We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super staff,awfull management,lousy food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of True Lovers Knot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
True Lovers Knot
bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“super staff,awfull management,lousy food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

visited on spec on a friday,for a meal.staff were very attentive,but my steak and ale pie was crust was so hard that it was inedible.both desserts bore no resemblance to panacotta or banoffi pie,and my final drink was served in a cracked glass.my complaint re the main was dismissed as i had "eated 90%" if only .
after two weeks of e mail a 15% discount on a repeat vist was offerred,not that it will be taken up ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    24
    20
    14
See reviews for
33
67
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed on Friday and Saturday night and ate in the restaurant both nights. The food was excellent and the room comfortable. The staff were helpful and cheerful, nothing was too much trouble. We were given good advice on where to visit in the area. The staff had good local knowledge. We would stay at the True Lovers Knot agin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We ate in the restaurant and wished we hadn't. Extremely slow service even to take our order. When the baked camenbert arrived twenty mins later as a starter I had contemplated eating my arm. Two bar staff on, one who appeared more interested in speaking with customers and the other who left a lot to be desired in customer service. When our mains finally arrived the battered fish looked awful and anemic as batter not right consistency and when we asked of that right we were told they had changed the oil in the fryer! Tried to explain they should of waited for it to be hotter! After all that they over charged me. Would not go back and we are locals.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank emsdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarrant Keyneston hotels

Zulu24
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here on Friday and Saturday night. Sleep wise it was not a good experience. On the Friday night there was the constant hum of fridges or freezers, with another kicking in every fifteen minutes or so. On the Saturday night I was woken at 12.15 am by the sound of 'clubbing' type bass music pounding through the floorboards, making sleep impossible. This went on until 1.00. when it was turned down but still audible. I'm amazed that this was allowed, considering all the rooms were booked. I wouldn't accept this from neighbours, but certainly not from somewhere I was paying to stay. The room was basic but adequate, a bit dark, the radiators didn't work, luckily it wasn't too cold.
On the plus side the room was clean, the bed linen was lovely and the food good.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that isn't over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I'm not usually driven to write reviews, but on this occasion the staff really deserve credit. From the moment we arrived, everyone did their utmost to help. This continued throughout our stay, even to the extent of changing our car tyre when we had a puncture. Many an establishment could do with taking lessons from this welcoming little spot. True service; the way it should be done.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tory31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked this stay a while ago after reading reviews on TA. We were not disappointed. The room we had was reasonably priced and was a Four Poster bedded room. It was clean, comfortable and spacious enough for us. We had dinner for 2 of our 3 nights stay in the pub, both times, the meal was excellent, I particularly liked the Rack of Lamb. Breakfast was delicious and my favourite there were the thick rashers of bacon that exuded flavour.
There is a campsite in the grounds which appeared busy, a capacious outside garden and the pub is in a quiet little village where one may walk out in the countryside quite easily. I would have no hesitation in recommending this pub to all who like pub stays,

Room Tip: Ask for the Four Poster room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ww1guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The staff make you really feel welcome which is especially important to me as a solo business travellor. The food is top drawer and the rooms very well kept and spacious.

The inn is situated a few miles outside of Blandford in a really beautiful location.

The only negative for me was that they did not start serving breakfast until 8.30am which for most business travellors is a little too late, this resulted in me not getting any breakfast,

Loved the place though and will certainly be back if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrant Keyneston
2.4 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Charlton Inn
The Charlton Inn
#1 of 1 in Charlton Marshall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to True Lovers Knot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about True Lovers Knot

Property: True Lovers Knot
Address: True Lovers Knot Wimborne Road, Tarrant Keyneston DT11 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Keyneston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tarrant Keyneston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — True Lovers Knot 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Tarrant Valley, the True Lovers Knot offers 4 luxurious en-suite rooms; 1 4-poster room and 3 twin/double rooms. We also have an adjoining CL campsite for those who prefer the outdoor life! Join us for a lite-bite or full meal in our restaurant area, or sample our chilled beers, wines, soft drinks, teas and Lavazza Italian coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and PitchUp so you can book your True Lovers Knot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
True Lovers Knot Hotel Tarrant Keyneston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing