We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WONDERFUL HOME AND FACILITIES FOR SPECIAL FAMILY...”
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall
Kitchen
The drawing room
Kingfisher Bedroom
Otter bedroom
Sitting room
One of the bathrooms
The den
Boot store
Pergola on the Lake
Swimming pool
Games barn
Games barn - interior
South side of main house
Keepers cottage
Cottage - Gamekeepers bedroom
Cottage - Orchard bedroom
Cottage - Thatchers bedroom
The lake, for  fishing or boating
Beautiful autumn colours emerging
Looking over the lawn at the rear of the house
The majestic scotts pines.
Open space near the orchard
Towards the front lawn
Log pile beside the lake walk, good for habitat, we hope.
The beautiful Blackdown Hills, great for walking and moutain biking.
The Blackdown Hills are wonderful for walking, riding & mountain biking.
Kitchen in the cottage, perfect for a morning coffee before breakfast in the main house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Culmhead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elisabeth...
Fowlmere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL HOME AND FACILITIES FOR SPECIAL FAMILY CELEBRATION”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

My husband arranged the rental w/Peter as a surprise 50th birthday celebration for 3 generations of family and friends, ranging from 8-80. Everything was perfect: the layout of the rooms suited everyone's requirements - there were bathrooms for every different family and a downstairs bedroom for the oldest couple who enjoyed a little more privacy and no need to climb stairs.

My husband had assistance organizing a number of different activities: personal chef and wait staff, a beautician to give mani-pedis, and clay pigeon shooting. We also had a delivery of supermarket items waiting for our arrival and bread during our stay, Everyone had a terrific time - playing int he games room, swimming and boating, walking the lovely grounds and playing croquet and footie on the lawn. We used the annex for additional guests and for kids using the pool and had a great time in the old house int he evening, playing scrabble and the piano and watching Wimbledon on the telly in the den.We would unreservedly recommend the house.

The only two suggestions I would make to improve a great experience would be to put a couple of signs out on the nearby roads to help people find the house - several guests got lost en route. I would also put some more comfortable garden seating and umbrellas out on the lawn behind the house - the picnic tables were uncomfortable for the older family members who wanted to relax and watch the croquet and badminton rather than join in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the amenities catered for 3 generations of family
Liked least: lack of comfortable garden furniture close to main house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
What a lovely surprise for you! I'm so pleased that we could be of help to your husband and that you and your group enjoyed your stay at Widcombe Grange. Thank you for such a detailed review and we will certainly order some more garden furniture to improve comfort in the garden.
Thank you so much for staying, with best wishes, Anthony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bucket full of happiness”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What you would expect from a property of this size plus double on everything Pool was lovely and warm and the grounds are beautiful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Could not find anthing to not like
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Great to hear that you had a really good time and you left with lots of good memories. Thank you for your comments. Best wishes, Anthony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolDi...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“A very happy wife”
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I booked the house for a party of 24 (adults and kids) to celebrate a significant birthday for my wife. The venue, facilities and support provided by Peter and the Big House team were all absolutely excellent. We chose to cater for ourselves, which was made incredibly easy as the equipment supplied was top notch. There was plenty of everything (plates, glasses etc) meaning that constant washing up wasn't a feature of our time there. The games room proved very popular both with young and old particularly as the weather wasn't too kind. Some very competitive alcohol fuelled table - tennis matches took place! All in all the accomodation and Big House Company are highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling very relaxed
Liked least: The range cooker. Not a fan of ceramic hobs
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2016
The weather!! The one thing the Big House Co can't organise for you...but we have some great games rooms in our houses! I'm so pleased that you had a great time at Widcombe Grange and we really appreciate you taking the time to review us.
Best wishes, Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W
1 review
“Wonderful family Christmas at Idyllic Widcombe Grange”
Reviewed January 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our large family (21 in all) have always spent Christmas together for the last 6 years. Each year it becomes increasingly difficult to find a property large enough and suitable for the age ranges of our children and grandchildren.
In Widcombe Grange we found the ideal answer. Hidden in the hills of Somerset, this glorious house stands with an adjacent cottage and a games room. The accommodation is splendid with lovely bedrooms, comfortable lounges in which to relax and an impressive dining room with a table to seat 24. The games room provided an ideal escape for the younger element to 'let off steam', whilst adult competitions were a part of every day. Extensive grounds provided enjoyable walks despite the inclement weather. Absolutely everything was provided - in the kitchen - in the bathrooms, and throughout the house.
We thank the Big House Company for their efficient, helpful and friendly services. We shall certainly be using them again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the property.
Liked least: The entrance was easy to miss on quite a busy road.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
How lovely that your Christmas party at Widcombe Grange was so successful. When we transformed the old barns to a games room several years ago, it was with the aim to provide groups with extra indoor fun space, particularly in the winter and it seems to have worked really well for your group.
Thank you for leaving a review, it's always so good to get guest feedback.
With best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick K
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Incredible House”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A group of 20 of us stayed at Widcombe over New Year 2015 and it was incredible.

From the moment I first engaged with Peter and Beverley, I knew the stay was going to be great. I am a bit of a control freak and love to be organised and both were so helpful.

Peter was great in recommending local places and arranged Clay Pigeon Shooting on NYD which was fantastic.

We have stayed at large houses before but Widcombe is by far the best so far!

Cant wait to come back!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Widcombe Grange. It's really rewarding for us to know that you were so pleased with the service that we provide, it's really something we work very hard at and to have your feedback is great. We hope we can welcome you back again one day.
Best wishes, Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil S
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We are a big family that like to get together and have a good time over the festive season, half of us live in Bath and the other in Plymouth, over the years our families have increased in size, so an alternative venue was needed, well we needn't look any further than the "Big House Co" and in particular Widcombe Grange,. From the time of making first contact to being shown around the stunning property, Peter and Beverly were first class, for us this stay was a year in the making and we weren't disappointed. First impressions are fantastic and the house and grounds are idillic. We chose to do the Shooting on our second day which was also brilliant, the Rangers that took us were superb and made the whole experience a joy, We drank and ate well our entire stay and even had enough time to sample the local Public house on a walk. The house makes you feel like its your own, as it has its own character which makes your stay very welcoming. We will be looking to re-visit the property and maybe use it for the summer months to enjoy the outside and pool area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience of having a big enough property in order to have my closest family members around me
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
Christmas is such a great time to get all the family together, the only problem is finding somewhere big enough! So I'm really pleased that you found Widcombe Grange to be the perfect solution and provided everything you were looking for, inside and out.
Beverley, is our office hero and I will make sure she reads your kind comments and Mathew too, our ranger, who we have worked with for many years and who has a great talent for teaching groups safely but with informality.
Thank you for taking time to write a review and do come back soon!
Best wishes, Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molly s
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“everything you need + more!”
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

this was a great find for a work trip! from my initial inquiries to arriving at the house, everyone I spoke to was helpful + made sure our group had everything we needed. the house is lovely + a great space for a large group. the kitchen is well equipped + the abundance of board games were highlights of our trip. I would recommend this house to anyone, it was a fantastic few days + we hope to return again, perhaps in the summer to enjoy the beautiful garden. thanks so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2015
So pleased that your business group found the house worked well for you and I'm glad you found it to be a good alternative to a hotel. Thank you very much for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing