We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lazy Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Rong Samloem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I loved our couple of days at Lazy Beach; the beautiful and very secluded beach, the basic bungalows, awesome hang-out area with the different 'zones', heaps of comfy chairs and hammocks, good food, no wi-fi or phone connection, very friendly staff. Loved it all.

We actually arrived to find that there was a mix-up with our booking between the booking office and island so they weren't expecting us til the following day (pretty rare occurrence I would say). I thought Chris handled this superbly - he immediately told us it was no bother, sorted out some staff accommodation for the first night for us within the hour and offered us a free drink. Awesome way to run a business. I like the way he greets you from the boat (which can be a pretty harrowing experience) and love the lime juice that greets you on arrival. They are small touches but make a huge difference to how welcome you're made to feel. I think places like this may eventually become flashed up resorts so felt kind of privileged to be experiencing this very untouched and lovely island paradise now before it changes. Only negative comment is that I didn't enjoy dealing with the woman in the booking office, e.g. we turn up on the day to "do you have a booking?! why you no confirm?!!"...um that would be Yes we have a booking, and we didn't confirm because (a) you didn't tell us we needed to and (b) we paid a whacking great deposit so wouldn't have thought confirmation was necessary. However this is pretty minor in the scheme of things and the island experience itself was divine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quitmyjobtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    108
    20
    12
    7
See reviews for
78
305
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just had a two night stay at Lazy beach with my boyfriend. We phoned to book in advance but they were full so we changed our plans in order to go at a later date, bookings need to be made by phone or by visiting the booking office in sihanoukville, also confirm booking two days before!

The boat leaves at 12 and takes around 2hrs depending on the weather (10dollars per person one way). It was quite a bumpy ride and a few people were sea sick, the journey home was alot worse! We were all soaked by the time we arrived in sihanoukville. But I guess we were just unlucky that the sea was choppy at this time.

Lazy beach itself is a nice clean beach, with clear waters. There arent any jellyfish etc and the sand is so soft! Even in the sea, no rocks etc, you can walk out no problem! The 'other' beach on the other side of the island (25min walk through jungle) is more beautiful! White sand and crystal blue waters, really stunning! The water is very shallow on this side and there was a some rubbish lying about. I've been travelling south-east Asia for 3months so I've seen my fair share of beaches, thats probably why I wasn't blown away by lazy beach. If id come here on holiday I would have felt differently.

The bungalows are very basic but are exactly as described, two double beds, mosquito net, basic bathroom, balcony with two hammocks and chairs. A little over priced by comparison to other accommodation elsewhere ($40) but your paying for location really. Ours was spotless and we even had a few geckos to share with (they are totally harmless though, they dont come near you). First night we came home our bathroom was over-run by ants and we had two big spiders in the room. But we were in the jungle so that kind of thing is to be expected! Mosquito net was there to keep crawlies out! Everything had gone by the morning and we had no visitor's the 2nd night.

The restaurant/bar area was great! So many comfy chairs and hammocks.. you could laze about here for hours! Great selection of games, books etc. Food was ok! Good selection..

It was nice for a few days but i wouldn't rush back..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x-claire-1987-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Personal favourite of mine on this trip and the childrens ( 13 and 14 year olds). Easy boat trip to get here. Booking a bit painful as no email. called booking office from NZ to book.
Beach is stunning. As reviewers say the sand squeaks. Water clean and clear. No jelly fish or rubbish. This may be seasonal depending on prevailing wind I suspect.
Accomodation is basic given price point however rooms clean with good mosquito nets. Toilets clean. Lots of insect life and no shortage of monkeys. Beds comfortable
Common area, bar and restaurant are very very good. The "vibe" has something about it that encourages guests to mix and mingle. Owners and staff are great people and very good company.
Food and drinks reasonably priced, just a fraction more than in town on mainland.
Lots of activities. Badminton, volleyball, walks, table tennis etc.

We loved this place. For price I think they could do a bit more with the rooms ( although it didnt bother me), more a comment about relativity with other places seen and stayed at. The rest is faultless and a special place.
Wouldnt hesitate to return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I spent a few days there back in April with my sister and her fiance. There's nothing really that I can add that hasn't already been said. Amazing food, great and charming female staff, lots of fun but dammit was it humid inside those bungalows at night!! I think I might have slept a total of 3 hours in the 5 days that we stayed there. Almost ruined it for me. Also, keep in mind that Lazy Beach is truly located on an island which means that there is no internet, tv and phone reception anywhere on the island. It might be a bit hard for you to get used to at first but once you realize that you might never experience anything as unique as this again, you will definitely want to make the most out of it. Personally, I think anyone should owe it to themselves to spend a few days on a secluded island like Lazy Beach. Away from civilization. Away from the "world". It was definitely a very unique and refreshing experience for a city guy me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came for 2 nights and stayed 7. There are less and less of these sorts of beach hut type places in Asia, especially ones as friendly and relaxed as this one. Wake up, swim, pop to bar for breakfast, hang out in hammock with book and cold drink, tasty lunch, walk to the other beach through the jungle, head back for more snoozy hammock time, dinner and drinks in the bar in the evening. Sleep. Wake. Repeat...!

Worth mentioning the food - we ate really well and they will pick you up special items from the fishermen or the market. I wanted massive prawns and got some mega monsters that were in a fisherman's net only hours before. Everything fresh and tasty which is just as well as there is nowhere else to eat!

The huts are simple and you will likely be sharing with a gecko or two but thats the whole point of a place like this. Big enough for two but you could pack 4 into them if you had to as there are two doubles. Nice little veranda with two hammocks on where you will no doubt spend some time...

Beach is pretty clean as the guys that run it clean up the stuff that washes up on it. Mainly the fishermen losing flip flops and red bull bottles from what I can tell!

Do walk up the cliff outcrop above the gardens, and over to the beach on the other side. The dogs may well follow you - say hi to Spoondog from me!

We went out on the boat one afternoon/evening to do some fishing. Only thing I caught was the sun but a nice place to watch the sunset with a beer.

I will almost certainly be back - just hope that it does not get taken over by the Russian developers that seem to be buying up swathes of beach side land :-(

Couple of tips for your trip -
Avoid Sihanoukville and head straight out to the island. No hawkers, no hassle.
Take a torch - generators go off late evening.
Book ahead - this place has been discovered now and in peak season you cant just turn up.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feedthemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in Nov 2012 and we were sad to leave. Our time was spent in a dreamy haze due to the relaxed vibe, perfect beach and lazy atmosphere.
Let's start with the positives:
Beach - was heavenly and although it was nearly fully booked we managed to swim about 4/5 times a day all on our own. Water was clean and clear and snorkelling was great we even saw a 5ft shark near the end of the bay.
Food - was pretty good, definately try and opt for the Thai curry and more local dishes as these usually tasted better than the western dishes.
Bar area - this was a great chill out area. There was zones and comfy spots for all, we loved sitting here after lunch, when weather was too hot with a lime juice and a book. Also on offer are board games and cards which is great as there is no Internet available for guests.
Seclusion - even though Lazy Beach was almost fully booked when we stayed, it felt secluded and private. We hardly saw anyone during the day or night unless we went to the communal bar/restaurant.
Negatives:
Huts - were very basic, not very safe as windows could be slid open and no soap etc provided. However, we were happy with our hut (5) but at $40 would have appreciated a bit more of an effort in the hut. Also a fan would be good.
In all, this place is pretty much perfect, the hosts great and very friendly. It was the perfect end to our 3 week trip.
TIP - take a torch for your late night walk back to your hut. It's helps to avoid the hermit crabs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodwinsSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Lazy Beach and the warm welcome on the pier by the owners and the free cold lime juice set the standard of our stay. Our cabin turned out to be one of the not renovated ones but despite some termites on the veranda at night it was good. Our inhouse Tokay gecko couple did not call at all. The food ordered from the extensive menu always was fresh and deliscious, price range 4-6 U$. Beach was clean and quiet. Sometimes we wondered where all the people had gone, all 17 cabins were claimed full and noone in sight!

Hill mynas and Pied Hornbills were awake early fighting with the black squittels for small orange fruits from a tree nearby our cabin. A bit noisy but hornbills are really cool birds. 16 in one flock!

The 2 km walk across to the other side of the island was easy via the mostly flat and wide path. A few birds and long tailed macaques were seen in the forest. Another day we did the lighthouse walk. It is easy but long, for us 4,5 hour return but I suggest you plan for 5 hour as we did not walk in a slow paze. You go across the island(20 min), then follow the beach(20 min), find the track(delayed us a bit as the desciption not was easy to follow. Look where the little stream is and cross that a few meters from the breach.) then just follow the track/old road through the forest all the way to the lighthouse. They also have a sunset/outlook path just behind the generator house. Steep but short.

Dont expect sensational snorkelling but for a few fish, octopuses and clams it is OK. Dont miss the huge school of small fish near the pier, swimming through that was amazing. All dark, just loads of fish. A friend went out scuba diving from Lazy Beach with the boat from Sihanoukville, they did not go very far from our beach and he thought that it was not worth the money.

Drawbacks might be the 2+ hour boattrip. We were lucky with quite calm conditions but I guess it can be rough at times. Count on a splash or two......wet bums and salt sprayed hair on the return trip. We also were sometimes disturbed at night by the trawlers and fishing boats doing their thing out on the sea. It was the engines that could be heard. At dusk there was some mosquitos attacking but they slowed down later. Also in the forest a few mozzies did hide but with a spray of DEET you will be safe. Despite this we do recommend that you stay there, we miss the food......

Room Tip: The higher the room/cabin number is, the longer the walk to the restaurant will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Botanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koh Rong Samloem
17.3 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Beach Island Resort & Beach Club
The Beach Island Resort & Beach ...
#2 of 2 in Koh Rong Samloem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
13.5 mi away
Song Saa Private Island
Song Saa Private Island
#1 of 2 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sweet Dreams Samloem
Sweet Dreams Samloem
#2 of 18 in Koh Rong Samloem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.9 mi away
The One Resort
The One Resort
#2 of 32 in Koh Rong Samloem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Robinson Bungalows
Robinson Bungalows
#4 of 32 in Koh Rong Samloem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Beach

Property: Lazy Beach
Address: West Side of Island, Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong Samloem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Koh Rong Samloem
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lazy Beach Hotel Koh Rong Samloem
Lazy Beach Hotel Cambodia
Lazy Beach Cambodia/Koh Rong Samloem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing