We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service in a great pub with a lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Langton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Langton Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service in a great pub with a lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are on a gastronomic tour of the south of England. We ate at Hestons Hinds Head in Bray two nights ago but, frankly had a better meal here tonight. Great British pub food, well cooked with imagination, passion and flair. Nice veggie accompanyments too.
Lovely friendly atmosphere. A great (chance) find! We'll be back. Soon!
Mitch & Lesley, Warrington

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitch p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mitch p

Thank you so much for your comments, the staff are all thrilled to receive such wonderful feddback. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    44
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
78
86
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Firstly, the location and the actual pub its self are just lovely. The staff are very attentive, the decor attractive. Unfortunately, it was all let down by the food. The menus were ok, but uninspiring. We had 3 starters (prawn cocktail, wood pigeon salad and crispy beef with chilli) - both the beef and the wood pigeon were ok, the prawn cocktail was so so. It was the mains that really disappointed. The fish was not fresh and my husband was feeling quite rough after the meal. My venison (for the first time ever) was not a steak as such, but sliced like a roast... well done, and tasted more like duck weirdly! I had to ask for condiments for it, and the red current jelly had little taste and looked like it came out of a jar. The other meals we had (pork belly, sausages) were ok, but nothing to write home about. All in all, the meal was a disappointment and we wouldn't go there again. (they also got two of our orders wrong, but rectified it quite quickly).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiasusee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Kiasusee,

Firstly we can assure you that all of our food is fresh, and I cannot understand why your husband fell ill so quickly after his meal, as we served a lot of fish on Sunday and had no other problems. The venison you ate was described on the menu as Pot Roasted, clearly not a steak. I am quite puzzled that your palette tasted duck as the flavours of duck and venison are very different. We had nothing but praise regarding the pork belly on Sunday and our homemade venison sausages are always a winner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was OK, my starter was first class and my sweet just as good but my main course was disapointing. I chose steak, which I do rarely, and to be honest it was very ordinary and bordering on tough. Disapointing, but not horrible and not bad enough to complain about, just disapointing. Cold(ish) chips served in a cold bowl did not help either! But I stress the other two courses were brilliant and my friends enjoyed the whole meal apart from the other one in our party who had the steak; he shared my views. I would go back and readilly but will stay well clear of the steak. Nice wine selection and not over priced by restaurant standards and the staff attentive and friendly. Lovely surroundings, super log fire.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeD1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dar MikeD1950

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit overall and am sorry that you didn't enjoy your steaks.

All of our steaks come from our own herd and are hung at our own butchery for 21 days on the bone to mature, so it is very unusual to find that they were bland and tough. We normally have wonderful feedback on all of our meat.

I am happy to hear that you will be returning to us and hopefully on your next visit every part of your meal will be first class!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Beautiful location in the Tarrant valley, walking from the door, great pub, excellent food, dog (and people!) friendly to boot. The restaurant was a particular surprise - didn't realise it was the best gastropub in dorset.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Tom P

Thankyou for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Sussex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This beautiful village really is in the sticks but worth finding. The Langton arms is a tastefully improved old pub with a great restaurant and lovely rooms. The staff were invariably very friendly and very helpful and you got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. The rooms are in a separate accommodation block in the garden and they were very nice too. I'm guessing out here they have no mains gas and have to heat the rooms electrically. We were very unlucky as we arrived in bitingly cold weather and while the room itself was fine the bathroom and entrance hall to the room was freezing. As we were only there for one night it was not a problem.

We had a meal in the lovely restaurant which was first class in terms of the menu, quality and service.

If you want a lovely place to stay in a gorgeous village right out in the country with superb food and great staff this is the place for you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear John B

Thank you for your lovely comments, the staff will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had lunch in the Stables Restaurant at the Langton Arms and had a most enjoyable visit. The pub is a bit off the beaten track but in a very pretty situation. The food is excellent - not a very large menu but still enough choice. It is not cheap but the standard of the food and it's presentation it is well worth paying a bit more than in many other places. They use a lot of locally produced ingredients in their dishes which for me is a plus. The bread which they produce in house was lovely and we had Venison and Salmon for our main courses which were so tasty. The puddings were delicious. We found the wine by the glass list a little restrictive. The service was very efficient and friendly even though they were also coping with a very large party in another part of the restaurant. We shall definately return to this gem of a place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Tricia H

Many thanks for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I booked this on impulse as my wife was not enjoying a local bootcamp. It's a little off the beaten track but well worth the effort. It also takes dogs which is a big plus if you are a dog lover. The owners also have their own farm/slaughterhouse which ensures the quality of produce. We tried the sirloin and venison steak which were absolutely scrummie. Best steaks ever. The accommodation is spacious, warm and clean. The staff could not have been friendlier and went out of their way to make our stay relaxing. The breakfast is also superb and large enough to set you up for the day. We were so glad I found it and we will return in the Summer.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms and they are all self contained with views of farmland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelangtonarms, Guest Relations Manager at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mark B

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and your steaks! Many thanks for the comments and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrant Monkton
4.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
397 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
169 reviews
23.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
144 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
1,112 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langton Arms

Property: The Langton Arms
Address: High Street, Tarrant Monkton DT11 8RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Langton Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 17th Century thatched freehouse pub in the middle of a beautiful chocolate box Dorset village. Serving excellent homemade local food, real ales and good wines. We have two bars, a restaurant, function room, large safe children's play area and extensive gardens and courtyards. We also have six ensuite B&B guest rooms housed in a separate building at the rear of the pub. We hold a civil licence for weddings both inside and in our gardens and have been managed and owned by Barbara Cossins for the past 25 years. Recently voted Best Pub in Dorset 2016 y the National Pub & Bar Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Langton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langton Arms Hotel Tarrant Monkton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing