We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tir y Coed Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tir y Coed Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowen
Certificate of Excellence
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Indulge yourself. We had a quality experience from arrival to departure with comfort and courtesy the norm together with good food served in a calm and pleasant manner. As pensioners we will not be going often but will indulge ourselves on special occasions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
172
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived later than expected on a winters evening to be welcomed by Ian. A lovely glass of wine appeared and we were left to relax. This is a truly wonderful country house hotel: the food is delicious and the surroundings exceptional. We had planned a walking weekend and the weather kept its promise, no rain and on Sunday beautiful sunshine. The breakfasts were perfect, fresh fruit, bread and the most amazing bacon. Dinner on Saturday was perfect. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCamper36953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed again (3rd time) a short time ago, but I haven't had chance to review. The place is just amazing, and the addition of the bar area has really made it even better. Beautiful food, amazing wine and some fantastic shoes on show!

I am one of the most awkward customers the hospitality trade will ever come across, and yet walking back into Tir Y Coed feels like coming home, the only thing missing is being allowed to keep some slippers there, although I think I'd probably be allowed if I asked!!

We're booked again for Valentines next year, and we will, I am certain, continue to go back as long as Ian and Allan will have us, if you want that "extra something" then stay at Tir y Coed, I have never, EVER stayed anywhere that equals it, let alone betters it.

Please, PLEASE do not retire anytime soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Standee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Ian and Allan make you feel really welcome in their "home" as soon as you walk through the front door. We were fortunate to get a complimentary upgrade to a suite which was outstanding. Wonderful large bed, masses of wardrobe space. Well appointed bathroom with bath AND shower. Nothing was too much trouble for the boys. We had a slight problem with the shower temperature, which was fixed while we had dinner. The evening meals were excellent all produced from scratch with beautiful local ingredients. Allan's personal touch whilst serving at both dinner and breakfast added to the experience. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates that "touch of luxury."

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank coolhands2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was the third time we have stayed at this hotel and like the previous occasions it was perfect: beautiful surroundings, comfortable rooms, good food and charming hosts. Tir y Coed is on the edge of the village of Rowen in the Conwy Valley, convenient for all the North Wales sites. It sits in extensive and beautiful, gardens with stunning views of the surrounding hills. The hosts Ian and Ian have done a wonderful job in adapting and decorating the house so the rooms are impeccable. The food is locally sourced and of the highest quality and is obviously gaining a a reputation locally as the diners are no longer just the residents (so booking the evening meal when you book the room is probably advisable)

This has to be our favourite hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bassbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you are looking for true hospitality in a gorgeous country home - this is the place to come! Alan and Ian are the hosts and they are wonderful! From the great welcoming on arrival to the terrific breakfast of mostly local delicious produce, wonderful rooms, great ambiance and decoration throughout the house, not to mention the gorgeous gardens - this place is a gem! Thanks both for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wheretonextandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Can't say anything that hasn't already been said on here - friendly hosts, great breakfast choices, gorgeous & spotless rooms and beautiful surroundings! Will be staying here again and again in the future. :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
3.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 stars 2,070 reviews
18.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen
Craig-y-Dderwen
#4 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#16 of 61 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tir y Coed Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir y Coed Country House

Property: Tir y Coed Country House
Address: Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8TP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tir y Coed Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tir y Coed is a haven of peace and tranquility. Surrounded by an acre of mature landscaped gardens on the edge of Rowen, one of the Conwy valley's most delightful villages and just within the boundarys of the Snowdonia National Park. Most bedrooms have views over the gardens and vary in size and style as would be expected in a period house, Each room has either an en suite bath or shower room, T.V., refreshment tray and clock radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tir y Coed Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tir y Coed Country House Hotel Rowen
Tir y Coed Country Hotel
Tir y Coed Country House Rowen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing