We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by nature”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bako National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bako National Park Hostel
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Basic accommodation but what do you really expect??!! Woke up to monkeys jumping and running around our roof and all outside the room. Make sure you lock your doors! My parents came back to find that monkeys had been inside their room but thankfully nothing serious. Remember to take lots of water with you as it is very humid and hot and some of the routes are super long. The night walk wasn't thaaaaaat great but still quite interesting. Don't go if you are scared of snakes/spiders. My highlight was watching a huge group of proboscis monkeys by the beach, fascinating

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank NatashaLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 299 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very basic accommodation. Shared toilets and shower are simple (watch out for mosquitoes!!). No hot water but it was very humid so it wasn't really required. Take your own towel, sheet and toilet paper. If you're accustomed to budget backpacking this won't be a problem. Being in Bako to experience the jungle at night (keep an eye out for glow in the dark mushrooms, fungus and insects!!) is totally worth it.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheet, towel and toilet paper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hostel at Bako NP is filthy and less than adequate. It's cheap, for 40 MYR you can have your own room (with 4 beds) with shared bathroom but it should be even less than that. There is so much mould in the room that you can barely breath. The bathrooms can hardly be called that. Full of mosquitoes and just completely disgusting.
They have a new hostel now which is made of concrete and looks better but it's not open yet. Should be better to sleep there once it's open though still definitely not great. It will also be more expensive of course.
My advice: Do a day trip. The park is great but at the moment (Jan 2014 more than half of it is closed due to maintenance of the trails and judging from the lack of efficiency of the management and staff of the park, the maintenance works will probably take a veeeeery long time. There is no reason to sleep there, make it a day trip!

Room Tip: The new hostel might be a better choice once it's open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in hostel 3 for one night and found it to be ok, it is basic as all the other reviews say. The rooms were very hot but the fan was enough to make it possible to sleep, the shower was cold but ok to wash off the days sweat and cool us down.

We brought our own towels and sleep sheet and this was needed in the hostel rooms.

The food was ok, it was hot and there was a variety, all meals are buffet style, It is unclear how they work out how much to charge you as you put food on the plate, they look at it and give you a price.

The staff sit playing computer games and smoking inside when they are not working.

Overall it was ok for one night however I think so much more could be done for this park to be more enjoyable for an extended stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank chocolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

It's a shame as Bako itself is amazing. Incredible beaches, waterfalls, interesting trails.. Rooms were horrid but bearable. Main bedroom was very basic. You would walk to a basic kitchen area where bathrooms were. There were hooks for my mossy net. It was a ok stay but I wouldn't want to go back there again..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EarthExplorer000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We booked the most expensive accommodation they offer at bako but it is very basic there is no hot water, the water is brown, the beds were very basic and the bedding was little more than a rough old bath towel the food in the cafe was barely edible and the staff in the restaurant just played play station games all day and did little work but all of this is worth enduring for the amazing experience of spending the night in the jungle with so much wildlife on the doorstep,to wake up to proboscis monkeys bouncing on your roof and flying lemurs on the trees outside your room is worth any hardship, the noise from the jungle at night is amazing and the night time guided jungle walk was well worth the money,unless you are a serious jungle trekker one night is enough here and if you don't expect much from the accommodation you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The park itself is incredible. There are great opportunities too see proboscis monkeys, bearded pigs and long tail macaques up close and personal. (But don't feed them) There are several jungle trails that you can take with pitcher plants growing along and many lead to beaches. But coming from Australia I found the beaches disappointing. Don't expect tranquility the place is packed with tourists. They lost my reservation and bookings are closed on weekends so they had to put me in the "new" hostel that "wasn't open to the public." This was a lie. It wasn't new and there was lots of other people staying in it. The hostels are disgusting, I paid for 3 nights but could only bare one and didn't get a refund for the other 2. The bed sheets had blood and food stains, so I slept on the bare mattress with my raincoat on it. They don't provide blankets, towels or even toilet paper. So you will need to bring your own. I would recommend bring a sleeping bag because the beds are filthy. Camping is probably a better option. The food they sell is cheap but gross. Everything from the buffet is cold. Even when they first bring out new trays it's already cold when it leaves the kitchen. You can order chicken or vegetable soup which is actually hot, but the chicken is barely edible. Full of bones and grisle. The staff are lazy and unhelpful. This lots of rubbish around the park but the staff just sit at HQ watching TV all day and night. I would recommend a day trip but unfortunately the best times for wildlife spotting are sunrise and sunset which requires an overnight stay. Bring everything you need with you, towels, sheets, toilet paper and lots of bug spray. Bring as much food as you can as well.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Deseto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bako National Park
13.9 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
9.3 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#15 of 55 in Kuching
742 reviews
14.9 mi away
Zotel Business & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,720 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
12.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bako National Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bako National Park Hostel

Address: Bako National Park 93400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Bako National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bako National Park
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing