We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch!!!”
Review of The Tourist Trap - CLOSED

The Tourist Trap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Mansfield, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a group of 7 friends and family. The owner greeted us with a Great Smile and she is so delightful. My daughter and I split the Pulled Pork Nachos. They were divine and enough for two. A few other guys got the Beef Tacos, very good too. A Lobster PoBoy which was very good. We did not order the Pulled Pork Sandwich but the table next to us did order the sandwich and it looked heavenly. They are famous for the Drink- Boom-Boom named after a waitress- we all decided to order a Boom-Boom- needless to say we order another one to go....We went on a Saturday and wanted to go back the next day for Lunch-but they are closed on Sun-Mon. I highly recommend this place for Lunch... You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank no n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    120
    41
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, Ct
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not #1”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The four of us liked it the first time in 2012. But the second time....yesterday....left us disappointed. The Drink Right Drive Left specialty drink was mediocre at best. Wondered if it had much alcohol in it. Had a DRDL drink 5 minutes down the road that was awesome. The food was so, so. The hot dog was not nearly as good as it was billed. The T-3 was tasty, but 2 of them would have made a nice sized lunch. An appropriately named eatery.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Our annual trip and the food, (lots of) drinks, Mary and Larry NEVER disappoint. Everything's good, but anything with s”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our annual trip and the food, (lots of) drinks, Mary and Larry NEVER disappoint. Everything's good, but anything with some pulled pork--dogs, nachos, tacos--is even better.

One of the highlights of our STJ stays every year.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STJSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun place with great drinks!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

After spending a terrific afternoon at Little Lameshur, my family stopped for dinner at The Tourist Trap. What a fun atmosphere and incredibly friendly staff; I felt as though I were at a friend's house, having a casual dinner in their backyard! The pork nachos and lobster roll were quite good and their frozen drinks even better. It was a nice end to a terrific St. John day!

Helpful?
Thank FromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Easy to miss, but keep looking!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We decided to make the drive to Tourist Trap for lunch since our other food experiences in coral bay [Skinny Legs and Shipwrecks] were not so good. Finding it from coral bay is a little tricky but as soon as you see the Cafe Condordia sign on your left, stop and park because you are there. It is easy to miss heading to salt pond, but easy to find on the way back.
I had the the lobster roll for $20 and it was delicious with tons of fresh lobster meat and a buttery roll. My wife had the pulled pork nachos and it was great. We ordered their Boom Boom drink and it was fantastic and it was like a bushwacker only MUCH better. Overall for the experience and value this place was one of the best meals we had on StJ and if they had not been closed on sunday and monday we would of returned before we left.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hillbilly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tourist Trap also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Coral Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Coral Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing