We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - All round”
Review of The Langton Arms

The Langton Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the heart of the Dorset countryside. An attractive 17th centry thatched inn occuping a peaceful spot in the village of Tarrant Monkton. The Langton Arms is a free house run with true care and offers a fine selection of drinks and outstanding real ales. We are renowned for its excellent food and offers a wide variety of interesting home made dishes. Family owned and run since 1992.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The 5 of us were staying nearby and were recommended to this pub. We were not disappointed.
The choice and quality of food was all excellent. So to was the excellent service which was attentive but not over powering. Both the cost of the wine and food was acceptable for this high quality. In summary one of the best meals I have enjoyed for a long time, and we have some excellent pubs back home (West Sussex). Visit and enjoy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cubic999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Cubic999

Thank you for your lovely comments, bear us in mind next time you are in the area, and don't forget we have 6 guest rooms as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 329 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have been to the Langton Arms twice in the month, and prior to that in late June. On each occasion we have had a great lunch with a wide choice of dishes, friendly service and pleasant surroundings. We have always eaten in the bar area. This time we ordered the beef strips with a great sauce and 2 of us had the cheese soufflé and one had the Game sausages, all of which were brilliant. If I have one complaint it was that all dishes come with a surplus of either side-salads and/or cooked vegetables which, considering the main dishes are already large are really superfluous. It would make sense to ask customers, when taking the order, if they really want that. On all 3 occasions we have ended up leaving a large amount of the salad and vegetable dishes which seems such a waste of food. Having said this, we definitely recommend the food, and location, and will return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank chris53kualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Chris53KualaLumpur

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. I am happy that you enjoyed your meals and next time you visit we will try not to overfeed you! Though we find that most people enjoy the variety of side dishes we serve, feel free to ask you waiter/waitress for less next time, we will always accommodate our guests requests to the best of our abilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have made plenty if visits here, the one before this not too good, but this time an absolute top class meal. It was Monday night, we tried The Wild Garlic at Iwerne Minster: closed!!! So hopped across the lanes to The Langton Arms. Sharing platter for 2 was delicious, followed by Duck and Partridge for main course. The little extras here always delight and for a Monday night in the middle of October the place had a lovely atmosphere. Every table was booked out, so we sat on the sofas in the bar which was chilled out and comfy. Super service and food and we will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Debbie F

I am sorry we disappointed you, but very glad we have now redeemed ourselves! We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were able to walk here from the place we were staying, and had a very enjoyable meal. Salmon was very fresh and a reasonable sized portion. A carafe of house Vigonier was good value and washed it all down well !

Thank clare r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear clare r

Many thanks for posting your review, we hope we will see you again when you are in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A neighbour has been telling us that we should go here for quite some time now. As it is about a half hours drive from us, and there are lots of other pubs and restaurants closer, it has taken us some time to get around to doing so. Anyway, as it was my wife’s birthday and we wanted to try somewhere different, we thought that we would take a drive out and have a look.

I have to say that I am glad that we did. The food was excellent, although the service was, putting it politely, rather too leisurely for our liking.

We both started with the warm pigeon breast salad. We were pleased, and grateful, that an amuse bouche of a cup of very nice cream of vegetable soup was offered, because I reckon that the time between our ordering our meal and being served our starters was a good 35 minutes. We did actually receive an apology for the wait, after about 25 minutes, and I would have suspected that we had just been forgotten, had it not appeared that other tables were also waiting quite a long time for their food.

Anyway, the starters were excellent. To follow I chose whole partridge and my wife stuffed chicken breast, both of which were served with crushed potatoes and a small selection of very nice vegetables. Again, both main courses were excellent.

The serving staff were delightful and the delays seemed to be occurring in the kitchen.

I am used to the idea that a lunch in France may take a good two hours, but I was a little surprised to find that it was actually about two hours and ten minutes from the time we arrived at the Langton to the time that we left! We will, however, try it again. Had it not been for the timing issues, my overall rating of this restaurant would have been Excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TauntonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear TauntonBob,

Thank you for leaving your feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. I can only assume that perhaps you joined us at a busy time and can only apologise that you were not kept better informed. We do prepare all of our dishes freshly to order and if a lot of orders hit the kitchen at the same time (bearing in mind we have 3 different dining areas), this can sometimes cause a delay.

We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Langton Arms also viewed

 
Sturminster Marshall, Wimborne Minster
Blandford Forum, Dorset
 
Pimperne, Blandford Forum
 

Been to The Langton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing