We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
216
69
14
10
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
216
69
14
10
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manuel antonio dirt road beautiful beach the owner costa rica off the beaten path full kitchen living room be careful get away minute drive hidden gem the main road the pacific ocean palm trees out of the way pollo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 327 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

This is a great placer nice clean rooms, a beautiful pool to hang out with friends and do barbecue

The service and the people are really friendly and try hard to make sure you are having a great time

Delicious breakfast.

And also a really good prices

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Marco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_cocomar, Front Office Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Dear Marco,

Thanks for your candid review,

I will be sure to let our staff know how much of an impact they made on your experience.

I hope you can visit us again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2015

When we arrived at Cocomar, we were greeted by Chad, the owner/live-in-manager. He showed us our room, gave us the run down how the hotel operated and made sure to let us know he was there in case we needed anything. He wasn't kidding. He went over and above what I would consider typical hotel duties to ensure that my girlfriend and I were completely satisfied with our visit. For example, we let him know we wouldn't be able to make it for breakfast our first couple days due to some early morning tours, and what did he do? He brought us pre-made breakfast the night prior and even had made us some sandwiches made for the next day! This, to me, is something that was completely unheard of. Alright, enough about Chad. To us, the only downside to this hotel was the lack of internet, which, honestly, wasn't even a problem at all. It was an issue that halfway through our stay was already being worked. Besides, who needs internet when you're in such a beautiful paradise. The beach across the street, which our room had the most amazing view of, was practically empty. Either way you looked, there was beach as far as you could see and very rarely any other people there. Absolute perfection. When we first walked into our room, for the first time on our vacation, both mine and my girlfriend's jaws absolutely dropped. The room was spectacular. Huge bed, beautiful view, large and spotless bathroom. Everything was amazing. After being there for about 4 hours, we both decided that this hotel was everything we were looking for and decided to extend our stay by another night. And we're very glad we did. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to any and all travelers, and if I ever get a chance to go back to Costa Rica, I will most certainly stay here again.

Room tip: Go for the second floor, ocean view, king sized bed room.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_cocomar, Front Office Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2015

Cocomar is a wonderful retreat along a quiet beach, away from the hustle and bustle of nearby beach towns. We were greeted very warmly by the owner and staff, and our room was nice and clean with a balcony overlooking the gardens and the sizable pool - even a peek-a-boo view of the ocean. One of the two buildings is currently under renovation, so there were just a few other families staying at the hotel, creating an intimate, family feel - all the other guests were very friendly. They also served a nice breakfast each morning on the covered patio facing the beach - the typical gallo pinto, fried plantains, pancakes and/or bread/jelly, fresh fruit, juice, coffee. They also have a nice dinner available upon request (extra charge - place your order before 3-4pm so they can have ingredients on hand).

The hotel is literally across the dirt road from the palm-lined beach (hence the name Cocomar), and you virtually have the beach to yourself - the sand was dark, but still nice and peaceful. Also, walking down the street, we saw groups of capuchin monkeys up in the trees - very fun to watch!

The main thing to be aware of is that this hotel is about a 15-minute drive from the nearest town (Parrita) with few amenities in walking distance - this may not be a great place to stay if you don't have a rental car (especially an SUV since about 10-minutes of the drive is on rutted dirt roads). Make sure to ask the owner about recommended things to do in the area - we wish we had, and I think there are a lot of interesting things to do.

Our family loved this place as it was very peaceful, and we'd definitely go back!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Snns_vanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_cocomar, Front Office Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Thank you for taking time to review our property.
I am glad to hear that we will be your top choice when you visit Palo Seco Island.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was ok. Pool area was good and open 24/7. Breakfast was good but dinner is quite expensive and there is only limited places for dinner around. The Internet was very slow and the last day it just dropped off. Rooms were very clean. Beach was close and nice.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank J6259DGmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_cocomar, Director de Recepción at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Dear Mark,

Thanks for sharing your experience in Cocomar Beachfront Hotel; Our paradise,

We are glad you had a good stay in general with us, our internet now is super fast and you can use the internet even you are in the beach ! so please do not hesitate to visit us again, we already have improved our services.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

Best of both worlds for a great price. Our room was awesome... We had a microwave, refrigerator, stove,, comfortable beds, fresh paint, new flatscreen sony tv ( not that id be watching lol) fresh tiles throughout the rooms, great ac, sliding mirror doors, dimmed lighting, a safe, sliding glass doors that open up to the beach, really unique artistic sinks... I mean the list goes on. Whoever designed this hotel knew what he or she was doing! We not only had newly updated amenities and cleanliness we had the personal encounters that commercial hotels are missing. The staff was very friendly and the guest were all unique. I absolutely loved this hidden gem... You cant go wrong here! Oh and ps we saw monkeys near our hotel! We also rode horses on cocomars beachfront property. Lots of wild life!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Cicimoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_cocomar, Front Office Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Dear Traveler,

Thanks for your candid feedback,

We appreciate you are recommending us, we are glad you enjoyed this paradise with us.

Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews