We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our place to celebrate”
Review of True Lovers Knot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
True Lovers Knot
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Our place to celebrate”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We go to the TLK quite often because my wife has to eat gluten free and their menu is brilliant. You cannot fault the food, gluten free or not, and although you might sometimes get a few more chips every now and then the food is fantastic. I do wish we would try some more of the menu because it all looks fantastic but what we have had has been wonderful. We do seem to have the same thing every time but that is because it is so good. We can both recommend the baked camembert to start and the fish and chips......gluten free or normal, they are amazing.

Not stayed in the B&B but every time we have something to celebrate we make the journey to this place because it is great. People who moan about the staff or anything in other reviews are just picky. They are perfectly fine and always super friendly. Shock horror it might be more of a wait when it is busy but what do you want? Fast food? No, this is a great country pub with excellent food, lovely outside and a warm, cozy atmosphere inside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stecrossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    38
    27
    23
    14
See reviews for
35
75
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We heard great recommendations about True Lovers Knot and decided to go out for afternoon lunch with some friends. Firstly, I noticed that there wasn't a great deal of variety on the menu. The waitresses seemed quite vacant and unprofessional too. They appeared to be far more interested in dancing around and laughing than actually doing their job efficiently. The food was pretty expensive, which is fine, as long as the food is good quality and plentiful. Unfortunately, it was neither. The food was so over priced! £10.95 for an ok burger, a handful of chips and a measly salad with coleslaw. We shared a bowl of mediocre nachos for £10. We order two bowls of home made onion rings too, which tasted disgusting. Too much batter and a slither of onion. We did apologies and complain to the waitress, expecting her to apologies and take them off the food bill, as we only had 1 ring each. When paying we realised they hadn't taken them off, again we complained and explained that we hadn't even touched the 2nd bowl. The waitress didn't say anything, just stood there, eventually she did go ask the manager what to do. They did take it off the bill, but there was no apology from the waitress or management. Such a huge disappointment! We certainly won't be going back. I do not recommend at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloe h, Manager at True Lovers Knot, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for your review; I can assure you that all your comments have been taken on board and discussed with staff members. I apologise that your meal was below our usual standard and more so that your dissatisfaction was not dealt with as our staff are trained to do. I can appreciate why this left you feeling even more unhappy with your experience. Certainly you should have been offered a replacement meal if you were not happy with what you had been served. I can only assure you that we do strive at all times to give the best possible service and serve the best food. We take all criticism very seriously and use it to further our staff training. We did have a few new members of staff during the summer and unfortunately this can result in service being at times below our usual standard while training being given.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarrant Keyneston hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 9 in the evening, we had booked a twin room, the young girl showed us to the room which was a double, we had confirmed earlier that day with a phone call that we had a twin, so we sat and waited in the bar for half an hour whilst they sorted it out, didn't offer us a drink whilst we waited, we did get one but had to ask.
The room was fine, except for the mould around the grouting in the shower, a broken toilet roll holder which wouldn't take too much to fix, a TV with a buzz so loud you can't hear it.
Then there was breakfast.... Seriously where do I start??? We sat down for 15 minutes with no sight if any staff I had to wait in the kitchen for five minutes to catch the attention of a cook who clearly had way to much to drink and not enough sleep. To be told they had no sausages.. Baring in mind the minute we walked in the door they wanted money for breakfast.

Quite frankly I'm say here now in this pub utterly irritated and thoroughly unimpressed. It's poorly run, with staff who quite frankly don't care, customers left to sort out their own breakfasts, I'm angry and wish we hadn't already paid.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAFGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloe h, Manager at True Lovers Knot, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am extremely sorry that you had such a poor experience while you stayed with us. I can assure you that all your comments have been taken on board and are being looked into with staff members. We do strive at all times to give the best possible service and serve good quality food and I am disappointed to read your review and to know that we weren't able to deliver this service to you. Please be assured our staff training is on-going and your review has been discussed with staff and used to further their training. The issues with the room have now been resolved. We do take all feedback very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Arrival was great - very friendly staff and the pub had great drinks selection.

Room was nice but - the main room light didn't work, room was hot/stuffy, sanitary bags in bathroom were empty, limescale filled our cups when trying to make tea and once that was fixed the milk had gone off/was manky - on closer inspection there was much dust on the milk containers. I went down stairs to ask for some milk and no one was there. No one was there for at least the next 30 minutes before we left which left us deflated. I also had to deal with an irate delivery driver, who like me was trying to get hold of staff.

A few tweaks could make this a really great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HWMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloe h, Manager at True Lovers Knot, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. Please be assure your comments are being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. I am sorry that we weren't able to give you our usual high standard of customer service. I assure you that your comments have been discussed with staff and have been used to further training where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent an afternoon, evening and overnight there for a family birthday party. overall it was a pleasant experience but with a few small changes it could have been even better. We had a pleasant lunch but had a sharing platter but were not given side plates, but food was great even though a bit messy. Our room was good, clean and well furnished and roomy. We were warned that there was no central light in the room, which was not a problem until trying to put make up on or pour boiling water from a hot kettle. The lighting in the on-suite bathroom also could be improved and trying to fill a large kettle from a small sink tap was tricky to say the least. I do not wish to put anyone off eating or staying there as all in all we really enjoyed our time there. If they sorted the above small things it would make everyone's stay just a little bit more special. The evening food was great the atmosphere lovely, staff friendly and a very good time was had there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOYCE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Absolutely dreadful service and food. The worst steak and ale pie I have ever eaten. The staff were rude and the chef was drinking on the job. I would never return which is a shame as I don't live that far away. You'd be better off going to Wetherspoons in Wimborne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firefly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

After a walk we called in here for a spot of lunch. It was quite busy, and we turned up just after a large party arrived, so the bar service was a bit slow. It seemed like they were short staffed, and we did receive an apology for the delay in our drinks.

The menu is pretty good, lots to choose from, including light bites and sharing, to larger meal choices.

Lovely environment, comfortable and friendly. Dogs were very welcome too, and they enjoyed the leftovers!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrant Keyneston
2.3 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
290 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
421 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sandy Feet Accommodation
#22 of 33 in Christchurch
1 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
The Anvil Inn
#7 of 22 in Blandford Forum
11 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Talbot
The Talbot
#1 of 2 in Iwerne Minster
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to True Lovers Knot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about True Lovers Knot

Property: True Lovers Knot
Address: Wimborne Road, Tarrant Keyneston DT11 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Keyneston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tarrant Keyneston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — True Lovers Knot 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Tarrant Valley, surrounded by open countryside, the True Lovers Knot offers fantastic food, a civil wedding licence, 4 luxury en-suite rooms and a campsite. Using locally sourced fresh produce to cook freshly prepared meals, with our menu nearly 95% gluten-free. We cater for wedding parties and any other group either in the pub itself, or in one of our marquees in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your True Lovers Knot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
True Lovers Knot Hotel Tarrant Keyneston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing