We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend party venue for you,....and 23 of...”
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall
Kitchen
The drawing room
Kingfisher Bedroom
Otter bedroom
Sitting room
One of the bathrooms
The den
Boot store
Pergola on the Lake
Swimming pool
Games barn
Games barn - interior
South side of main house
Keepers cottage
Cottage - Gamekeepers bedroom
Cottage - Orchard bedroom
Cottage - Thatchers bedroom
The lake, for  fishing or boating
Beautiful autumn colours emerging
Looking over the lawn at the rear of the house
The majestic scotts pines.
Open space near the orchard
Towards the front lawn
Log pile beside the lake walk, good for habitat, we hope.
The beautiful Blackdown Hills, great for walking and moutain biking.
The Blackdown Hills are wonderful for walking, riding & mountain biking.
Kitchen in the cottage, perfect for a morning coffee before breakfast in the main house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Culmhead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jon H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend party venue for you,....and 23 of your closest friends.”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I'd recommend The Big House Company and Widecombe Grange to anyone looking for a great reunion or large family get together venue.

Peter and his team were amazing in the booking process, and after we departed. The house itself was great with wonderful facilities, bedrooms and grounds. This was especially true for those cooking up a storm in the really well equipped kitchen, which made it amongst the best large houses we have rented.

All of us are looking forward to coming back to The Big House Company soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2015
I'm so pleased that you found the booking process with us to be effortless, Beverley in our office is one in a million and it's great too that you've found us to be among the best big houses you've stayed in. We'll be working hard to see if we can get to the top of your league table, if we can tempt you back! With best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Widcombe Grange and the Big House Co. made for our perfect wedding.”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had an absolutely fantastic wedding weekend at Widcombe Grange and would highly recommend everything about the venue and company. Peter and all of his staff provided a very warm welcome and did an excellent job of keeping everything running impeccably in the background, meaning we could relax and enjoy the day knowing the arrangements were in safe hands. Peter provided great advice throughout the planning process, quickly gauging what kind of wedding we were after, and steering us towards suitable choices. The venue provided a perfect range of locations, from the two houses to get ready in, the swimming pool to relax in, the coach house for the ceremony and after-party, the grounds for the kids (and adults!) to play in and a great space for a marquee for the meal and speeches. We even had a number of people say it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding. We hope to be back at a Big House Co big house for another celebration soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Thank you so much for having your wedding here with us! It was a great pleasure to help make your wedding a really special occasion for you and your guests. We loved your wedding cake with Widcombe Grange on it too, a real one off!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, I have shared it with our whole team here and we've had buns for tea!
With best wishes, Peter & the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony b
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Ideal for an extended family weeks holiday”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Grange was great in that it allowed me to bring together a large family in one place. But equally the accommodation was large enough to give everybody there own space when needed!
Big grounds, swimming pool and gaming room on site. And we had the opportunity for horse riding and archey. in house catering proved very convenient as well. Good quality food served by friendly bunch of people.
and if you get bored with the Grange, there was the surrounding countryside and towns to explore. perhaps we should have stayed for 2 weeks!?

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
With families spread so far around the country and the world, it is great to be able to get everyone together under one roof and I'm really glad that Widcombe Grange fitted the bill for you and you had a great time. I really appreciate you sharing your views with others, thank you. Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeandLo...
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will definitely be returning!”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We went to Widcombe Grange with 24 friends and absolutely loved it! The rooms are stunning, the grounds are beautiful, the pool is warm and we danced the night away in the games room!

Most of us also had a go at archery which you can book to do on the grounds and the instructor was fantastic! I felt like Katniss Everdeen by the end!

Everyone had a fantastic time and Peter, who we booked through, was very helpful and gave us a tour on arrival.

We are already talking about when we can book it again next year!
Highly recommend!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2015
We were very pleased a couple of years ago to convert the coach house, it has made an excellent addition for either a games room or a ceremony room; when groups get together it adds so much fun and sometimes quite a bit of competition! I'm glad your archery was a highlight too, we find Mathew the coach is great.
Thank you for taking the time to review us, with best wishes Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A brilliant venue for a family holiday - six years running!”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

In August we took our four sons, their wives, our eight grandchildren (now 7-13 years old) for a week's family holiday at Widcombe. This is the sixth year we have returned for a week's holiday and the heated swimming pool, the croquet lawn, games room and extended grounds never cease to delight. There are two houses and we older people can have early morning quiet in the smaller one. The dining room with its huge table is perfect for the evening dinner get together. The kitchen is well equipped. Two lounges mean you can sit with the kids and watch TV or read the paper in peace. Management is great and always helpful. A truly magical place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Water fights on the lawn next to the pool!
Liked least: Wifi is a bit up and down!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2015
Thank you so much for booking this house for 6 consecutive years! I'm so pleased that you are still enjoying the house, grounds and pool and having fun together with your family. The layout of the accommodation does seem to work well for groups, with spaces for togetherness and places for quiet times.
Dare we hope for a 7th year?? With best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasha_and...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house for family gatherings”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Widcombe Grange for our annual family gathering. We usually struggle to find somewhere that meets all our requirements, but this fit the bill perfectly. The dining room with its huge table and the sitting room with all its sofas acted as the perfect focal points for the weekend. The grounds outside were amazing and gave us another great place to all get together, as well as to just wander round. Finally the managers of the venue could not have done more to make our stay a great one.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2015
It's great to hear that you had such a good time with your family and that you found all the facilities suitable for a big group. Thank you too, for saying you found our team to be helpful, that's wonderful to hear. Fingers crossed you return to us again! With best wishes Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDW79
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a large Family Celebration of all ages!”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

20 of our family celebrated a 60th Birthday (week!) at Widcombe Grange and had a great time. The facilities are very good and the position is extremely convenient for both the North & South coasts of Somerset.
Peter & Beverley of The Big House Company were very helpful and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and the position
Liked least: wi-fi was a bit hit and miss
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2015
I'm so pleased you had a wonderful week and that you enjoyed everything that Widcombe Grange had to offer. Thank you for your kind comments about Beverley who works in our office, she is a treasure isn't she?

I'm sorry you found the wifi to be a bit hit and miss; because of it's very rural location the broadband isn't what we'd like it to be, but we are investigating other suppliers to see if there are improvements to be had.
With best wishes, Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing