We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful family Christmas at Idyllic Widcombe...”
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall
Kitchen
The drawing room
Kingfisher Bedroom
Otter bedroom
Sitting room
One of the bathrooms
The den
Boot store
Pergola on the Lake
Swimming pool
Games barn
Games barn - interior
South side of main house
Keepers cottage
Cottage - Gamekeepers bedroom
Cottage - Orchard bedroom
Cottage - Thatchers bedroom
The lake, for  fishing or boating
Beautiful autumn colours emerging
Looking over the lawn at the rear of the house
The majestic scotts pines.
Open space near the orchard
Towards the front lawn
Log pile beside the lake walk, good for habitat, we hope.
The beautiful Blackdown Hills, great for walking and moutain biking.
The Blackdown Hills are wonderful for walking, riding & mountain biking.
Kitchen in the cottage, perfect for a morning coffee before breakfast in the main house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Culmhead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David W
1 review
“Wonderful family Christmas at Idyllic Widcombe Grange”
Reviewed January 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our large family (21 in all) have always spent Christmas together for the last 6 years. Each year it becomes increasingly difficult to find a property large enough and suitable for the age ranges of our children and grandchildren.
In Widcombe Grange we found the ideal answer. Hidden in the hills of Somerset, this glorious house stands with an adjacent cottage and a games room. The accommodation is splendid with lovely bedrooms, comfortable lounges in which to relax and an impressive dining room with a table to seat 24. The games room provided an ideal escape for the younger element to 'let off steam', whilst adult competitions were a part of every day. Extensive grounds provided enjoyable walks despite the inclement weather. Absolutely everything was provided - in the kitchen - in the bathrooms, and throughout the house.
We thank the Big House Company for their efficient, helpful and friendly services. We shall certainly be using them again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the property.
Liked least: The entrance was easy to miss on quite a busy road.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
How lovely that your Christmas party at Widcombe Grange was so successful. When we transformed the old barns to a games room several years ago, it was with the aim to provide groups with extra indoor fun space, particularly in the winter and it seems to have worked really well for your group.
Thank you for leaving a review, it's always so good to get guest feedback.
With best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick K
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible House”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A group of 20 of us stayed at Widcombe over New Year 2015 and it was incredible.

From the moment I first engaged with Peter and Beverley, I knew the stay was going to be great. I am a bit of a control freak and love to be organised and both were so helpful.

Peter was great in recommending local places and arranged Clay Pigeon Shooting on NYD which was fantastic.

We have stayed at large houses before but Widcombe is by far the best so far!

Cant wait to come back!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Widcombe Grange. It's really rewarding for us to know that you were so pleased with the service that we provide, it's really something we work very hard at and to have your feedback is great. We hope we can welcome you back again one day.
Best wishes, Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil S
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We are a big family that like to get together and have a good time over the festive season, half of us live in Bath and the other in Plymouth, over the years our families have increased in size, so an alternative venue was needed, well we needn't look any further than the "Big House Co" and in particular Widcombe Grange,. From the time of making first contact to being shown around the stunning property, Peter and Beverly were first class, for us this stay was a year in the making and we weren't disappointed. First impressions are fantastic and the house and grounds are idillic. We chose to do the Shooting on our second day which was also brilliant, the Rangers that took us were superb and made the whole experience a joy, We drank and ate well our entire stay and even had enough time to sample the local Public house on a walk. The house makes you feel like its your own, as it has its own character which makes your stay very welcoming. We will be looking to re-visit the property and maybe use it for the summer months to enjoy the outside and pool area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience of having a big enough property in order to have my closest family members around me
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
Christmas is such a great time to get all the family together, the only problem is finding somewhere big enough! So I'm really pleased that you found Widcombe Grange to be the perfect solution and provided everything you were looking for, inside and out.
Beverley, is our office hero and I will make sure she reads your kind comments and Mathew too, our ranger, who we have worked with for many years and who has a great talent for teaching groups safely but with informality.
Thank you for taking time to write a review and do come back soon!
Best wishes, Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molly s
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“everything you need + more!”
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

this was a great find for a work trip! from my initial inquiries to arriving at the house, everyone I spoke to was helpful + made sure our group had everything we needed. the house is lovely + a great space for a large group. the kitchen is well equipped + the abundance of board games were highlights of our trip. I would recommend this house to anyone, it was a fantastic few days + we hope to return again, perhaps in the summer to enjoy the beautiful garden. thanks so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2015
So pleased that your business group found the house worked well for you and I'm glad you found it to be a good alternative to a hotel. Thank you very much for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend party venue for you,....and 23 of your closest friends.”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I'd recommend The Big House Company and Widecombe Grange to anyone looking for a great reunion or large family get together venue.

Peter and his team were amazing in the booking process, and after we departed. The house itself was great with wonderful facilities, bedrooms and grounds. This was especially true for those cooking up a storm in the really well equipped kitchen, which made it amongst the best large houses we have rented.

All of us are looking forward to coming back to The Big House Company soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2015
I'm so pleased that you found the booking process with us to be effortless, Beverley in our office is one in a million and it's great too that you've found us to be among the best big houses you've stayed in. We'll be working hard to see if we can get to the top of your league table, if we can tempt you back! With best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Widcombe Grange and the Big House Co. made for our perfect wedding.”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had an absolutely fantastic wedding weekend at Widcombe Grange and would highly recommend everything about the venue and company. Peter and all of his staff provided a very warm welcome and did an excellent job of keeping everything running impeccably in the background, meaning we could relax and enjoy the day knowing the arrangements were in safe hands. Peter provided great advice throughout the planning process, quickly gauging what kind of wedding we were after, and steering us towards suitable choices. The venue provided a perfect range of locations, from the two houses to get ready in, the swimming pool to relax in, the coach house for the ceremony and after-party, the grounds for the kids (and adults!) to play in and a great space for a marquee for the meal and speeches. We even had a number of people say it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding. We hope to be back at a Big House Co big house for another celebration soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Thank you so much for having your wedding here with us! It was a great pleasure to help make your wedding a really special occasion for you and your guests. We loved your wedding cake with Widcombe Grange on it too, a real one off!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, I have shared it with our whole team here and we've had buns for tea!
With best wishes, Peter & the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony b
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Ideal for an extended family weeks holiday”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Grange was great in that it allowed me to bring together a large family in one place. But equally the accommodation was large enough to give everybody there own space when needed!
Big grounds, swimming pool and gaming room on site. And we had the opportunity for horse riding and archey. in house catering proved very convenient as well. Good quality food served by friendly bunch of people.
and if you get bored with the Grange, there was the surrounding countryside and towns to explore. perhaps we should have stayed for 2 weeks!?

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
With families spread so far around the country and the world, it is great to be able to get everyone together under one roof and I'm really glad that Widcombe Grange fitted the bill for you and you had a great time. I really appreciate you sharing your views with others, thank you. Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing