We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic vacation at Satinwood”

Review of Satinwood Villa

Inspiring Views of Coral Bay and the Caribbean Sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inspiring Views of Coral Bay and the Caribbean Sea
Eco-Friendly Living in a Very Private Location Swim or relax with the view on the Pool Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Inspiring Views of Coral Bay and the Caribbean Sea
Eco-Friendly Living in a Very Private Location
Swim or relax with the view on the Pool Deck
Great Room Living Area
Great Room Kitchen and Dining Areas
Fully-Equipped Kitchen
Great Room Dining Area for 8
Dine al fresco on the Pool Deck with a View
Great Room sliders lead to Balcony with sunrise ocean views
One of two identical king bed Master Suites located off Great Room
Ships ladders in each Master Suite lead to Lofts with twin beds
Lofts above each Master Suite feature two twin beds
Each Master Suite has an en suite Bath
Lower Apartment is located down from Pool Deck
Lower Level Apartment Living Area
Lower Level Apartment features King Bed and en suite Bath
View from lower apartment deck
Private Drive Entrance to Stainwood off Majestic Mile in Upper Carolina
Give the right-of-way to neighborhood donkeys
Just minutes from the funky village of Coral Bay
Good Burgers nearby at Skinny Legs!
Get away from it all at Satinwood
Take a morning swim and watch the sunrise
Soak in the ocean views
Short drive to National Park and East End St John Beaches
Shop and dine at Aqua Bistro in nearby CocoLobo Plaza
Good Eats at nearby Shipwreck Landing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Coral Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marlene B
Acton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic vacation at Satinwood”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5
people found this review helpful

If you are reading this , you are probably trying to make a decision about where to stay in St. John. Research no more. You have found the place. Satinwood is just as it is pictured....we wanted a place in Coral Bay, with at least three bedrooms, clean, had a good review on trip adviser and was reasonably priced.We realize that everyone is different with varied expectations , so were were looking for overall trends. Satinwood filled the bill. I was initially scared of the mulching toilets ( remembering back to the outhouses in Girl Scout camp) but it was NOT an issue at all. The views are spectacular. The home is well equipped with everything you would need. We rated it a four because it is a bit tired, but so are we! Many places are more luxurious, but that was not what we were there for. There are two master bedrooms upstairs with 2 lofts ( for kids only). The third master bedroom is a separate apartment in which you have to go out of the house and down some stairs.....great if someone really wants or needs privacy. The downstairs bedroom is its own separate apartment.
Cimmeron was extremely helpful and called us whithin 15 minutes when we ran out of gas for the stove. They offered to come out that evening which was not necessary and had it fixed before 7:00 am the next morning.
Our trip to St. John was glorious. Satinwood's driveway is the least scary one we saw. Many are pretty steep. There are some hairpin curves to get to the house , so a four wheel drive is important. We saw lots of donkeys, pigs, and goats but never saw or heard any neighbors.....so satinwood is quite private. Relaxing by the pool was great. We brought in a lot of food from home and stopped at Cost u less in st. Thomas as groceries on the island
Are very expensive. We had hired Smile taxi in St Thomas to pick the six of us up with luggage and take us to the ferry. Carol was most accommodating and waited while we grocery shopped. It was definitely worth it to bring groceries over .
In St. John We enjoyed a day long sail / snorkel with Cloud 9 in Cruz bay. Captain Dave was quite a sailor and the snorkeling was phenomenal. We had memorable dinners
at Skinny legs and Aqua Bistro. We also had an enjoyable lunch at SOGO in Cruz Bay. Our favorite beaches were water lemon , hawknest, honeymoon and salt beach. We thought trunk was overrated and crowded. Avoid trunk when the cruise people come in.
Snorkeling was magical. We even swam with the turtles. All in all it was a memorable, restful vacation where we enjoyed sitting back and drinking "rum painkillers" in 80 degree weather under a starry sky with the ones you love. Have a wonderful time. You won't regret renting Satinwood. Have a great vacation!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmarshall...
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Stunning views in a beautifully planned out home!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Satinwood sits perched above Coral Bay, and the view is more incredible than the pictures show. There is a huge master bedroom with a loft on opposite ends of a central living area. My mother stayed on one side with the kids in the loft (which they loved) and my husband and I on the other - complete privacy. There are decks outside each bedroom and off of the main living area as well. The pool was good. The location was a bit far from Cruz Bay, but there are places to go out to eat in Coral Bay. Get groceries at Starfish Market before you head out. Also, all the beaches are very close, and from this location, you can explore the more deserted beaches on the island.

The best thing about this place was the service. I've rented houses all over the world and I invariably find they are woefully under stocked. Here, there were plenty of pots and pans, a grill, coolers for the beach, beach chairs, salt and coffee in the cupboards, and a binder with carefully written out with details and recommendations for the whole island. It felt like home the minute we arrived. We also appreciated Cimarron's welcome bag with a bottle of rum in it! Finally, the house is built in a green design and I really appreciated it - I felt good about staying in this wonderfully pristine place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim52911
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely disappointed - strongly advise staying away from this property”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I were scheduled to stay at this property in late June, 2013, with our two-year-old daughter. First, the good. The communication we had through booking and prior to arrival was pleasant, and the owner threw in a pack and play so we wouldn't have to rent one or bring one from home, which was nice. The pool can probably be nice given the right conditions, but truthfully, the place is so surrounded by nature that it will usually be found with leaves, bugs, or other foreign objects in it. It has a good view but not overly impressive (you kind of get used to it driving around) and I don't know if the drive all the way up the mountain and down the treacherous driveway is really worth it. I will say the property seems to have been built with eco-friendly aspects - the composting toilets being the key component.

Alternatively, here are some of the issues we ran into. The property was not ready when we arrived, despite the fact that we arrived after our pre-scheduled time. It took two maids and the property assistant over an hour to get it ready. When we first arrived, I was instantly disappointed / concerned. The owner's description paints a much rosier picture of this property than its true condition. As an example, the description speaks of "comfort" and "luxury," neither of which exist in this property. First, while it is understandable that a lack of air conditioning might not always lead to discomfort, when the breeze is not blowing, which was the case during our brief stay, the normal island humidity is oppressive and this house offers zero relief. Additionally, there were several broken screens, which again, tends to become an issue in rat and bug-infested environments. Also, several appliances and normal household items did not work (stove, toaster, light switches, etc.), none of which the property assistant who greeted us could fix for our stay. We were going to "tough it out", until we woke up on our first morning there. After awakening and rummaging about the bedroom, my wife and I noticed relatively large excrement droppings inside our bedroom on a shelf at chest height. Clearly, a decently sized animal (probably a large tree rat??) had been crawling around during the night as the three of us slept. After seeing that, my wife and I decided it wasn't worth risking our health and safety, so we left and stayed at another lodge on the island. We are very reasonable people who have stayed in a variety of rustic, eco-friendly settings on a number of vacations, but this is the first time we both felt uneasy and generally disgusted with our rental. I called the agency / owner several times but no one ever bothered to return.

I cannot recommend this property in its current condition. It is in general disrepair and unpleasant to occupy, to state it mildly. For those looking for something eco-friendly, and who are willing to live in spartan conditions for their vacation, it may be an option to consider, however, I would think at this price point there are likely better options out there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Found droppings in our bedroom after first night
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2013
When Jim52911 and family arrived at Satinwood he first asked about how to use the air conditioning. Our guest greeter advised that there was not air conditioning at this property as it was an 'eco friendly' home as advertised. During their very short stay, we did not receive any calls to report any of the problems listed in this review. The only contact that we had was one telephone call informing us that they were leaving to stay at the Westin Hotel here on St. John because they found 'animal droppings' in the bedroom. We immediately went to the property to check on the reported condition but found no evidence of any 'animal droppings' in the home. We also had the property exterminator go to the house within hours of the guest departure and he also reported that no animal droppings were found in the home. Additionally, as we do with all guest departures, the property was thoroughly inspected for damages, missing items, functioning amenities, etc. and there were no negative issues reported following their departure. We tried to contact these guests at the Westin on several occasions but did not connect.

As a professional property management company specializing in vacation rentals here on St. John, we urge all of our guests to communicate with us during their stay to report any problems they may encounter. We even go to the extent of calling our guests the day following their arrival to make sure that everything is alright and that the property meets their expectations. Furthermore, we have staff personnel available 24/7 to receive guest service requests and to respond immediately if required or requested.

We feel that we were not given a fair opportunity to address these guests concerns before they left the home. In all cases where a guest has legitimate issues or concerns related to their rental property we will do all things necessary to resolve the problem - even to the extent of moving them to a different, more suitable property if available. It is unfortunate that we were not given the opportunity to address the concerns of Jim52911 at the time of their visit as I am sure that we could have resolved their concerns at that time and made their vacation everything they had hoped for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MI
Reviewed February 23, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing