We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great weekend at the cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Our House with Ballymastocker Beach behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our House with Ballymastocker Beach behind
Accommodation is comfortable and cosy cottage style Kitchen is well kitted out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Our House with Ballymastocker Beach behind
Accommodation is comfortable and cosy cottage style
Kitchen is well kitted out
Front bedroom with view over Lough Swilly
En-suite bathroom
House is in a gated area - a cluster of 14 holiday homes
Ballymastocker Beach is 2 miles long
Portsalon Golf Club - 18 Championship holes 600 yards from the house
The cluster has safe and secure roads for kids to play on
And there is a grassed area for ball sports within the cluster area
Portsalon beach and harbour (and pub and restaurant) are only 100 yards from the house
Ballymastocker is fine golden sand - no need to get up early to claim your spot
Rock pools keep the kids entertained within sight of home
Equine activities are available nearby
There are miles of quiet picturesque roads for gentle (or vigorous) excercise
Us - on the beach of course
Donegal is steeped in heritage and history
Fanad Head has beautiful drives and attractions
Glenveagh National Park and Castle is a great day trip
Plan of the house
View from cluster wall
Ballymastocker Beach and river
Quiet roads with fantastic views
Portsalon Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portsalon, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jamesmcgi...
Clydebank, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great weekend at the cottage”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for the holiday weekend. This is our fourth time .Thoroughly recommend it. Lovely cottage and handy for the pub ,restaurant, golf club and beach. Hopefully be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: loved the property and location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2015
Thanks James,
Always a pleasure to have you.
We look forward to the next time.
All the best
Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GirlEnnis
Ennis, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely location in Portsalon”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We very much enjoyed our recent stay in Portsalon at 10 The Gardens. The house is well appointed and comfortable. Its star attraction however, is its proximity to the beach - particularly with children on board.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2015
Thanks C,
Very glad you enjoyed it. Was only a pleasure to have you.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
All the best
Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrPics
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal spot for a family break.”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We travelled in February to stay for 4 days. The area was quiet at this time which suited us although it may have benefited our kids to have had company nearby. The house is situated within easy walking distance of the local pub and restaurant as well as the golf club. The beach is also a very short walk away. The house was clean and had all the appliances etc. that you would expect i.e. Washing Machine, dryer, dishwasher, oven, TV and DVD player. The gas stove was out of order which was disappointing but not a major issue as an electrical fire was provided to give a boost to the gas central heating when required. The view from the back upstairs bedroom of Portsalon Beach is simply stunning. Overall this was an excellent, modern holiday home in an excellent location. Portsalon beach is superb and despite the weather we walked the beach everyday and at times had the beach to ourselves. Portsalon is an excellent location for touring North West Donegal with Downings, Carrigart and Dunfanaghy all within easy reach. Atlantic drive is stunning.
This was a great place to stay and we will hopefully be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: It was quiet for our 14 year old
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeresYerM...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We were a group of friends returning to Portsalon after 15 years and without children. We had a fantastic time recalling old memories. No 10 The Garden could not have been better.
Perfect location for everthing, pub, restaurant, beach, golf course and to gaze at the view.
The house was warm, comfortable clean and everything we needed. Thank you.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmjo
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“portsalon”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

found this hidden little gem of a place on internet .went and stayed for a week s holiday this is very close to sarahs resterant and near to the beach .in the cottage you will find all items you need for cooking and cleaning place is ever so clean .and comfi cant wait to go back again and have passed details on to my family and friends scenery is breath taking and fishing not bad to

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace fullness
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeedonFle...
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

If you are thinking of a break in Portsalon, don't pass up on staying at this house.
Everything you will need, warm, clean & comfortable.
The beach is also amazing
Thanks Margaret for all your help and of course the beautiful bread

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place to stay really didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A perfect getaway!!! a beautiful spacious house that has everything you could possibly need in a wonderful location with an amazing beach. My children had a wonderful time and really didn't want to leave. Margaret made us feel really welcome with her delicious home made bread and advice on the local area. We would highly recommend this property and would definitely would like to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the property and its location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing