recently had a wonderful 4 night stay at Luna Negra, and could have happily stayed much longer! Annette made us immediately welcome and relaxed after a long journey, the whole atmosphere was happy and low-key, we were visiting during a quiet period, but even when fully booked, there are plenty of places to hang out nearby.

We and our two sons had two large adjoining rooms (two big bathrooms). These formed a whole structure, with porch and hammocks and 5 seconds from the beach, yet set back behind lush free trees and plants. Beautiful flowers, amusing hermit crabs, gorgeous birdlife. Our rooms were full of character, lovely textiles, paintings, stacked bookshelves, comfortable beds, air conditioning and/ or ceiling fans. I wish we had a photo!

Breakfasts were heaven, smoothies, home made granola, fresh local eggs and good coffee! Annette's cooking in the evenings were even more heavenly. We ate freshly caught tuna sashimi, a great dish of grilled squid and feta, our sons even had some of the best burgers (with all the trimmings) they'd ever had!

The beach, when we were there, was mostly empty, beautiful views, great snorkelling and surfing. My husband and sons went out on a fishing trip with Gonzales and Leah, both champion surfers and who are based at a wonderful fish cafe minutes from Luna Negra. We ate the fish that my sons caught that very night at the cafe, tuna and mackerel, which was divine. Gonzales also gave our son a surfing lesson, which was a great experience. There is also a lovely Italian restaurant 10 minutes walk away from Luna Negra in the other direction, very friendly owner, great pasta.

(Lack of internet and cell phone coverage might bother some guests, but we found it nice to get away from that. There is a larger hotel, 20 minutes walk along the coast where you can use wifi for $2.)

We would love to visit again one day!! Thank-you Annette!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolakarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I spent five days in Cambutal at Luna Negra. The area around Cambutal has some of the most beautiful beaches that I have ever seen. Although we were here in April which is high season, we saw few people on the beach. Anita and her son Aaron were hands on and along with their Panamanian staff created a wonderful experience. Food and drink were awesome. Our bed was comfortable and the room more than met our expectations. Both Anita and Aaron offered a world of knowledge concerning this part of Panama. We highly recommend a visit to Luna Negra in Cambutal.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you are ever in the Cambutal area, you must stop and eat at Luna Negra. They have great food, prices and it is right on the beach. It is so beautiful there. It is like a tropical garden and you eat in thatched roofed bohios. The owners and servers are also so nice and attentive. They are open Thurs. Fri. and Sat. nights, so plan accordingly. Everything there is home made and fresh. Their caprese salad, fish tacos, chicken and pasta, grilled calamari appetizer, and fresh grilled snapper were fantastic! We will be going there once a week and we live 45 mins. away, but it is worth the trip. Have a great marguarita and enjoy! Anita, don't change anything!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spend a very great time at this place. Very comfortable rooms with view to the sea. Excellent service and good food.
We can recomend this place to everibody who want's to relax, go snorkling, surfing or do sportfishing. Very nice people are runing this beautiful place. Thank's for everithing. Esther and Marc

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Esther888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambutal
24.3 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
24.1 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
24.3 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Cambutal
Hotel Playa Cambutal
#2 of 6 in Cambutal
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sansara Surf & Yoga Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Negra

Address: Calle Principal | Azuero Peninsula, Cambutal, Panama
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Cambutal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cambutal
Price Range: $102 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finally a place where you can take a breathe and get back to nature. Located on a private cove, Luna Negra keeps its grounds inviting and relaxing. All our cabanas have views of the water and surround you with lush tropical gardens. Our family run resort makes you feel comfortable and lets you experience a personalized getaway. We are the only Eco resort in Cambutal and we use organic products to help nature stay the way it should be. Come find your adventure with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Luna Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing