We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“yet again - excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
Plas Arfon Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plas Arfon Cottage
Plas Arfon Cottage. Rear garden a real sun trap! with BBQ and seaing around the table for those great summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Plas Arfon Cottage
Plas Arfon Cottage.
Rear garden a real sun trap! with BBQ and seaing around the table for those great summer
Beautiful new kitchen with Bosch appliences, built in oven, induction hob, fridge & dishwasher.
Easy access kitchen with hardwood worktops. A real pleasure to cook in.
Breakfast bar from dining area to kitchen
Dining area with sea views
Open plan dining area with new oak furniture, great for family dining & dinner parties.
Sitting room with log burner. Great for those chilly winter evenings.
Sitting room with sofa's and leather chairs, for entertainment a 46' LCD T/V & blue ra
Ground floor bedroom with super king bed & en-suite. Also has great sea views & wall mounted
Ground floor en-suite to double bedroom. Level access, Ideal for the elderly or infirm
Upstairs double bedroom seating area with balcony & sea views
Upstairs double bedroom.
Upstairs double bedroom.
Balcony, off upstairs double bedroom, with sea views to Pufin Island, Anglesey and Great Orme.
Upstairs twin bedroom with garden & mountain views.
Front view over Conwy bay & towards the Great Orme, Llandudno.
Rear garden mountain view. Great for walking with fab views from the top of the hills!
Side view from ground floor bedroom.
The Gladstone cosy seating & log fires.
The Gladstone bar area newly refurbished. Offering a warm welcome with great food & drink.
Our bar/restaurant with rooms next door.
Pop in for a bite to eat, or a drink overlooking the beautiful Conwy bay, Menai Straits & Irish sea.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dwygyfylchi, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janetsot
sot
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yet again - excellent”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

another year on - stayed in Plas Arfon
yet again another super holiday
fantastic views / walks /
railway line not a problem and you cannot hear the main road from the cottage
superb accommodation
excellent food / service at Gladstone next door
thankyou once again Lance and excellent staff

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay again and the food and service at our bar/restaurant next door.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Lance
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat L
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Views”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Plas Arfon and we have just booked again for another week later in the year. The cottage is a lovely place to unwind, with fantastic views from nearly all rooms, which the I must say the pictures on the website do not do it enough justice. Is spacious and well equipped with all the necessities and more besides. The garden is private with lovely mountain views and it was secure for children or pets. We were welcomed by a young gentleman from The Gladstone ( I believe his name was Tom ) who was very friendly and helpful. We did not have a chance to eat at The Gladstone as we had no pet sitter. But judging by the amount of visitors and the aroma which you could smell in the garden, I wish we had eaten there. Although there was plenty of visitors at The Gladstone and the A55 was close we were not disturbed at all. The location of the cottage is ideal for visiting the
many surrounging places of interest and I would definitely give this a five star recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & views
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2015
Thank you for leaving such a positive review and for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Plas Arfon Cottage and the service you received from Tom and the staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards, Lance & family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witshub
Welsh Borders, UK
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Well managed cottage, not the best position.”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This cottage is spacious and well equipped, with fast,free internet, two televisions, plentiful hot water in the showers, two fridges, high-tech induction hob, even a back garden with views to the sheep grazing on the hills behind. What I didn't appreciate when booking, my fault entirely, was that the view to the front is over the carpark, then the road, then the expressway, then the railway line, then the beach. If you sleep in the downstairs bedroom with the window open, the expressway is very audible and if the wind blows your way, extractors from the pub next door deliver cooking smells until they stop serving (which is not very late). The pub itself is not noisy and they serve good plain food. The staff are young, friendly and helpful and the few minor problems we had were quickly fixed. The village of Penmaenmawr, about 5 minutes drive, has a Spar shop which is useful, but the Indian takeaway is best avoided. There is a much better one at Llanfairfechan, a little further up the coast.
The beds are big but with hard mattresses that won't suit everybody. Lighting is fine for dining and watching telly, but not for reading.
If you are going to use the car to get around, it's pretty convenient, but if you like walking, the immediate surroundings won't inspire you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities that the house provides and of the service you received during your stay.
Just to clarify a couple of points, we don't really call it a car park in front of the cottage, there are 8 spaces, 2 of which are for the cottage guests. With regard to the front view, you forgot to mention that there is a very large grazing field in front the road outside the cottage and the A55 main road is half a mile away in the distance. The railway line is even further away. The photos we feel give a fair representation of the position as does the Google map.
With regard to the extractors from the restaurant next door, we have recently renewed the filtration system under our service schedule. Also we have installed full double glazing to the cottage for the comfort of our guests.
The cottage is in an 'Area of outstanding beauty' and is part of the Snowdonia National Park and we have many guests who return to enjoy the walks in the surrounding area.
We would love you to visit us again and enjoy all that North Wales has to offer.
Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica186...
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fab house”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here, house is really well kept and has everything you need, We ate a few nights next door in the Gladstone pub and great food and atmosphere. Great views from house and it was a great base in North Wales. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain F
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious, clean, welcoming cottage with excellent views.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Easy to find, quick access to the A55 and so to other destinations.
Very clean, tidy, roomy. Excellent facilities.
A pleasure having the soaps and shampoos etc just like in a hotel. All towels and supplies provided, didn't need to bring any.
Food in pub great, tho not a lot of veggie choice.
Small corner shop about 5 mins away walking, with a Chinese takeaway next door.
Good walking routes and beach.
Reason we gave 4 stars, was the lack of Wifi, which though available at the Gladstone next door, was not able to be used in the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan downstairs
Liked least: The low beams upstairs
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we really enjoyed having you stay at the cottage.
With regard to the WIFI we have now had this installed at the Cottage and the WIFI is completely free of charge and unlimited for guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for a week and didn't want to go home. Sea views to the front and mountain views to the rear. The staff at the Gladstone were wonderful. Very friendly and extremely polite. The food there is fabulous, one of the best places I've been in North Wales.
The cottage has 2 large double rooms and a good sized twin. Open plan kitchen, good sized lounge/diner. The garden is compact but very nice. This is one of those "must stay" places. Many thanks to all at the Gladstone for making it so memorable. See you again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A great location with a pub next door.
Liked least: Should have booked longer than 1 week
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samanthal...
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“contemporary design with comfort foremost”
Reviewed April 24, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

The house sleeps six and caters for 6 people in great comfort. The views are lovely and there is a fantastic gastro pub next door- but it did not disturb us at all. The pub wasn't open late and didn't attract a rowdy cliental. So all the advantages of a good restaurant on your doorstep and none of the drawbacks. We have stayed twice and will use it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: IT was as I would have designed it with a sea view
Liked least: You can see the A55 but can't hear it and that drawback is outweighed easily with the advantages of this house
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing