We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Coral Bay and perhaps St. John”
Review of Aqua Bistro

Aqua Bistro
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Coral Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
'Nnati
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best in Coral Bay and perhaps St. John”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Spent Easter week in Coral Bay and had dinner here three nights. Stayed with the fish, seafood and casear salad most nights. Each time is was very good. Prices are average for the island and the portions large enough to share. This is a GO TO to restaurant. Just spray your legs and ankles with bug spray and you will be fine. My wife got ate up here we think with bites.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bearcatrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    267
    83
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere...”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

After a morning of hiking and swimming, we were in need of a good solid lunch and were disappointed to realize that Miss Lucy's was closed on Mondays. We turned around and headed back, and thought we'd stop at the Cocoloba shops and see if we could pick up a sandwich from the market. Even better - we found the shady, cool, bar gazebo with the beautiful view of Coral Bay. My husband really liked his jerk chicken sandwich - too spicy for me, but he said it was perfect for him. I loved the tomato crab bisque - creamy and delicious with big chunks of crab meat. The crab stuffed Portobello was a bit disappointing - the whole thing was a bit bland, even with the aioli. The atmosphere was the best, though - friendly service, nice breeze, and fantastic music playing in the background, not too loud to enjoy your lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet_Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food great prices”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Aqua bistro is a great place to eat lunch or dinner. Their grouper sandwich for lunch is amazing. As is the grilled chicken sandwich with chipotle aioli. For dinner I always do the fresh fish which comes with Risotto and I love the fish piccata style. I also love the Friday night ahi tuna dinner. Of course you can't go wrong with the pesto seafood pasta. Portions are extremely generous while pricing is very fair. There's not many places on the island you can actually get full without paying a ton for it. I also like the ambience the fact that it's across the street from the water and doesn't feel like you're eating at a beach bar.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akahannahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Bar and an Okay Restaurant”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The bar at Aqua Bistro is fantastic and full of locals. The bar is located across the street from Coral Bay with seating for the restaurant scattered in the open air plaza behind. Spend a few hours at the bar if you can, chatting with the locals, taking in the sea breeze. The food is okay. Try the grouper sandwich if you can and hamburgers are not bad. They have a great list of cocktails and if you go this direction be sure to try the Painkiller. Service is a bit slow, but that's not unusual on St. John and gives your more time to appreciate the sun, cool breeze off of Coral Bay, and a cocktail.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GravityFails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, decent service.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Good food, decent service. Comfortable but busy ambiance. The outdoor bar out front is popular with locals and tourists. Will go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MojoVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Bistro also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Aqua Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing