We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goat Curry with a Goat Audience”
Review of Ekaete Pink Corner

Ekaete Pink Corner
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Coral Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Goat Curry with a Goat Audience”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The goat curry and BBQ ribs were suggested by the owner and she did not disappoint. She uses her own sauce on the ribs and it is sweet and delicious. The goat curry was wonderful but on the pricier side. While I was eating my goat curry a herd of goats passed through the parking lot. It is definitely a "local" experience at the corner. The Soursop ice cream was also suggested. It is a unique fruit to the virgin islands and is sweet and tart. It is also on the pricier side but so is all ice cream on the island. Overall a very local experience and one of my favorites.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    46
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Super fun outdoor dining experience and delicious ice cream. Very quaint and homey feeling! Definitely recommend!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great dining”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stumbled upon Pink Corner (Ekaete) toward the end of our visit in February, and found it offered the best dining in St. JOhn. The food is prepared by recipes the owner herself has created, definitely in a Jamaican theme. Great meat and vegetarian dishes (we tried both). The wait staff (her daughter) is charming and efficient. The atmosphere -- outdoors under a nice tent -- is pretty and fun. And they make their own excellent ice cream. Prices are not low, but definitely worth it for the food and much more affordable than other restaurants on the island.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank omaalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect midday meal”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We're frequent visitors to the islands, including SJUSVI. We just returned from a trip there marking our 30th anniversary. On one of our daily outings, we stopped at Ekaete for lunch. We love native island cooking, and this is some of the best to be had anywhere. Best goat curry and conch fritters we've ever had. Ekaete is a family operation; they prepare the food lovingly and you don't mind the wait (a) because it's worth it, (b) because the setting is lovely, tables and chairs are set about under a protective awning but abut upon a sunny little garden, (c) they play great music in the background (they had Mozart going when we were there). If that weren't enough, the woman running the place is just lovely. If I were driving by the Pink Lady, I'd stop to say hello even if I weren't hungry. That said, I can't wait to go back for another great lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margate1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the homemade ice cream”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Try the homemade sour sop ice cream or smoothie - super yummy. I have to stop and get some every time we drive by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ekaete Pink Corner also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Coral Bay, St. John
 

Been to Ekaete Pink Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing