We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but remote location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park
Caboolture, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great but remote location”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice site, helpful staff.
The amenities are fine; clean with unlimited hot water.
The restaurant had a limited menu of plain food when we were there.
The area is very beautiful, and there's a pub within walking distance.
All static vans except for one row down the bottom.
Free Wi-Fi, only works at the reception/ kiosk area. It's switched off from 8:30pm to 8:00am.
Public transport is a problem; 12 mile walk to the bus stop and only one bus a day to Letterkenny.
We cut our visit short because of the public transport and the Wi-Fi; the owner refunded the unused portion of our pre-payment without objection.

Room Tip: Most accommodation is static caravans/ cabins. You will need your own transport during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdoherty13, Manager at Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for your review. In regards to the wifi being switched off between 8:30 - 8a.m. this is not the case atall. The wifi is available 24/7.
The cafe offers a varied range of foods from full irish breakfasts to salads, paninis, pizzas, take away foods and fresh home baking.
We agree the public transport services are not great in the area and having a car or your own transportation is the best option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
28
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Caravan Park, 5 Star, Very clean wit beautiful beaches and scenery but the owner of the park namely 'Colm' was very unpleasant to my children. He doesn't seem to like noise from children, surely that is what holidays are all about (Letting your hair down and having fun). His wife is a very pleasant lady whom gives you the time of day. Would I back? Yes... If Colm wasn't there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brodie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdoherty13, Manager at Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about our site. It is dissappointing that you think Colm does not like children as he and all of us here have thee utmost time for the children on the park. It is our main objective to ensure that everyone on the site is safe and has an enjoyable stay. Children are only repremanded if they are misbehaving. Hopefully you will return and see that this is the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Donegal, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First time away in a touring caravan 2 adults,9yr old,7yr old and 9mth old.Campsite very well laid out,showers toilets clean well maintained,Site very safe for children on bikes.No noise tolerated after 10.30pm which is great when you have young children.Home baking for sale in shop at 9am very tasty and food in cafe very good.Fantastic beaches Ballymastocker and of course Sarah,s at the pier.We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdoherty13, Manager at Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your really lovely comments about our park. We are constantly striving to improve the park and ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay. We are glad this was your experience and will be delighted to welcome you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Having read Trip advisor reviews about the Campsite, the owner in particular, we were wary about staying there. However, we put doubts aside and headed there. First of all, the scenery was amazing - particularly on the drive from Rathmullan to the campsite. Arriving at Knockalla, we encountered the afore mentioned 'Victor' (as in 'Meldrew'!!!) - ie. the owner. BUT, he was nothing but pleasant and helpful - on first meeting and on other occasions! We had a very enjoyable break up there. Yes, he ran a 'tight ship' but this meant we weren't annoyed by kids playing football etc after 10pm or campers pets leaving their 'calling cards' on the grass etc. I would recommend the site, the area, the beach (claimed by 'The Guardian' to be the world's 2nd most beautiful beach - 1st being the Seychelles!), Sarah's Restaurant and last and not least the owner of Knockalla Camping and Caravan Site!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank sadislice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed there with our caravan for four days this July. We arrived at the site and the two girls in reception could not be more helpful. The pitches are small and not really suitable for larger caravans as our is, one useful item was the water hose on a reel.
The owner is a bit of a pompous Walter Mitty with grand notions like a manor lord, it's a campsite!!
We avoided him and had a good stay, the shop is adequate and priced reasonable. It's got a good playground and wifi which is always welcome.
It is close to a great beach and Portsalon is worth a visit. Don't think we'd stay there again, only if we had to.

Room Tip: Watch out for the water reel and park there. For tents there is a great location with views of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank johnyd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

we were unsure about this campsite after reading the reviews on here but found the campsite excellent. it is located very close to a gorgeous beach and maintained quite well. We stayed for two nights and cant say we had any issues with the aforementioned owner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigtommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antrim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here as a family looking forward 2 fun and relaxation, instead we had the owner constantly being cheeky to our children and after 9 pm ourselves. Must say that the staff are excellent especially when faced with trying 2 placate the owner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mickeymouseAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsalon
7.7 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
384 reviews
8.8 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
270 reviews
11.4 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
459 reviews
8.7 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
389 reviews
2.6 mi away
Portsalon Luxury Camping
Portsalon Luxury Camping
#1 of 4 in Portsalon
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Knockalla Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Magherawarden | Portsalon, Portsalon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Portsalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Portsalon
Also Known As:
Knockalla Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Portsalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing