We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a paradise? Go to Rancho Pitaya!”
Review of Rancho Pitaya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rojas de Cuauhtemoc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Pitaya
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Rancho Pitaya is THE destination for a perfect holiday: breath-taking scenery, delicious cuisine, clean and spacious rooms, what more can you want. Besides, Mary Jane and Bobby are great hosts and do everything to make you feel welcome and happy. The horses are well cared for and loved. They are very reliable and a joy to ride, no matter your level of proficiency. And if you are not riding or cuddling the three cute dogs or the mini ponies, you can take a bike to further explore the countryside, go to El Tule with its arts and crafts market and giant tree or just hang out in a hammock with a book and a freshly made lemonade (or a margarita :-) ). Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bibi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2011

Three things I truly love: 1. Mexico 2. Food 3. Adventure.

Well at Rancho Pitaya, Mary Jane and Bobby combine all three - and more! I have never felt so happy, relaxed, excited and content in my life. It was an absolute DREAM.

These are the best horses I have ridden and it was the most spectacular ride of my life (see pics). You can tell these gorgeous horses are happy and loved. After our ride, Mary Jane had a wonderful lady come out to the ranch and massage us, the best massage I have ever had.

Did I mention food? Not only did we eat the greatest food here but we learned how to cook it - with recipes to take home to cook for friends and family!

You can also borrow their bikes go on a ride to El Tule - a traditional village where you can visit the famous 2,000 year old tree, do some great shopping, enjoy the fabulous food and soak up the local customs.

At around 7pm the Margaritas are mixed and you sit on the porch, smelling the delicious Oaxacan cuisine being cooked up and being as relaxed as possible.

It all sounds too good to be true - it isn't!

Do yourself a favor and spend some time at the Ranch, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank searching4delicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed at Rancho Pitaya for a week and had a wonderful stay. We rode horses while we were there, which was a great experience. But there are also many other things to do, and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. The accomodations were new, roomy, clean, and comfortable, and had very nice personal touches. The food was too good--healthy but extremely tasty and well-prepared; they served many local dishes and foods of the area. The hosts and staff made you feel welcome and at home. I would recommend Rancho Pitaya to anyone looking for a vacation outside of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatyF60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoPitaya, Owner at Rancho Pitaya, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariketMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Pitaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pitaya

Address: Guerrero #3 | Barrio de los Coyotes, Rojas de Cuauhtemoc 68080, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Rojas de Cuauhtemoc
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rojas de Cuauhtemoc
Price Range: $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country guest ranch in Valle de Tlacolula near rare ancient cacti biosphere. Beautiful adobe brick construction with tile roof and wooden beams has three guest suites. Rates include full breakfast and dinner. Specializes in guided horseback riding vacations from overnight to over a week. Great hiking and free use of bicycles; cooking classes recommended. Perfect locations to explore Mitla, Tlacolula market, Zapotec rug weaving and El Tule. Personal attention from owners Mary Jane & Bobby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Pitaya Mexico/Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing