We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem in the Virgin Islands”
The award-winning view from Drake\'s View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The award-winning view from Drake\'s View
View of Coral Bay from front deck The entrance to Drake's View complete with lush tropical landscaping
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The award-winning view from Drake\'s View
View of Coral Bay from front deck
The entrance to Drake's View complete with lush tropical landscaping
The view from the pool & spa area looking out on Coral Bay and Tortola
Wrap-Around Bar in Great Room with Vista
The spacious kitchen: ample counterspace, Corian countertops, & breakfast area
The great room with doors to the covered porch and view of the British Virgins
One of the dining areas overlooking the East End and the BVI\'s
Mango Bedroom: TempurPedic queen bed, private bath, daybed, & incredible view
Unique hand-tiled wrap-around showers in each bathroom
Turquoise Bedroom: TempurPedic King Bed (or converts to two twins), private bath, & beautiful view
There are similar private baths for each of the four bedrooms
White Bedroom: TempurPedic Queen bed, private bath, private patio, & incredible view
Private Terrace off White Bedroom
The Private Cottage
The Private Cottage Bedroom: Queen Bed, Private Patio, Private Bath, & vista
Breathtaking view from front deck
The grilling area next to the entrance and overlooking spa area
Full Vista from Drake\'s View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Coral Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rangetim
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the Virgin Islands”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Where do I start... Drake's View is everything you read in the description.. and then some. The home is immaculate! We could not find a scratched tile in the whole house!! From the Tempur-Pedic beds, to the walk-in custom tile showers... this is a hidden gem!!! We are Westin time share owners... and this home rivals our recent vacations at several Westin properties... need I say more. The location is central to both Cruz Bay and Coral Bay, as well as all the north shore beaches. The views of Sir Francis Drake channel and the BVIs are breathtaking!!! We had two families stay for a week... we were more than comfortable with a large inviting kitchen and 7 different custom tile patios to relax and take in the views! The private gated entrance and property managers Fernando & Dorothy made us feel safe and welcome! From internet service, to large washer/dryer... you'll have everything you need for a family or group!! If your looking for a special getaway to the USVI & BVIs... look no further!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
We appreciate our guests and strive to make their stay at Drake's View as enjoyable as possible. Thank you for your great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patty G
Charlottesville, VA
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“This Villa will EXCEED your Expectations!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Wow, is all I’ve got to say. My husband and I brought 3 other couples to St. John for a week to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Drakes View was the perfect villa for our group of 4 couples to enjoy for a week. Everyone had their own room with a king bed and private bath. This villa has the best view of Coral Bay on the island. We enjoyed hanging out together on the main level with its many balconies and views. The breeze at night is so lovely that you don’t need to run the A/C. The kitchen is fully stocked and our private chef did not have to bring anything but food when he cooked a dinner for 10. Drakes View is located on the highest point on the island. You are half way between Cruz Bay and Coral Bay and traveling to the North Shore is easy. The hot tub was super powerful and the pool was the perfect size to float on a mat and relax the day away. The owners have plenty of books about the island. This villa is perfect for a group or large family. Owners were super easy to work with and Mark, the gentleman who greeted us, was super kind and helpful. The driveway accommodated all 3 of our 4 door Jeeps so no one had to park outside the gate won't have to walk to the villa. My husband and I stayed in the private villa just behind the main house. It was perfect and only had 6 steps. Each room is stocked with soap, bath towels, and 2 beach towels. The beds are super comfy. Thank you for a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: No bath tub, just showers.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickGus
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicest Villa in 16 Trips”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our 8 day stay at Drake's View was flawless and started with timely responses from Dorothy who, with Fernando, manages this property. Our family, ages 7 to 60something, found the beautiful view as described, and the property well maintained. The kitchen was equipped with everything we could need. It was nice to have air conditioning in the bedrooms, but did not use it much because of the great breezes. The beds were very comfortable. The usual beach accessories were in good condition- no broken or rusty beach chairs. We enjoyed using the pool and hot tub at the end of each day.
We appreciated the gated driveway that was easy to navigate. The central location was quiet and private. Fernando met us at the villa, and I really enjoyed talking with him about St. John and Italy. We never needed to call on Fernando during our stay, but felt confident he would respond promptly if needed. Beautiful property with great management. Two thumbs up for Drake's View.
Rick/Susan Gustafson

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tafela
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of a Kind!”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is by no means your typical rental house!! It was our fourth time renting Drake's View and as always, we were not disappointed! In fact, it just keeps getting better. The view is absolutely spectacular and honestly, we forget how beautiful it is until we walk through the front door and look out the many windows and french doors, and it truly takes our breath away. The view is like no other and is visible from every part of the house as well when sitting in the hot tub or swimming in the pool. Each morning of our trip starts with coffee (or a diet coke for some!) on the porch looking out to Virgin Gorda and there is nothing more relaxing.

The house is most comfortable and works for groups small and big, old and young. Each bedroom with its own bathroom provides privacy and such comfortable beds and surroundings. The living areas are beautifully decorated with furnishings like you would find in your own home and the art throughout the house is so unique. There is nothing more relaxing then to start the day with the amazing views, spend the day at one of the many beaches, and return to Drakes View for swimming, hot tubbing and an easy dinner in the lovely villa.

The property grounds and the gardens are unbelievable and they certainly show that a lot of work has gone into making them truly a tropical paradise. They have grown so much since the first time we stayed at Drakes View and honestly, it is really hard to leave the house some days because sitting by the pool, reading a book on the porch or taking a nap on the hammock perfectly placed among the beautiful trees and flowers is already a vacation within itself!

St. John is a special place to us with its many wonderful beaches, snorkeling, fabulous restaurants and the island life and atmosphere that make it such fun. However, we also know from having rented another place one of the five times that we have come to St. John that one of the MAIN reasons that we want to always come back is because of Drakes View. It truly provides us the ability to escape the hectic everyday life we lead at home, leave the office behind, and truly rejuvenate. It is perfect for traveling with family or friends, but it is always hard to leave. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us - you have helped to make it another memorable trip!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bostontra...
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Even better than it looks!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We loved Drake's View Villa! Our flights were running late and we were worried we may not be able to get our car. Fernando talked to the car rental company to make sure they'd hang around a little extra as we were running close to closing time. He was very helpful getting us up to the villa and answering questions.

The villa is gorgeous. It is very well maintained and the views are spectacular. We used all 4 bedrooms and appreciated that they were all truly master bedrooms,each with big bed, attached bath, a/c and lovely walk out porches. The pool had great sun from 8am-4pm every day. We ended up there every day after our trips to the beaches. The kitchen had everything we could need, actually multiples of everything we could need. The owners really did think of everything.

The location had a lovely breeze coming through which was nice as the temperatures hit 90 while we were there. It was short drive to all the North Shore beaches and a quick 10 minute hop down to Coral Bay. We highly recommend Drake's View and hope to stay there again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed Drake's View and the island. We appreciate your comments and hope you return to explore the island and relax at Drake's View. It is so nice when guests appreciate our efforts.

Ellen and Edward
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Reviewed December 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charlottesville Va
Reviewed December 1, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing