We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good clean home. More to offer than staying in a...”

Review of Villa Jumbie

View of Coral Harbor from pool deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Coral Harbor from pool deck
Colorful Villa Jumbie - perched on the Hillside in Coral Bay Overlooking the village of Coral Bay and Coral Harbor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
View of Coral Harbor from pool deck
Colorful Villa Jumbie - perched on the Hillside in Coral Bay
Overlooking the village of Coral Bay and Coral Harbor
Great Room air conditioned living, dining, and kitchen areas
Great Room Living Area
Entertainment Center in Great Room Living Area
Great Room Gourmet Kitchen and Breakfast Bar
Great Room Dining Area
Sliding Doors lead from Great Room to pool deck and covered veranda
Pool deck overlooking Coral Harbor
Pool deck features gas BBQ and half bath
Comfortable seating on full length covered veranda
View Coral Harbor from covered veranda
Main level Queen Suite
Main level Queen Suite sliders to covered veranda
Spiral staircase to upper level Queen Suite
Upper level Queen Suite with sliding doors to private balcony
View from upper level Queen Suite private balcony
Upper and lower level Baths feature tiled walk-in showers
Stairway from private parking area
Stairway to villa entrance
Villa Jumbie Entrance
Sunbathe by day and star gaze by night on the pool deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coral Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OrlandoTr...
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good clean home. More to offer than staying in a hotel.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We never rented a house before, so this was a first experience for my wife and I. In any event, the house is what you see in the pictures. Clean, modern, nice pool, excellent kitchen, and good air conditioning. There are some comments on its location on a hill, so I will say this: Our ordinary front wheel small rental car had not problem going up or down the hills to this place or any other place on St. John. A 4 wheel drive vehicle is not necessary. This house has lots of extra toys (snorkeling, flotation, coolers, etc.), nice TV and movies with dish TV, and everything for the kitchen. One thing it does not have: window coverings. Lots of sun comes into every room in the house. Overall, we enjoyed this place very much. It has a large and beautiful deck that is furnished, and the house is fairly secluded for privacy. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a/c, kitchen, pool.
Liked least: The "dude" who took us to the property from the management company.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin IL
Reviewed May 7, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mnfun2bme...
Minneapolis, M
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location - awesome place!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
7
people found this review helpful

Villa Jumbie was awesome. I find that when I read these reviews, I always wish there were more details included about how the property is physically set up and the ease of drive in getting to the place so I want to focus on that. We stayed there January 2013.

With a turn across from the fire station in Coral Bay, you head up SeaGrape Hill. The drive is paved the whole way up and although the property doesn’t sit very high, you have to take several switchbacks up and some back down in order to reach the property. Because the drive is paved, it’s much easier to access than many driveways in the area. We had no hesitation going out at night with a return in the dark. We visited friends while we were there at their villa and their drive seemed treacherous compared to our paved experience- they would never return to their house after dark. With that said, when you get to the villa, you have about 1 ½ flights of stairs down to get to the house (parking is up above the house.) The stairs were in great shape as the house is still new. There’s a hose at the bottom of the steps so you can rinse things (feet/shoes) before going in the house. This is a great feature for your daily return from the beach.

The house is exactly as you can see from video/pictures but of course the usual all-encompassing beauty is far better than you see in a picture.

The location is nice but if you want pure wilderness, this place may not be for you. In the evenings we could hear the music from the nearby bar… which we loved, but some may not like it. It was always an eclectic mix of music – a variety of genre throughout the week. Again, we really enjoyed sitting out on the deck each night, having a drink and listening to the music right from the house!

The light in the house is incredible. The sunshine hits the house a good portion of the day. When we were there in January, we could not see the sunrise over the water, it was coming up behind the hill to the left of the house but it didn’t make it any less magical as the light rolled over the hills to the right.

Another magical moment was sitting on the deck on Sunday morning and listening to the people at the Moravian Church not far away. The singing was so spiritual and made for a beautiful Sunday morning.

Now, for the house, it was EVERYTHING you could possibly need and want. I wouldn’t hesitate to rent again and would recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, villa was so clean!
Liked least: The stairs from the parking area down to the house, I had a depth perception issue because they were all the same color and inconsistent.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Reviewed April 17, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
Reviewed February 10, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing