We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwern Borter Country Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Rowen B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay with friends in the Gamekeepers Cottage at the weekend. It was about 45min away from Snowdon which we went there for and between two lovely towns, Including the beautiful Cowry, well worth a visit! The cottage was well equipped, clean and comfortable living space, we really couldn't ask for more, except for the pub to have been within walking distance;)

Great value for money and advice you to contact the hotel directly to book as later rooms was more expensive and the larger cottage was booked even though still available on their website.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
31
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Bank Holiday spur of the moment decision meant we did not have a wide range of choices, but the good reviews for Gwern Borter meant we decided North Wales here we come. The Manor is split into a B&B within the house and outside self catering cottages. From what we saw the Manor House was delightful but sadly the cottages are not of the same standard. They are in much need of TLC. Our shower was the 70's style add on to the bath taps, which is fun to get the temperature right. However, they did not cause us any problems as the hot water was not working. We were told the manager had forgot to turn the boiler on, even though a bank holiday Saturday has got to be one of their busiest days of the year. This also explains why towels are not provided as standard. The manager said they could not cope with all the laundry so they do not offer them. This penny pinching attitude spoils what is potentially a wonderful location.

Please note the helpful suggestions in the guide book in the cottage are very out of date. The children friendly pub at Tal-Y-Cafn has been closed for three years !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sphinx1758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton St Marys
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was a spur of the moment booking - thank goodness we did, our room( number 4) had everything you could need and was spotlessley clean, the whole place was full of charm and we were made very welcome. The breakfast was second to non, can't wait to return ...and we will.
Many thanks - Please do not change the character of your Manor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holntob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Gwern Borter which was the perfect location to visit Llandudno, Conwy and Snowdon. We (three females in mid-20's) stayed in the triple room which was really comfortable and had everything we needed. The grounds are perfect and the Manor House interior was just lovely. There was a great choice for breakfast to suit all tastes and appetites. Staff were friendly but also left you to enjoy the place and wander around the grounds. Free dvd hire was really useful on rainy evenings and there was a great choice. Would deffinately stay here again but were told by owner that it is cheaper to book directly, so will do that next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thornton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Spent a 2 night break at the Gwern Borter CM. Lovely setting in the heart of Rowen.Although the setting is lovely much needs to be done to the Manor in refurbishment and fittings. The shower in the en suite in the did not work properly and the towels were poor quality. The house is of an interesting character but needs lifting into the 21st century. No self service at breakfast was a bit of a shock. No cereals or fruit juices to select from, all done from a menu which does not give one a chance to try and select something different. Manager is a little offhand showing little interest in his guest on arrival. Needs to practice communicating with his guest.Nice location but just misses a 4 star rating

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewisscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
The 4 star rating is by the AA. The shower is fine. The whole point of A Victorian Manor House is that it is not furnished in style of the 21st century. Our furniture and furnishings are Victorian or made in the 21st century to be in keeping with 19th century with a mix of modern pictures, bedding and carpets. Our service at breakfast is everything selected from the menu, no lift the lid, help yourself egg, bacon, sausage etc. Linen napkins, butter and marmalade in china pots, not square plastic portions, there is a good selection of cereals served to you at the table in quality china bowls. If you want modern soul less furniture and furnishings, salt, pepper, ketchup, marmalade in little sachets or cereals in pre packed portions try a Premier Inn. I think we cater for the more discerning guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked at the last minute and were really pleased with our choice. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean and we immediately loved the peace & quiet. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day.

Location is perfect for a relaxing break and escaping the crowds of Llandudno but still close enough to visit with ease (approx 20mins drive).

Would definitely recommend to people wanting a welcoming B&B with a bit of character

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighlandWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Surrounded by stunning countryside Gwern Borter is a lovely country getaway spot.
The sausages are amazing, as is the whole breakfast.
We loved the llamas and goats in the petting area.
The owners were very knowledgeable of the area.
Overall a brilliant stay and I hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa_Steele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
0.6 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
3.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
12.0 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.0 mi away
Groes Inn
Groes Inn
#1 of 1 in Tyn-y-Groes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwern Borter Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwern Borter Country Manor

Property: Gwern Borter Country Manor
Address: Gwern Borter Manor Barker's Lane | Rowen, Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foothills of the Snowdonia mountains in the beautiful Conwy Valley, close to the sea, there is a special place well known for it's peace and tranquillity. A place to relax and unwind or enjoy the many wonderful facilities that are found within the grounds and in the Snowdonia area. Gwern Borter Manor is a 4 star Country Manor House offering B&B the accommodation comprises of 3 double bedrooms including a Victorian 4 Poster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Gwern Borter Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwern Borter Country Manor Rowen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing