We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for this price”
Review of Villa Sunbird

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Sunbird
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for this price”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We staid here on our last night of our 10 day tour in Sri Lanka.
The small hotel was a bit difficult to find, and it's about 30 minutes from the airport...not the 20 that is stated on their website.

The hotel has been rebuilt for two years and consists of 6 rooms divided over 2 buildings/houses. There is a small garden in front from where you can go to the beach. There are no facilities on the beach and the ocean is too rough to swim especially for kids.

Our room was small but more then sufficient with a bath room. Room was very clean.
The bed was very hard, felt like a wooden plank and in the morning we didn't have hot water in the shower.

Down stairs in the main building there is a TV and lounge area, where you can also enjoy dinner and have your breakfast. Dinner was nice but simple.

The staff is very friendly and make you feel welcome.

When we arrived we walked to the beach and see the sunset and later had a nice tea on the seats outside the house in the garden.

For the price it's really a good hotel for one or two nights.

We had a very good driver who speaks good English. He's name is Chandima and can be contacted at cdissanayaka57@gmail.com. The hotel has two small rooms for the drivers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxhaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fantastic location by the beach, great atmosphere and fantastic food. The rooms are of high spec with lovely decor. Two of the rooms have their own balcony overlooking the sea (we caught a lovely sunset during our stay there). The staff were very helpful and the chef cooked us up an amazing seafood platter and even set us up on a table in the garden at our request.
We only stayed for a night so didnt partake in many activities in the area, but I was told that one can water-ski/wakeboard in the lagoon or even explore the deeper lagoon and canal network in a boat/canoe. There is also a bird tower for bird watchers and a unique chruch on the beach not far from the villa.
If you need a place to stay before you fly out or just after you've flown in, this is also a great alternative to staying in Colombo, as its only a 30 min hassle free journey to the airport.
I know there are plans to build a pool, which (when built) will make this an excellent place to stay. There is no alcohol licence so, whilst they have a couple of bottles of beer in the fridge, it may be an idea to bring your own wine (or whatever else you fancy drinkingwith your meal).
A special thank you to Paul and his lovely family for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms in the villa we stayed in both overlook the sea and each have their own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickdim23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you're looking for as minimal interaction as possible with other tourists (which I was!), this is a great place. It's right on the beach and the other side faces a small canal/ lagoon (thankfully not smelly!).
The rooms are great - there are 2 villas, each with 2-3 bedrooms and a large dining + living room and a sit out. The furniture is great - clearly period stuff and great to lounge in. The view from the 2 rooms on the first floor is super - open out the windows and you're looking at a vast expanse of sea! :)
The beach is quite good - isnt white-sand or clear, but the fact that there's pretty much no one else around makes it awesome :)
The staff - Dhammika, Dasanayake & another chap - are extremely hospitable and ever ready to help. They make great food - the prawns were the best we've ever had. Couldnt try the signature crab dish though for lack of availability of crab in the market the days we were there :( Found the food too spicy on the first day and from the next meal they'd managed to hit just the right level of spice! :)
As some reviews mentioned, there is a fair amount of bird life near the canal/ backwater - we spotted 4 green bee-eaters sitting on the electric line the very first day and some white pigeons, but sadly no more birds since then (other than crows :D). Also spotted large (4-5ft long) water monitors in the canal on 2 separate occasions, though they didnt quite come onto the land :( Also spotted a Bengal monitor down the road.
The place is about 12km from the heart of Negombo (about 8km from Jetwing Sea resort), but not too difficult to locate. Public buses ply very frequently (~every 10 mins or so) on this route (Negombo-Chilaw) and are a super cheap way to get to Negombo..
No swimming pool, gym etc and other trappings of a fancy hotel though :/
A touch expensive at ~15,000 LKR/night, but worth it!

Room Tip: First floor rooms rock! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

"This is a fantastic place to stay for complete relaxation and ideal for being close to the airport. (Staying in Colombo, not to be recommended unless essential and Negombo, the nearest town to the airport is not very inviting).The food at the villa was really good local fare with a fantastic salad menu, which is unusual for Sri Lanka. The chef was really sweet in making whatever the kids wanted.Unfortunately, the staff do not speak much English, although they could not be more helpful and the place is spotlessly clean. It is also best to look at the Villa Sunbird website for directions as it is off the beaten track and our driver did not know it."

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aluwihare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We enjoyed a relaxed and peaceful weekend at villa sunbird by the beach not far from Negombo town and the Colombo airport. The Villa faces the river (Maha Oya) and has a large garden going down to a quiet beach where one can take a dip a little way from the house.

The food was good and wholesome with menus provided and the staff went out of their way to cater for the kids. Rooms were air conditioned, comfortable and clean and two have sea views in each Villa. The kids can go beach combing and build sand castles on the beach. NO pool but plenty of sea frontage for getting into the water at a safe point a few hundred yards away. Really good value for the price. Great for a relaxing with a drink and watching the sunset on the beach...would definitely go back again

Room Tip: Choose the sea front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

There was absoslutely nothing to do here. A large bare lawn, wooden chairs with no cushions, no swimming pool and the beach was filthy with bottles, broken glass and dog poo

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Villa Sunbird, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
"Thank you for your feed back and please accept our sincere regrets that you did not enjoy your stay. Our feedback so far has been that most guests have had a positive experience at Villa Sunbird. The villa has been designed for peace and serenity. Its location and infrastructure are conducive for relaxation rather than partying

We have done a detailed inquiry into the complaint about the state of the beach. As we have clearly stated on the website, our beach is a working beach, so there are fishermen who beach their Catamarans off the beach. For those who want to see the real Sri Lanka, this has been much appreciated and their fishing nets and boats are parked some distance from the beach directly in front of the Villa. Generally the beach is clean and is also cleaned by the staff at the Villa. However there are times of the year, specially during the monsoons when ocean debris piles up.... and is washed away again later" We have however instructed our staff to increase the frequency of their beach clean up during these times of the year.


On the issue of what there is to do, whilst the Villa itself is quiet, we are in fact just 15 minutes from the night clubs and bars of Negombo. There is a water sports club just 30 meters away on the river and the management of Sunbird can organize tour of the Island, if requested"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I had the privilege to visit Villa sunbird in Nainamadu recently with my family.

Its a nice, pleasant setting, ideal to relax and take things a bit easy!

Beautifully constructed two villas, and excellent hosts and food!

Good villas in which to spend a few days near the beach in Sri Lanka.

Dijen and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nainamadama
1.6 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
0.9 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,138 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sanmali Beach Hotel
Sanmali Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Marawila
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suriya Resort
Suriya Resort
#2 of 3 in Waikkal
423 reviews
9.0 mi away
Club Palm Bay Hotel
Club Palm Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Marawila
891 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rico Shadow Guest House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sunbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sunbird

Property: Villa Sunbird
Address: off Hugh Fernando Mawatha, Nainamadama, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Nainamadama
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Nainamadama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Sunbird 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront property. Twin Villas each having 3 AC bedrooms with attached toilets having hot water. Large extent of land. Ideal for relaxing and for birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Sunbird reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing