We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect weekend at the Victorian Barn . . I would go back.”
Review of The Victorian Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victorian Barn
Ranked #1 of 2 Woolland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect weekend at the Victorian Barn . . I would go back.”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I was the hen of a large group of girls that have just had my surprise hen weekend at the Victorian Barn – I can’t think of 1 think to complain about at all – it really was perfect – the accommodation, views, facilities and overall layout was AMAZING . . . .but even more so I must say the owners were exceptionally accommodating and made my weekend feel even more special – for example I arrived to a bottle of bubbly, homemade cake and a blackboard message welcoming me and my friends. . . . They assisted us whenever we needed them and were always friendly to us. I really can only saying great things about this accommodation and as a group we were all saying how we would very much look to returning as a group another time because of how great it was. I would recommend this accommodation a thousand times over.
Thank you for a wonderful time.
With Love
Jacqui
(The Hen for weekend of 24th to 26th June)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquiWestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICBARN, Owner at The Victorian Barn, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments and I am very pleased you enjoyed your surprise week-end organised by your friends.

We at The Victorian Barn wish you all the very best for your wedding day and your future happiness.

Why not come to stay again sometime with your husband and you can again practise on the trampoline which you mastered very well during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    14
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
72
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The Victorian Barn is a hidden treasure. Not knowing Dorset and spending a weekend here for a friend's hen do, I was most impressed with the facilities, accommodation and value for money!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Foxelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICBARN, Owner at The Victorian Barn, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us.

I’m glad you and your friends enjoyed yourselves when you stayed at The Victorian Barn over the weekend 24th – 26th June.

If any of your party would like to return with your families in the future, you will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The Victorian Barn is in a beautiful location it's just a shame about Penny -- the owner.
Yes we were part of a hen party and yes we had a naked butler for 2 hours in the middle of the afternoon but Penny was rude and unhelpful before she was aware of any of this. I really do not understand why people with this sort of attitude decide to go into a customer facing business when they are obviously not equiped with the right customer service skills.
If you are looking to stay in an establishment which offers a warm and friendly welcome then do not choose this one!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICBARN, Owner at The Victorian Barn, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments which we find quite frankly untrue.

The indoor heated swimming pool is open all day and the sauna is in good working order and was available within the pool opening times. The outside hot tub is and was open 24/7.

We pride ourselves on customer service and except for this large hen party we have never before had any problems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The Victorian Barn provides adequate, if expensive accomodation and the setting is lovely. If the swimming pool and gym were open for more than 6 hours a day at the weekends and the sauna actually switched on it would be helpful, but then helpful is a concept with which the owner of the Barn is completely unfamiliar. She was petty, mean-spirited, rude, and dealt with the organiser of our trip in an extremely hostile manner. If you do decide to book here watch out for hidden bank charges, extortionate breakages claims and make sure you check the inventory with the owner before you unpack.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JudithHarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICBARN, Owner at The Victorian Barn, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments which I find quite frankly untrue.

The indoor heated swimming pool is open all day and the sauna is in good working order. The outside hot tub is open 24/7.

The accommodation is 4* graded and were are certainly not expensive. When guests arrive for self catering accommodation there are no additional costs as our prices are all inclusive.

We pride ourselves on customer service and except for this large group booking we have never before had any problems.

If anyone is at all worried about these reviews and are considering staying at The Victorian Barn please telephone or email me directly and I will be happy to explain the whole reason for these continuous negative reviews. All of the reviews were from the same group of ladies staying over the week-end 10 - 12 June 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The setting is great and my friends and family had a fantastic time due to the group of ladies that were there, not anything that the Victorian Barn did.
Although all of us had paid up front for the stay we were not allowed into our rooms and had to converse with Penny -- through a locked door as she wanted the leader of the group to sign some paperwork, some were hanging around for 2 hours, just ridiculous behaviour. A deposit was left to cover any breakages etc and a week after we had left a deduction was made from that deposit following an inventory of the rooms, if an inventory is being made it should be done initially with the occupants and then afterwards and not take a week, who is to say who did what with that length of time and some of the items she says were broken are disputed, a very unsavoury way of doing business.
The shelves in the cupboard in the bedroom we used had to be cleaned of bits not sure what it was before we could use them and the glass shelf in the bathroom could not be used as it tipped forward so anything put on it fell into the sink, this wasnt the only room like this, an obvious item missing was a soap dish in the shower, one had to put the soap on the floor, pretty basic stuff I think.
There was 1 key for each house/apartment that made life a little difficult.
The attitude of the owner was very very poor and she should not be fronting the business if they are looking for repeat business, the people that book and stay here are the customers, someone needs to explain to her what that means.
Such a shame as this could be a fantastic place if they got the attitude right.

Room Tip: Check an inventory before and after
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita0642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICBARN, Public Relations Manager at The Victorian Barn, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
We were unaware at the time of booking that this was a hen party with a male stripper involved; if we had known we would not have accepted the booking. Unfortunately, the hen that booked the party did not comply with the terms and conditions stated on her signed booking form. We can reassure our guests in the future that we will not be allowing hen parties of this size as we are a family orientated establishment.
The majority of the recent reviews are from the same group of guests staying 10th-12th June 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2011

A great place to explore the surrounding area and take in the beautiful countryside. The Victorian Barn could be a real gem however, the management and their lack of service and hospitality let the place down.
The owner Penny is very keen to take your booking, take a deposit and payment in full before you arrive and on top of that decided to charge you a £50 admin fee for paying the monies directly into her bank account!!
On arrival we were not greeted by anyone, after knocking on the door and ringing the doorbell for 10 mins we were then stunned to notice they had switched the doorbell off! Not such a great start to our relaxing weekend!
The accomodation itself is great but again it's the little things and attention to detail that let's the place down. No soap in any bathroom for washing your hands along with very limited toilet roll and one of our guests had no bedding which we had to battle with Penny the owner for!!
If you want to stay in a lovely setting but have hassle from the owner before arrival and after but not see her anytime throughout your stay this is the place for you!
Good Luck!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VerityJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICBARN, Public Relations Manager at The Victorian Barn, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
We were unaware at the time of booking that this was a hen party with a male stripper involved; if we had known we would not have accepted the booking. Unfortunately, the hen that booked the party did not comply with the terms and conditions stated on her signed booking form. We can reassure our guests in the future that we will not be allowing hen parties of this size as we are a family orientated establishment.
The majority of the recent reviews are from the same group of guests staying 10th-12th June 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I booked the whole venue at the Victorian Barn for family and friends. The venue was perfect for our needs and we all had a brilliant time, in spite of the owner. Expect to deal with someone who is inflexible, petty, in that she will charge you for anything and everything and with not a nice attitude. To be honest, this person should not be front of house as lots of the guests found her to be rude and unhelpful. Such a shame, as the setting is lovely and the venue is great. However, the sour taste I am left with in having to deal with such a horrid lady, I will definitley not be returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larawetherill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICBARN, Public Relations Manager at The Victorian Barn, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
We were unaware at the time of booking that this was a hen party with a male stripper involved; if we had known we would not have accepted the booking.
Unfortunately, when you booked you did not comply with the terms and conditions stated on your signed booking form and in hindsight we should have cancelled your booking.

This review is from the same group of guests staying 10th-12th June 2011.

We can reassure our guests in the future that we will not be allowing hen parties of this size as we are a family orientated establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolland
7.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilltop Barn
Hilltop Barn
#1 of 3 in Winterborne Zelston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Talbot
The Talbot
#1 of 2 in Iwerne Minster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Barn

Property: The Victorian Barn
Address: Dairy House Farm | Blandford Forum, Woolland, Blandford Forum DT11 0EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Blandford Forum > Woolland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woolland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself amidst the beautiful Dorset countryside in an area of outstanding natural beauty, surrounded by rolling hills, spectacular valleys and breathtaking views. Discover The Victorian Barn; The Unforgettable Escape a hidden gem that offers everything you could wish for your holiday or special occasion. Luxury self catering holiday houses and apartments, cottages and lodges in rural Dorset with indoor heated swimming pool, gym, sauna, hot tub, coarse fishing lakes and children's outdoor play area. The Victorian Barn is a triple span barn conversion nestling under Bulbarrow Hill, the second highest point in Dorset. It set within a 65 acre farm, was originally built in 1849 and lovingly restored to maintain many period features. The self catering accommodation graded 4* by the ETB is ideally situated for guests to enjoy the glorious Dorset countryside famous for Thomas Hardy. The holiday houses and apartments, cottages and lodges (sleeping 2 - 8) are all completely self contained. The Victorian Barn has a patio and BBQ area with garden furniture plus large lawned area for games. The Cottages and Lodges have their individual lawned gardens. Facilities include an indoor heated pool with gym/sauna, hot tub and children's play area. Enjoy the peace and quiet in and around our private coarse fishing lakes stocked with mirror/common carp and silverfish. Free Wi-Fi connection included in the houses, apartments and cottages. Wi-Fi is unavailable inside the two lodges. Beds made up for arrival with crisp white linen and fluffy towels (please provide your own swimming towels) Sorry only pets accepted in the two lodges Cot and highchair available for hire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Victorian Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing