We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Esther aims to please -and succeeds!”
Review of Ekaete Pink Corner

Ekaete Pink Corner
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Coral Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Esther aims to please -and succeeds!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Delicious local foods as well as daily "continental" and vegetarian specials - all fresh and home made, home made ice creams, juices and smoothies made from delicious local tropical fruit, served as if you are family. This place is just too special! Stop and meet Steve the goat, he's adorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mindehankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    46
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, Service”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family of 5 stopped at Ekaete Pink Corner for lunch during a short rainstorm. The place was uncrowded and, while the service was friendly, the lone waitress couldn't seem to keep up with the 3 tables that were occupied; we didn't receive our food for almost 40 minutes after we ordered. The food was adequate, but not particularly flavorful or unusual, compared to other St. John restaurants that we have visited. Nothing we ordered was terrible, but nothing was exceptional either. I assume that we visited on an off day, given the prior reviews of EPC. Our meal was so mediocre that I would not be inclined to stop there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howdypartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Can't believe Number 1”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My curried goat came out so fast that must have been reheated. Barbecue chicken for $15 was 5 wings. Oxtail no longer offered. Nothing bad but food not great. Is this a place that only tourists like me go?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Homemade Food...Like Your Mom!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have a group of 12 students down on St. John exploring the island. We made arrangements to stop at the Pink Corner on one of our first days...and...we keep going back! Ester makes the best homemade food you can imagine. Not only is the food great tasting...but...it is totally locally sourced - some from her backyard! We all enjoyed the West Indian-style food and most especially loved the homemade ice cream (guava, vanilla mango, sour-sop, tamarind, etc.). Ester collects these fruits from her backyard and other local spots to make her ice cream, smoothies, and juices. Make time to stop at this little road-side food stand with large flavor and character!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calderbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop Here”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Esther and her family run this little restaurant that you cannot miss when coming into Coral Bay. It is very family friendly with excellent ice cream and smoothies which our kids enjoyed so if you are looking for an afternoon snack or something after dinner on your way home go here (Esther also whipped me up a nice drink). The West Indian influence is apparent so this is not a fish and chips bar but they are there to please you and Esther and her daughter were very patient with my 3 boys. Esther also has a pet goat named Steve who is adorable and is quickly becoming an Internet sensation. The menu changes daily and we got take-out here twice and ice cream and smoothies here once. The BBQ sauce on her chicken was exceptional. Her rice both nights was also excellent. Her vegetarian meatballs were popular as well. If anything, we should have ordered more. I know she is dedicated to her craft because we ran into her on the ferry to St Thomas on our way home. She was carrying a big cooler bag to gather some of her ingredients for the day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ekaete Pink Corner also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Coral Bay, St. John
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Ekaete Pink Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing