We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Third time, still lucky”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful patio area for BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful patio area for BBQ
Peaceful setting sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Beautiful patio area for BBQ
Peaceful setting
sitting area
cosy turf fire for the chilly nights
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Harry Blaney Bridge 3 min from cottage linking Fanad & Rosguille penninsula.
View of Mulroy Bay from cottage
Fishing boats for hire 1 mile from cottage
Spectacular unspoilt and secluded beaches
Adventure one surf school nearby
Fanad lighthouse
Separate sitting room/ games room
3rd bedroom with full size bunk beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Portsalon, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
David M
Kilkeel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Third time, still lucky”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My wife and I made our third visit to the cottage just before Christmas 2015. Needless to say, we loved it yet again. Please see my previous reviews for more details, but know that we both highly recommend this fine spot for a getaway. Thanks again, Kathleen!

Date of stay: December 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cant wish for more”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Cottage is situated in beautiful quiet valley just close to everything you need. When we walked in, we were welcomed with croissants, jam and coffee. Fireplace was on and we felt immediately like at home.
Kathleen is lovely very helpful lady and she knows how to make you feel comfortable.
100% we hope we will have chance to come back.
Recommend to everyone.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catd79
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this for a relaxing break (Babymoon) and it was ideal location for touring Donegal and for some much wanted peace and quiet.
The cottage is well laid out with 3 good sized bedrooms. The turf fire was luxury to come back to after some sightseeing during the day.
Kathleen was onsite to greet us and even had a fire blazing for our arrival. Milk & butter in the fridge, croissants and jam in the cupboard, fresh flowers in the hall and living room sure it was like going to stay with a relative! What more could u ask for?!
Great place to stay for getting out and about but also remote enough to enjoy the peacefulness of the hills of Donegal!
Will return to Tailors Cottage in the future and would recommend to anyone I know planning a trip to Donegal!

Date of stay: May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catflap19...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very welcoming getaway.”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is so cosy and welcoming. Kathleen really thinks of everything to make your stay very comfortable indeed. We loved the wood burning stove which was blazing away on arrival. I'm not sure where she gets the croissants but they were delicious! We will definitely return to Tailors Cottage.

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
Kilkeel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Welcome Return”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is my second review of Tailor's Cottage (please scroll down for my previous one from December 2013 for details). I just want to reiterate how brilliant this little house is for anyone wanting a bit of peace and quiet, a roaring fire, and stunning views of the Donegal countryside. Kathleen is a wonderful and accommodating hostess and will go the extra mile to ensure your stay is great. We're already planning to return later this year.

Can't recommend it highly enough!

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goddessCo...
county down ni
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Peace on Earth”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Tailors cottage is in an idyllic setting, its so tranquil its the perfect place to forget the stresses and strains of life and relax in the beauty that surrounds you. Kathleen really thinks of everything needed to make you feel welcome and at home in this quaint charming cottage. from Croissants and home made jam to fresh flowers you really feel that a lot of thought has been put into planning for your arrival. I travelled with my Husband and Grandson and we all loved our stay here so much that we intend to return ASAP, also a really nice personal touch was the bag of freshly dug spuds left at the front door for us Thanks soooo much Michael & Kathleen c u soon.

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne2520...
Larne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best ever”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage made it feel like home,everything you would need was there.Comfy beds log burning stove and lots of extras left in the fridge by Kathleen(the owner).A basket full of lovely fresh croissants and milk and butter in the fridge.Fresh flowers in the sittingroom and hallway gave such a welcome to the start of our stay.The weather was wonderful,it matched the wonderful cottage and 360degree views.We would recommend Tailors cottage to everyone.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing