We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tir y Coed Country House
Ranked #2 of 5 Rowen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is an exceptionally wonderful place. The décor is amazing, the comfort excellent. The hosts are the best and the food is perfect. Sorry, but we cannot
say enough good things about this place. The scenery around is breathtaking.
We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and well placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yummies60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 233 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

Once again we have stayed at Tir y Coed and once again we have experienced nothing but the best - the hospitality, the friendliness, the attention to detail, not to mention the beautifully appointed lounge and restaurant, the magnificent gardens, superb food with the finest local produce and splendid rooms. Alan and Ian are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble - all you have to do is ask. Please could you arrange for a flower arrangement to be in our room? No problem. Please could I have dauphinois potatoes instead of new potatoes? Of course. Would it be possible to have porridge for breakfast? No trouble at all. Do you have any extra pillows? Certainly. How many would you like? Could you recommend a really special wine to accompany our dinner this evening? Absolutely. We have yet to be disappointed as Alan and Ian have always managed to provide the very best of everything.
Tir y Coed is one of the finest country hotels to be found anywhere, which is why we stay there time and time again. Many thanks for everything Alan and Ian and thanks also to your staff, particularly Damien the chef and Ruth the housekeeper. See you again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GortonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this excellent hotel. The hotel is situated in a tiny village called Rowan which is about 15 mins drive from Betws y Coed down a long gravel driveway. The hotel has been converted from a large (I would say) Victorian residence. We were met at the door by Ian, one of the co-owners. He was so friendly and welcoming and showed us to our room. Our room was very tastefully decorated with all mod cons, a TV, tea and coffee making facilities and water and a king sized bed. The bathroom was spacious with luxurious towels and travel sized toiletries. The curtain are really thick with an additional blind to kill the light. There is WIFI available in the rooms. Our view was to the front of the house, overlooking the driveway, with lots of beautiful trees. it was really quiet and peaceful..just the thing for r and r! They do have a garden walk and outside veranda/balcony with rattan furniture, but as the weather was a little rainy we didn't take advantage of this. Although on a nice day I imaging that it would be wonderfully relaxing to sit and read, or just admire the view!

In the evening we dined in the hotel restaurant. I had the mixed grill and my partner had a dish which contained chorizo sausage, vegetables and chicken. Both dishes were delicious as were the starters and desserts. The three courses were approx £37.00 per head which was excellent value for money as the cookking was to a very high standard. The atmosphere was really pleasant, with Ian, the co-owner making great conversation. We felt totally relaxed. The wine list is extensive and we chose a great red. The bar is well stocked . If you like Gin, then they have about 7 different ones to choose from! There is a lounge area with comfortable sofas just off the dining room and we sat there prior to eating and had pre-dinner drinks. You can sit back there after the meal as well.

The breakfast was delightful. We were met by Ian again, who served all of the guests. There is a help yourself selection of cereal, breads etc. A cooked breakfast is made to order. I had the salmon and scambled eggs.. delish! My partner chose the full English breakfast which I now wish I'd have chosen too, it looked so tasty! Both were cooked to perfection.

I cannot highly recommend this hotel enough. Both Alan and Ian make the place very welcoming. The decor/interiors, I could tell, had been hand picked. The location is great for accessing North Wales attractions. It's not hard to find either! 5 star service..we only wish that we could have stayed longer. A definite return visit will be a must! :)

Room Tip: The whole hotel seems lovely and i can't imagine getting a room that you wouldn't be happy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank netsBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a whirlwind tour of Wales.
Tir y Coed was one of the best choices we made. It has wonderful ambiance and after
touring all day it was so relaxing to stay at this house.
We had an afternoon drink in the village pub and then prepared ourselves for the dinner at Tir y Coed. Another couple, who had a home nearby, also had dinner pre drinks in the lounge. They confirmed our opinion that Ian and Allan are indeed superb hosts. Dinner was superb.
The Rowan room was not available but it may well be the room of choice with the large windows.
Allan suggested that we do a little detour on our route the following day and visit Bodnant House and gardens.
This is a must for anyone who loves to see gardens of fantastic colours. Absolutely awesome!
Thank you Allan and Ian for giving us a special welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at this beautiful Country House with out daughter Stephanie and her husband Nick. Stephanie and Nick arranged the weekend which was into an area last visited by me when I was a on a school trip as a 14 year old. Hosts Ian and Alan made us very welcome at the Country House. The room was immaculate and well furnished with a very comfortable bed. Dinner was outstanding on both nights with an excellent selection on the menu. The wine list was also very good. Breakfast was also excellent. The location of Tir y Coed is ideal for touring the area and is in a very quiet location. A walk to the village for a quick pint and a chat with the locals is recommended. We certainly will return to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeSmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Yes it really is the perfect place to stay. Ian & Alan have created the most elegant, relaxing small country house with the friendliest greeting one could ever hope for. Their attention to detail creates a very amiable atmosphere which ensures a stay here is all anyone could wish for. We had not visited this part of Wales before but as we had a wedding to attend we decided to make a long weekend of it. I'm so glad we did as it meant we had extra time to enjoy the delights of the area. Alan and Ian are the most helpful and genial of hosts who went so far as to write an itinerary for us so we could get a real flavour of the surrounding countryside. The evenings were spent relaxing in the comfortable lounge prior to excellent dinners with locally sourced products cooked to perfection.
Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable and also the lift to the Church!!!!!!
I can assure you we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and stayed at the hotel mid week in mid March, and were the only guests at the time. We were upgraded to the very stylish Rowen suite, which has fabulous views out over the valley.
Alan and Ian were great hosts, managing to be attentive, very efficient and amiable all at the same time.
The diner was first class, served with style and the freshest of ingredients.

All in all, a first class experience, and I am sure we will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuoVadis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
9.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
10.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
774 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
24.6 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tir y Coed Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir y Coed Country House

Address: Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8TP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price Range: $174 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tir y Coed Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tir y Coed is a boutique B&B and the house is a haven of peace and tranquility, ideal for a romantic break or a family get-together. Surrounded by an acre of mature landscaped gardens on the edge of Rowen, one of the Conwy valley's most delightful villages and just within the boundary of the Snowdonia National Park. Most bedrooms have views over the gardens and vary in size and style as would be expected in a period house. Each room has either an en suite bath or shower room a T.V. super-fast broadband (but no mobile signal, as we have mountains everywhere) as well as all the other stuff you'd expect to enable you to make yourself at home. Think fluffy white towels, feather and down duvets, proper coffee and big comfy beds. It is possible to dine in the evening by prior arrangement and we will be happy to discuss food options and preferences with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tir y Coed Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tir y Coed Country House Hotel Rowen
Tir y Coed Country Hotel
Tir y Coed Country House Rowen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing