We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than expected(all in all)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of True Lovers Knot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
True Lovers Knot
WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“better than expected(all in all)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

Arrived and found the hotel very easily,alighted from car and proceeded to front door to check in.Anthony the owner caught us and we were shown into the rear of the hotel,not a problem because the stairs were straight in front of us.He offered to carry our bags not needed as they were very lightly packed. showed us to our room (we wanted the four poster but that was booked and he apologised for this) The twin room allocated was sufficient for one night (but no longer).bedroom and bathroom very poorly illuminated.Unable to shave due to L.E.D.lights batteries being dead,had to use cup to fill kettle as the basin was too small to fill kettle directly.Booked a table for dinner and we were not disappointed in the quality, quantity or service.Breakfast was ample and the offer of more tea,toast or anything was appreciated if not accepted. Overall not an unpleasant stay for £60.00 for two people on B&B. Probably would not pay the full price due to accomodation lacking the little touches.O.K. for one night in the room we had.The upper floor needs replanning and more thought put into the lighting and decoration the hotel area.Would recommend to friends but at a discount.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MEANDERINGDUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    24
    22
    14
See reviews for
33
69
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, Dorset
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

We live within 5 miles of the True Lover's Knot and ,although have driven past hundreds of times, had never ventured inside.
Last Friday we took friends there for a meal.
Unfortunately we didn't book a table, so had to eat in the bar area. This in itself was not a problem.
However, I have rarely experienced such disinterested bar staff .. (although no criticism of the waitress).
I can honestly say that the food was about as lacking in inspiration as it could possibly be. The vegetables with the meat course smelt "off", were completely tasteless and were stringy.
The Lasagne ("luxury vegetable" ) can best be decribed as non-descript.
Readers of this review could well ask "Did you give the management an opportunity to remedy the probleems?"
The answer to this is no.
a) We did not wish to risk a fuss and spoil the evening and
b) The fact of these meals being served up I the first place is indicative of the standard of the establishment and its 'cooks'.
We put it down to experience, but suffice to say we shall not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarrant Keyneston hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We live nearby and had Sunday lunch at the True Lovers Knot with a group of friends recently. One of our group had the roast lamb, a dish which was utterly tasteless, as if quantity was the only criteria by which this establishment prioritised its meals.

The most disheartening feature of our visit was the unwelcoming and emotionless management who appeared to see every customer as a nuisance to be endured for the sake of the balance sheet. In fairness the manager eventually refunded the cost of this dish, but did so in the style of ‘Basil Fawlty’ in that he could not resist making a big song and dance that he was doing US a favour and this is what he has to put up with when customers ‘try it on’!!! The young waitresses were doing their best and cannot be criticised, however their lack of attention seemed more a reflection of poor management from above.

All in all, this is NOT the way to encourage repeat business - but there again, may be with a ready clientele of passing holiday makers, such considerations are not a burning issue for the new management of the True Lovers Knot?

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank The Worl Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

Luckily we only stayed here one night. As the previous person suggested, the horrendous smell of dogs was all pervasive. We too had to hold our noses and run up the stairs, retching. The smell even leached into the room so we went to the local Tescos and bought a room freshener which helped.

Not only that but we had booked a double en-suite yet when we turned up the room was a twin. "No problem," said the landlord "we'll just push the beds together." Bang goes all hopes of a romantic night. Having said that, the beds were comfy, the bedding didn't smell of dogs, thank goodness and we had a decent night's sleep. The landlord seems to be a really nice chap.

The restaurant seemed to be quite expensive and the portions were absolutely enormous - much too big for my liking. However the food was good.

I would not stay here again and I would counsel anyone else against it too! I have a dog myself and my house doesn't smell like that!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DominoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

We had read some excellent reviews about this place, so were most keen to visit.
However, we were somewhat disappointed to spend about 15 minutes trying to gain access to the place. Eventually, as we were about to drive off, a man appeared and asked if we were the couple booked in for that night? We confirmed that we were. He was almost sarcastic in his tone, asking why we were trying to get in when they were obviosly closed! We were led through a somewhat shabby outside space to a side door and shown in. The overwhelming smell of damp dog took our breath away! It was horrible. The two dogs in question were barking loudly from behind a filthy door. We literally had to hold our breaths as we were led to our room, it was that bad.
The room itself was clean, and certainly had all you would need for a short stay, so that was a positive thing.
We decided not to make a cuppa and unpack, but to go for a drive and find a cafe, as the smell had put us off having a drink in the room.
On our return, the side door was so warped, we couldn't get it to open, and once again, we had to bang on the window to get the owners attention.
We had booked a evening meal in the restaurant, and it would be fair to say we were somewhat anxious as to what to expect, but I have to say, the food was excellent. Good sized portions and beautifully presented and tasty food.
It is such a shame that the husband and wife team, who turned out to be very friendly, seem totally unaware of the smell, which I cannot emphasise enough, the shabby guest entrance and the stairs leading to the rooms which are covered in dog hair! It let the whole place down and has put us off going again. My husband was also kept awake by the dogs barking on and off through the night.
I should point out that we are dog lovers, but this total lack of awareness must surely have put others off returning?

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppy-ronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

hi stopped here just before x-mas. the room was fab. nicely set out, great bed. the landlord and landlady went out of there way to make our stop enjoyable. im a coeliac and they had the most extensive menu to deal with our needs. the food was great and the whole experence was very very enjoyable.

this is my first review. use the site all the time but the first time my wife and i were impressed enough to review a pub/hotel!

  • Liked — the best hosts iv ever met totally brilliant nothing was to much trouble
  • Disliked — nothing really but not good signal on my mobile hardly any problem!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davidr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrant Keyneston
2.3 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Charlton Inn
The Charlton Inn
#1 of 1 in Charlton Marshall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
The Anvil Inn
#12 of 23 in Blandford Forum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Talbot
The Talbot
#1 of 2 in Iwerne Minster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
22.0 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to True Lovers Knot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about True Lovers Knot

Property: True Lovers Knot
Address: Wimborne Road, Tarrant Keyneston DT11 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Keyneston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tarrant Keyneston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — True Lovers Knot 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Tarrant Valley, surrounded by open countryside, the True Lovers Knot offers fantastic food, a civil wedding licence, 4 luxury en-suite rooms and a campsite. Using locally sourced fresh produce to cook freshly prepared meals, with our menu nearly 95% gluten-free. We cater for wedding parties and any other group either in the pub itself, or in one of our marquees in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, PitchUp and Agoda so you can book your True Lovers Knot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
True Lovers Knot Hotel Tarrant Keyneston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing