We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pretty grim”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bako National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bako National Park Hostel
Reviewed December 17, 2013

It's a shame as Bako itself is amazing. Incredible beaches, waterfalls, interesting trails.. Rooms were horrid but bearable. Main bedroom was very basic. You would walk to a basic kitchen area where bathrooms were. There were hooks for my mossy net. It was a ok stay but I wouldn't want to go back there again..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EarthExplorer000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 293 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

We booked the most expensive accommodation they offer at bako but it is very basic there is no hot water, the water is brown, the beds were very basic and the bedding was little more than a rough old bath towel the food in the cafe was barely edible and the staff in the restaurant just played play station games all day and did little work but all of this is worth enduring for the amazing experience of spending the night in the jungle with so much wildlife on the doorstep,to wake up to proboscis monkeys bouncing on your roof and flying lemurs on the trees outside your room is worth any hardship, the noise from the jungle at night is amazing and the night time guided jungle walk was well worth the money,unless you are a serious jungle trekker one night is enough here and if you don't expect much from the accommodation you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The park itself is incredible. There are great opportunities too see proboscis monkeys, bearded pigs and long tail macaques up close and personal. (But don't feed them) There are several jungle trails that you can take with pitcher plants growing along and many lead to beaches. But coming from Australia I found the beaches disappointing. Don't expect tranquility the place is packed with tourists. They lost my reservation and bookings are closed on weekends so they had to put me in the "new" hostel that "wasn't open to the public." This was a lie. It wasn't new and there was lots of other people staying in it. The hostels are disgusting, I paid for 3 nights but could only bare one and didn't get a refund for the other 2. The bed sheets had blood and food stains, so I slept on the bare mattress with my raincoat on it. They don't provide blankets, towels or even toilet paper. So you will need to bring your own. I would recommend bring a sleeping bag because the beds are filthy. Camping is probably a better option. The food they sell is cheap but gross. Everything from the buffet is cold. Even when they first bring out new trays it's already cold when it leaves the kitchen. You can order chicken or vegetable soup which is actually hot, but the chicken is barely edible. Full of bones and grisle. The staff are lazy and unhelpful. This lots of rubbish around the park but the staff just sit at HQ watching TV all day and night. I would recommend a day trip but unfortunately the best times for wildlife spotting are sunrise and sunset which requires an overnight stay. Bring everything you need with you, towels, sheets, toilet paper and lots of bug spray. Bring as much food as you can as well.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Deseto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't book via the internet so we were very glad it was still possible to book at the office in Kuching. We only paid 44 rm and we had the 4 bed dorm to ourselves. Food in the cantine is ok and not expensive. Still not sure how they calculated it:) it's even possible to get a beer (8rm). It's a great park , it really gave us the rainforest experience. No leeches, something with the minerals in the ground. During the days we saw bearded pigs (around the canteen), macaques, and probosci monkeys. We did the round trail (incl the climb to the Hill top) and the trail to the waterfall. There you can go into the water so make sure you bring your swim suits. When you return, make sure you remember the number of your boat or the name of your boatman. He is the only one that picks you up, you can't just hop into another boat.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AnnekeMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Even though this is only a Lodge we really do need a bit of work done here. Showers filthy, food simple and cheap but very average. Staff very laid back about it all. OK this is in the middle of the National Park and it rained heavily overnight when we were there but I think this place is a real 'lost opportunity'. Walks and trip over in the boat all make it a must see location but next time I'd be tempted to look at a long day trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We knew exactly what we were getting into - we had read the ratings, and they were correct. BUT the people were lovely, the park is AMAZING and the experience not to be missed!! We used CPH travel to do a 2 day tour and these guys were the best! Knowledgable, friendly and helpful, which only served to add even more value to the trip as he was from Bako, and had been doing tours for 20 years. The park has a variety of ecosystems and heaps of beautiful animals. We went for a walk when we arrived and even before we left the 'resort' we had seen macaques, a crocodile, lizards, a variety of birds, a Bornean green pit viper, bornean bearded pigs, and a flying lemur. The meals were simple but tasty (watch out for the 'very naughty monkeys'). The night walk is a 'must do' - another lemur, and loads of spiders, scorpions, sleeping swallows and kingfishers,.... To be there in the calm of the evening (it certainly was not cool), when most of the tourists had left was very special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mousey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

great experience of living in natural park, hostel surrounding by flora and fauna, like wild boar, snakes, monkey, and proboscis. price was reasonable.

however, the water supplies was yellowish and a bit smelly. and beverages was selling at expensive price (can drinks RM3, 500ml bottle drinks RM4).

Room Tip: make earlier room booking via it's website to secure rooms availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zacix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bako National Park
9.3 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#16 of 55 in Kuching
721 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,646 reviews
12.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
12.9 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
198 reviews
9.1 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#11 of 55 in Kuching
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bako National Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bako National Park Hostel

Address: Bako National Park 93400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Bako National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bako National Park
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing