We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday Night Anniversary Dinner”
Review of The Langton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Langton Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Monday Night Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went last minute for our anniversary dinner and thought it was fantastic!

The young barman was helpful and pleasant - he advised us that the main restaurant was empty but would show us around or we could sit in the bar area with other diners which we did.

We didn't order a starter and were delighted to be served an amuse bouche of the best soup I've ever tasted and delicious seeded bread basket.

The main courses were excellent value, with very generous servings - especially of the meat. The venison with red wine and port sauce was absolutely outstanding!

We finished with creme brûlées which were huge and delicious. Another gift followed from the chef of homemade chocolates which we just had no room for!

Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear LGD75

Many thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    45
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
85
88
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went for celebration. Shown our table, no one took our drinks order until we asked when taking our food order. The little pre starter was a treat and bode well. Scallops appallingly bad, food was just mediocre, service lack lustre. Langton, you had all the little treats, but the food let you down, the service tried to be good but slopped water over every glass and just was not good enough. Lovely setting. What a shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorsetpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Head Chef at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I created this dish for the weekend and was very pleased with the comments and the amount sold over the weekend. In fact it was so popular I ordered more of the ingredients in to keep the dish on the menu the following week, so I am very surprised at your review on this dish.

I can only apologise for you not having better service of drinks and I can't for the life of me understand why you had cold water spilled over you during dinner as the staff are always very professional and careful on their service routine.

We hope you will visit us again as you seem to have had a rare poor experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwerne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been here three times now and each time we have been really pleased with our welcome and the food, which is sensibly priced and extremely well presented and prepared. Interesting menu that you can adapt to your own requirements/likes. The side salad is fresh and lots of it.

A little starter which we hadn't ordered was brought out as compliments of the chef which was a really nice touch.

Oh and you can bring dogs into the bar and they have a little jar of doggie biscuits!

We shall definitely, definitely return and in my opinion is one of the best pubs in Dorset.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bears10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Bears10

Many thanks for you comments and continued patronage. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently spent two nights here and found it to be peaceful, comfortable and friendly. Breakfast was very good. The surrounding area, with many thatched cottages, is very attractive and there was a pleasant circular walk starting in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Kay256

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and am grateful to you for taking the time to review us. Hopefully you will remember us if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were a party of 5 visiting this lovely pub for lunch. It was our first visit, albeit we have lived less than 30 minutes away for many years. We had a table in the bar area of the pub as the restaurant, I think, was booked by a large party. This was fine as there was more atmosphere and we were close to a window.
The menu was very interesting with several appetising starters and numerous main courses, with plenty of variety. 3 of us had the crab and onion rissoto for starter, which was absolutely incredible- by far the best rissoto I have ever had- while one other had the salmon roulade, which they said was very tasty albeit very filling. We had each first received a small appetiser which was a lovely small cup of hot vegetable soup. Home made bread was also available.
For main courses two of us had the twice-baked cheese souffle, again an excellent dish, which came with a small mixed salad and hand cut chips. One person had stuffed chicken which came with a delightful creamy sauce, and small helpings of roast potato, and vegetable puree which whilst a bit rich was very much liked. One person had venison sausages, with a lovely gravy and mash which was reported as being excellent, and the fifth person had steak and kidney pie which they said was good. A mixture of vegetables were also provided in separate dishes. For deserts we shared one helping of the sticky toffee pudding and a selection of home-made ice creams which were very good. All in all a fantastic meal. Service was attentive without being rushed and we left with the Langton Arms firmly cemented as our new favourite place for a meal. The pub is located in a beautiful village, a little off the beaten track, which would be a lovely location to sit outside, weather permitting. Local walking trails are also available, for those who may ant to walk off some of the added calories !

Booking is essential at this place, especially at the weekend it seems.

Room Tip: Booking a table for lunch on the weekend is essential. Several people were turned away while we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris53kualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear chris53KualaLumpur

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. What took you so long to visit us?! We will look forward to your next visit.

To clarify our booking policy: We do accept tables without reservations, but booking is highly recommended as we are often fully booked many days in advance of the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Popped in here for a light lunch...my cheese ploughman's was amazing....five cheeses,large salad,bowls of grapes and creamy coleslaw , apples, celery... etc....my husband had a half baguette which came with the same salad and coleslaw and some crisps...again delicious....we will be back !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank myfamily19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear myfamily19

Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

On a recommendation from the owners of a B&B we were staying at we took a short drive to The Langton. There was a large party in the lounge bar but the noise really didn't filter through to the main restaurant. We were given a free vegetable soup to start (which was a lovely surprise) and my friend and I both went for the steak. Absolutely beautiful and cooked to perfection! I went for the creme brûlée for dessert which was delicious! A little at the top end of the budget but we were happy to pay that little extra as the food lived up to the price. Highly recommended if you are in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Tracey R

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrant Monkton
4.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
421 reviews
8.6 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
147 reviews
23.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,145 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langton Arms

Property: The Langton Arms
Address: High Street, Tarrant Monkton DT11 8RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Langton Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 17th Century thatched freehouse pub in the middle of a beautiful chocolate box Dorset village. Serving excellent homemade local food, real ales and good wines. We have two bars, a restaurant, function room, large safe children's play area and extensive gardens and courtyards. We also have six ensuite B&B guest rooms housed in a separate building at the rear of the pub. We hold a civil licence for weddings both inside and in our gardens and have been managed and owned by Barbara Cossins for the past 25 years. Recently voted Best Pub in Dorset 2016 y the National Pub & Bar Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Langton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langton Arms Hotel Tarrant Monkton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing