We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Place, Cracking People”

Whistling Jack's Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rottington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistling Jack's Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Rottington B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cracking Place, Cracking People”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed in Whistling Jacks for a few days over a couple of weeks for work purposes.

Lovely bedroom, lovely people.

Made to feel at home, with excellent food on the table.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steph_a5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
20
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Had a lovely weekend with my son and dog, Jacqui and Mark are really friendly and made us feel very welcome. Rooms are amazing and the food is lovley, especially Mark's omelettes. The barn and surrounding area are amazing great views of the sea from the end of the lane. Would recomend if you are in that area of Cumbria you stay there. Black labs Missy and Finder are very friendly, our dog made himself at home as soon as he walked through the door (a bit too much at home sometimes).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Having spend the last 5 months commuting between the amazing Whistling Jacks and home, I need to advise you to STAY THERE!! It is by far the best B&B I have stayed at in the UK and I have travelled alot. I don't think the photos fully do the place justice (no offence to the photographer!) The rooms are huge, with perhaps the biggest bath & bed I have ever laid in in most rooms (over 5 months I sampled a few). There is also a wonderful welcoming communal lounge in the beautiful big old converted barn. I loved the 15 min stroll down to the beach checking out the baby lambs and other wildlife on the way. Fantastic views at St Bees. But the highlight of the stay is Mark, Jacqui and their canine companions. They're so friendly, the food was delicious (and lots of it, I definitely recommend paying the small amount extra for eveining meals) & so welcoming with a glass of wine. WJs can be anythin you want from a stay; you can just have a chilled out getaway, have a sporty one, or put the world (and 70s music) to rights over a few beers. You'd be foolish to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All are fantastic & excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We found this place by chance, my god how lucky we were, Jacqui, is an absolute star, she took us in and made us feel really at home. Then Mark came home, what an absolute diamond he is, apart from accepting us as part of the family, gave us the run of the place, which is spotless by the way. The breakfast is huge, the biggest I've ever had by far, oh and by the way, Mark reckons his omeletts are the best. I can't say not tried them yet, will do one day .

This is by far the best barn conversion I have ever seen, fully underfloor central heating, which must have been an absolute pig, the biggest bathroom, I have ever seen, power shower, massive bath, wow.

If you like dogs, they have the best black Labs, you will ever meet, my partner doesn't like big dogs, but they are lovely, black labs at their best, really well behaved.

We will definitely go back, sooner rather than later, nothing is too much trouble for Jacqui, and Mark, they are absolute diamonds, would actually call them friends, after this weekend.

Garry and Bev XX

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garry069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Jacqui and Mark were absolutely fantastic and very friendly. We felt more like old friends staying than just guests. The room and bathroom were both very spacious and everything was spotless. The breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day.

We are definitely going back and it's one of the best B&Bs we've been to. Their local knowledge was also really helpful in finding some local gems.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontheball84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2011

arrived to a warm friendly welcome from Mark. were extremely pleased with the massive room and huge ensuite. as we were visiting friends and their new baby, we were glad we had somewhere comfortable and pleasant to stay inbetween visits during our stay. location was just spot on,and easy walk to the beach and cliffs. low tide was fantastic.
meeting Jacqui at the accomodation was hospitallity through and through....and nothing was too much trouble. breakfast was just what was needed for the start of a long day, and we would recommend a stay here and we certainly will be back....

Room Tip: we saw 2 of the doubles with ensuites and each was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzanewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had a lovely short break and we felt like part of a happy family while we were there, in the best sense. The room and facilities were first class and the location suited us. It's on the doorstep of the historic St. Bees and Whitehaven and the start of the ever popular coast to coast venture. The breakfast was plentiful and lasted us till evening meal time. Jacqui and Mark were marvellous hosts. We gave Jacqui the edge on breakfast but we'll be back to give Mark a chance with his infamous omelette. Renowned worldwide - he tells us.

Room Tip: Tip - choose Jacqui and Mark and you'll return to West Cumbria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whistling Jack's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Jack's Guest House

Property: Whistling Jack's Guest House
Address: Rottington CA28 9UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Rottington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rottington
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing