We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on Earth”
other travelers have booked this property
Stunning views of the Caribbean Sea, Hurricane Hole and the British Virgin Islands are the focus
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views of the Caribbean Sea, Hurricane Hole and the British Virgin Islands are the focus
Coral Bay Eco-Retreat beckons you to enjoy the Virgin Islands view from your outdoor dining deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Stunning views of the Caribbean Sea, Hurricane Hole and the British Virgin Islands are the focus
Coral Bay Eco-Retreat beckons you to enjoy the Virgin Islands view from your outdoor dining deck
Views over the Caribbean Sea,gazing over the horizon,watching brightly lit cruise ships in the night
It's so peaceful that the Banana Quits land on your hand for their morning sugar
Aerial view of location-yellow pen on left is pointing to it
Pawley Island hammock for two is perfect for favorite island sports: hammock warming and star gazing
The colors of the expansive view change throughout the day
House exterior from south
Exterior showing closest neighbor(white roof on left)
Lower BR deck & banana quits in feeder on tree by bed
You're welcomed by a mermaid
Exterior from east showing part of kitchen
Bamboo etagere' in living room wlecomes you with Caribbean books and hiking trail maps,St. John info
Living room bamboo etagere' holds books, magazines, TV/DVD player (no TV reception/DVD only)
'Jenny', a painting by Nevis artist of a legendary goat woman; CBER was once a home for rescue goats
Living close to nature includes visits from local critters: donkeys, deer, sheep, mongoose
View from open-air master bedroom, private deck, bathroom, massage table area, view of Caribbean Sea
Master Bath includes shower, eco-low-water usage toilet, wicker chest, pedestal sink and open view
Sunrise 'Morning Show' is spectacular, peaceful, beautiful, serence way to start the day
Gheckos abound as bug exterminators, crumb cleaners and computer consultants!
Sunrises and sunsets are spectacular and offer meditation and contemplation and a natural light show
Tropical flowers, indigenous plants abound in aqua ceramic planters
Hermit crabs sometimes join you in the kitchen!
Traffic jam Coral Bay style on the Johnny Horn Trail
Did we mention the fabulous sunrise aka as the Morning Show
Exteror from across the valley-shows 44 steps, driveway
Angels, statues, crystals join the natural settings of rocks and trees to create serenity and peace
Upstairs half-bath is open air and shares an outdoor garden shower
View towards Coral Bay harbor overlooks Bordeaux mountain and often captures rainbows
Mural in massage area created by the first guest to stay in Coral Bay Eco Retreat
The deck is the centerpiece for outdoor living with the hammock, grill and glass-top table
exterior from west-upper deck
The historic and beautiful Emmaus Moravian Church, built in 1700's, is the gatekeeper for JH trail
Map/sign at the Johnny Horn Trailhead; 1.5 miles to Leinster Bay
Challenging part of the road to C B E R- requires four wheel drive vehicle/adventurous spirit
Whimsical metal frog statue adorns the massage are garden
Painting by Bahamian artist of Little Girl in Prayer
Painting by Jamaican artist of Caribbean woman cleaning fish; my father & grandfather were fisherman
House on right:Located adjacent to the VINP, perched on a hillside;nearest neighbor is home to left
massage table area/deck adjacent to lower br
Banana quits are so friendly...a bird in the hand!
Tiny gheckos visit bromeliad in bedroom garden
The sugar birds will call you back!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Coral Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Viktoria1...
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We can’t say enough how much we enjoyed Allison's eco-retreat. The beauty of the surrounding and the welcome feel of the home were incredible.
Every morning you get up with a beautiful sunrise and humming bird with bananaquits hovering around. The location of the tree-house is awesome. The place is located uphill on a winding road, close to the town, but high enough to feel in peace and provide an amazing view of the bays and surrounding hills. The road is hikeable but I would not recommend unless you are really-really determined to get some exercise. I would definitely advise renting 4WD.
We loved that the house was built with preserving environment in mind. The outdoor shower, the rainwater “dishwasher”, the solar powered lights, everything was remarkable and I wish there were more people on this earth that had the same attitude toward the environment as Allison does.
Thank you for everything Allison, you have created an amazing piece of heaven and we cannot wait to come back again!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and eco focus
Liked least: We had to go back home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2013
Dear Viktoria, Thank you for your kind words. It was a total pleasure to have you at the eco retreat and I so appreciate your upbeat comments and appreciative heart! I hope you get lots of hummingbirds at your little recycled feeder! Let me know if you have any visitors. Hope you can come back soon. I'd love to have you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jsand43
Plaquemine, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to get away!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Allison's Coral Bay Eco retreat is an amazing place to visit. Off the grid living is a fun and exciting way to spend your vacation. I highly recommend the Eco retreat to anyone that likes an adventure and is not scared of a little 4-wheel driving. The view from the porch is beautiful, and the sunrises and sunsets are mesmerizing. Allison is a wonderful lady, and a pleasure to do business with. I can't wait for my next trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful view
Liked least: Gets a little warm during bed time
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2013
Dear J & L,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I knew you were the perfect guests for my close-to-nature cottage when L was excited (and not freaked out!) to meet Freddy the Frog and family in the kitchen! I hope your daughter loved the frog pictures and stories. You both are so easy-going and real...and so deserving of a vacay after working so hard for so long. It was a pleasure to have you...and the suggestions you gave me have been implemented, so come on back!!! Soon!
All the best, Allison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewed May 23, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 23, 2013
Thanks D. from Newfoundland. It's a joy to have you thawing out in Coral Bay at my house! I'm glad you liked it so much you didn't want to leave. I look forward to having you back, for more peace and another massage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 12, 2013
Hi Mukti, Always a pleasure to have you as a guest at my eco-cottage. You bring a true appreciation of down-to-Earth sustainable life without frills, as well as awe of the peaceful sunrises over the sea...the Morning Show, St John style! Thanks for bringing your beautiful soul to Coral Bay Eco Retreat. You're always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto Canada
Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in April 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 12, 2013
Hi Jess, As a repeat guest, you always grasp the cottage's retreat-like qualities and take advantage of the opportunity to be alone and reflective for your personal quest. The massage table...and the trees!... await your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fl
Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing