We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place very welcoming and relaxing from Martin and Karen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwern Borter Country Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Rowen B&B and Inns
merseyside
1 review
“lovely place very welcoming and relaxing from Martin and Karen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at Gwen Borter Manor for 2 nights and found it to be very peaceful, quiet and relaxing. The owners were extremely helpful and good hosts, We visited 2 restaurants in Conway on their recommendation and could not fault the food. The breakfast was excellent. The grounds were well kept and the animals were great, all very friendly. We will be going back to stay there again and have recommend it to all of our family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
31
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keighley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

we stayed in a cottage which was very well equiped and clean, we had breakfast in the hotel which offered a good choice and was well cooked, family run, very helpful and freindly. It was set in beautiful grounds with a duck pond and other small animals,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topbluegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

When our kids were 6 and 3 we were looking for a holiday destination that we could go to every year so that when the kids grew up they would always remember a specific place for family holidays.

When we first visited Gwern Borter Manor, we realised that this would be the place and have been going every year for 5 years now. The kids have a great time and always want to go back. They love the freedom of the cottage complex and fields, plus feeding the animals. They always make really good friends every year. It gives us chance to relax whilst they are happy playing.

We have stayed in 3 different cottages at Gwern Borter Manor, each have been clean with all the equipment we need.

We are all looking forward to this year’s visit.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at the Gwern Borter Manor recently and had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. The hotel and room decoration is quirky and interesting, perhaps slightly OTT but charming and far better than a bland chain hotel. The owners were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was good too - there was a wide choice including (but not limited to) a fried breakfast. We were also offered fresh mushrooms picked from the hotel garden, which was a really nice touch (and they were delicious).

I really liked the country location - the Manor is set back from the main B road down some winding country lanes - but was easy to find.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahd148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have twice taken guests from foreign parts to stay at Gwern Bortar Manor. We have all been charmed by the decor, the eclectic mix of Victorian and early 20th Century objet d'art....loved the four poster bed and suit of armour....The welcome has always been warm and friendly, the food excellent, the accommodation very comfortable and the atmostphere relaxed. The grounds and surroundings are stunning. If you want to see North Wales, this is a superb place to use as your base.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

My family and I stayed in the cottage ash and we had a realty good time. We found the cottage right up our street with all the things we needed for our stay. Our daughter was able to play in the yard on the bikes.

Room Tip: The animals were fed every morning and the children and everyone was involved and I was able to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursebetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Gwern Borter in the summer and enjoyed it enormously. The house is lovely, beautifully decorated; our room was perfect;the breakfast was plentiful and very good, and the service was second to none. Thank you for making our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
0.6 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
3.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
12.0 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.0 mi away
Groes Inn
Groes Inn
#1 of 1 in Tyn-y-Groes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwern Borter Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwern Borter Country Manor

Property: Gwern Borter Country Manor
Address: Gwern Borter Manor Barker's Lane | Rowen, Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foothills of the Snowdonia mountains in the beautiful Conwy Valley, close to the sea, there is a special place well known for it's peace and tranquillity. A place to relax and unwind or enjoy the many wonderful facilities that are found within the grounds and in the Snowdonia area. Gwern Borter Manor is a 4 star Country Manor House offering B&B the accommodation comprises of 3 double bedrooms including a Victorian 4 Poster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Gwern Borter Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwern Borter Country Manor Rowen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing