We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a fantastic venue for our wedding...”
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall
Kitchen
The drawing room
Kingfisher Bedroom
Otter bedroom
Sitting room
One of the bathrooms
The den
Boot store
Pergola on the Lake
Swimming pool
Games barn
Games barn - interior
South side of main house
Keepers cottage
Cottage - Gamekeepers bedroom
Cottage - Orchard bedroom
Cottage - Thatchers bedroom
The lake, for  fishing or boating
Beautiful autumn colours emerging
Looking over the lawn at the rear of the house
The majestic scotts pines.
Open space near the orchard
Towards the front lawn
Log pile beside the lake walk, good for habitat, we hope.
The beautiful Blackdown Hills, great for walking and moutain biking.
The Blackdown Hills are wonderful for walking, riding & mountain biking.
Kitchen in the cottage, perfect for a morning coffee before breakfast in the main house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Culmhead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philip K
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Such a fantastic venue for our wedding anniversary get together”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We celebrated our 30th Wedding anniversary at Widcombe Grange last weekend with a gathering of 19 people. Everything about the whole weekend was superb from the venue and its location, the staff from the Big House Company who arranged everything for us to the teams we had to assist us with activities and a gala meal on the Saturday evening.

The location is easily accessible from J26 of the M5 (about 15 minutes) and central Taunton (about 20 minutes). The property itself is a period property which has been lovingly cared for and kept in excellent order. The bedrooms have high quality hotel standard beds and bedding but retain the quirky charm of the original design. The kitchen is well equipped and the main dining room sat 19 comfortably.

Withing the house there are some comfortable communal areas plus adequate storage for the stuff we brought with us. The team at the Big House Co had set up the hot tub and the swimming pool so we could use it. The pool was pleasantly warm and a great asset for a few of us on the Saturday afternoon. The property has fantastic grounds which we walked in and where we also set up an archery taster session for our guests using a contact of the team at Widcombe. It was a lot of fun and a perfect ice breaker

Our weekend went exceedingly smoothly, due mainly to the planning which the team at Big House Co assisted and guided us with in the time leading up to the event. Everything was taken care of in a relaxed manner so we could focus on having a great time with our guests..

Overall our guests were completely bowled over by the whole weekend. Our expectations were exceeded and we wouldn't have a moment's hesitation in using this venue or one of the Big House Co's other properties again in the future.

Thank you to everyone at the Big House Co.

Phil

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
Many congratulations on your wedding anniversary. It sounds like you had really great fun and now the pool is open it adds to the variety of activities. So pleased you enjoyed the archery too. Thank you very much for sharing your experience so comprehensively. Best wishes, Anthony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield...
Lindfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming and warm accommodation”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Widcombe Grange is perfect for large gatherings. It has the most comfortable beds, the dining room is easily big enough for 24 to be seated, the lounges are again large enough for all and the gardens are beautiful. The hot tub was well used by our party.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
The new hot tub is certainly proving a big hit, I'm so glad you thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you for booking with us, with my best wishes, Anthony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliveh456
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful escape in the Perfect house with great friends”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The house was even better than I had hoped for. Whilst being large enough to accommodate my friends who came to celebrate my Birthday it had a very cosy and intimate vibe. It felt very much like our home for the 3 days we stayed.
Everybody soon adjusted to just relaxing, eating far too much or walks to the local pubs. A really great idea was getting all the food we needed delivered by Sainsbury on the day of our arrival.
Great team at the Big House Company who were most helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
We're very pleased that Widcombe Grange felt like a home from home - it's just what we aim for - that the house feels like it's yours for the weekend. Thank you so much for coming to stay. With best wishes, Anthony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneSheph...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent house, beautifully restored and equipped.”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Fabulous house for a large family/group stay. Comfortable beds and rooms, plenty of space. Well located to explore beautiful area. Very well equipped with plenty of essentials to enable full catering for large group. Leisure equipment as described, lived up to expectation.
Friendly and efficient management team. House very clean and orderly on arrival, with milk, cake and fruit supplied.

Would fully recommend this property. We are already planning our next trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
Thank you for your review and how wonderful you are already planning a return visit. We'll look forward to welcoming you. With best wishes, Anthony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWSalisbu...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house for a large party of family and friends”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We all enjoyed a fabulous weekend at Widcombe Grange. A party of eighteen family and friends with three dogs. Loads of space, lovely grounds, huge table for everyone to get together, well equipped kitchen and very importantly, extremely clean throughout. Fun hot tub, party / games room and boats on the lake too!
Wet weather did not matter at all with cosy fireplaces and wonderfully warm eco heating system.
Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2017
Thank you so much for booking Widcombe Grange. I'm very pleased you had a great weekend party and the new hot tub was a hit with you! February can be a great time to go away - being outside if the weather is good and if it's poor, an excellent excuse to be beside the fire with a glass of wine, or having fun in the games room!
I really appreciate you leaving a review, best wishes
Anthony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurreyTil...
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend at Widcombe”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We hired Widcombe for my husbands 50th birthday celebrations in early January.
It is a perfect party house and all our guests felt very comfortable. It is well equipped and once the gates were shut we really felt we'd got away from the outside world!
The hot tub and games room were both well used as a little cold in January to do much exploring.
Many thanks to Anthony and the team, we hope to return one day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2017
It's great that the hot-tub added to your fun, it's a new addition to the property and has proved popular so far. Thank you so much for booking with us and I'm very pleased you had a great time celebrating your husbands birthday. With best wishes, Anthony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiG86
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fantastic house, fantastic grounds, really great helpful people. The hot tub was excellent and all of the rooms spacious, nice and clean. Lots to do and comfortably held 24 people. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Thanks so much for booking Widcombe Grange, I'm glad you found it really clean - that's very important to us. So glad you enjoyed our new hot-tub, it's only 3 weeks old and we're excited about this new feature. With best wishes
Anthony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing