We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
216
69
14
10
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
216
69
14
10
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manuel antonio dirt road beautiful beach the owner costa rica off the beaten path full kitchen living room be careful get away minute drive hidden gem the main road the pacific ocean palm trees out of the way pollo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 327 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

Nice view, good bedrooms, veryclean and confortable. Needs improvement on service. There are no services at the swimming pool or at the beach, and breakfast needs improvement also, instead of a lot of the same fruit, have 2 or 3 different types of fruits. But besides that it is a good Hotel.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CarolJara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_cocomar, Front Office Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive, however I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay,

Your complaints has been addressed so that everything will be perfect on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back then.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

This place is really nice and quiet with a great beach just in front.
The breakfast area is very beautiful and the morning food includes fruit, omletes, natural juices etc.
The rooms are quite big, nicely decorated and the AC is working perfectly.
The place is really isolated so there are no options for dining within walking distance.
Overall, if you want to have some quiet, relaxing time, this is great a great options.
Ps : the rooms have really nice decorations reminding of beautiful Costa Rica

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank corina0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_cocomar, Front Office Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Dear traveler.

Thanks a lot for your candid feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed this paradise, please don't hesitate to let us know if you're visiting again soon.

Our staff are always ready to help you with anything.

Thank you and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels. This was just average. The beach was nice especially being right next to the hotel and the kids had a great time on it but they did cry because the black sand burnt their feet. It gets very hot! (not hotels fault of course). The rooms are a great large size with plenty of room for us...however...the couches were very uncomfortable and dirty. The cushions on the chairs and couch were white and VERY dirty and made it a little uneasy to sit on. The comforters on the beds were dingy and a little dirty and need to be changed. The cable wasn't working when we were there so we could not watch TV and the power was out for the first 3 hours we were there so we could not check into our rooms until 5:30pm so we were offered a Pina Colada for the inconvenience. (since I live in CR I know power going out is normal). Overall, like I said this hotel is average. Nothing too bad other than some updating/cleaning of the furniture and new linens are needed. Dinner was fine. The staff was very nice. I personally would not go here for more than 2 or 3 night especially if you have kids. There is not much around for them to do. Definitely better for a couple who wants quiet..(except for the dogs that bark outside at night on property sometimes).

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb2000asu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_cocomar, Front Office Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay.

I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations.

We already improved our services so please give us another chance to offer you the best of this paradise.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed there only one night, on the way to Manuel Antonio. The hotel was very nice, the beds big and comfortable. The breakfast delicious with a beautiful view to the beach. If you want a nice hotel in the middle of nowhere, that is the place to be. We loved the beach, with no people around. The sand is black. The pool area big. Great stay!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank kkiwerska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_cocomar, Front Office Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Thanks a lot for your feedback,

We look forward to welcome you again in this paradise,

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2016

We stayed there for 5 nights, on our long awaited honeymoon! Cocomar is in a very secluded area, on gravel path not really near shops or busy towns. The room itself was amazing very clean, and well kept a very minimalistic lifestyle. The maid service would come tidy up and give fresh towels daily. We loved waking up to the beautiful beach right outside and enjoying free breakfast. At the time the Chef was new so they were still working on meals and recipes with him. All the staff were so accommodating and made us feel right at home. Although we struggled to communicate at times, they still tried their best to help us in anyway possible. We were always looking for something fun and different to go and do, so they always helped us find places and give directions. I would highly suggest renting a car while being out here, it really helped us out and saved us money in the long run. The power went out once while staying here, because yes it does happen sometimes near beaches. If it does go out at night time, we would highly recommend going to the beach and do some star gazing so serene! Chad, one of the owners had several of his own dogs living on the property; they were very shy and skittish at first with us. After eventually earning the dogs trust we got to hang out with all 4 of them no problem, they even followed us to the beach to watch the sunset. The dogs names are Hercules, Africa, Horice and Kumba, who is a mother of 7 puppies! We had such an amazing time and would recommend staying here for a lovely beach vacation!

Room tip: Ocean front views in every room
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_cocomar, Front Office Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Dear traveler,

I am so happy to hear that your stay was so wonderful, especially during such a special occasion.

We hope to welcome you and your wife/husband back to the hotel in the near future!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews