We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compliments to the chef!!”
Review of Aqua Bistro

Aqua Bistro
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Coral Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Compliments to the chef!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We walked down the hill to Coccola from our rental house and saw the sign for Aqua Bistro. There is an outdoor bar out in front of Lily's store where their sign is; we were looking for a quiet wind-down dinner after our travel day and passed it up once because the folks at the bar were loud and partying. After looking at the other possibilities we decided to walk in on chance and found the little open dining area in a garden setting behind the bar and a small kitchen in the back. We were seated and began to get that relaxed island feeling. A couple of drinks, then ordered the fresh catch swordfish jerked with mango salsa and mushroom risotto; wife had chicken pita with fresh salad instead of fries. Kudos to the staff and the chef for excellent attentive care and cuisine. The salad was fresh and crisp as was the grilled chicken in the pita but the swordfish was perfectly cooked with the mango in the salsa balancing the jerk spice. Topped off with a slice of Lime-in-the-Coconut cheesecake and coffee, life was good. Spoke to the chef with compliments on the way out. Prices aren't cheap and I'm not wealthy but do yourself a favor and don't miss if you come to St. John - you get your money's worth. I'll be back again before we leave!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gdeason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    267
    83
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John
Level Contributor
1 review
“Don't miss Aqua Bistro while in St John!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Living in St John, I have to confess that Aqua Bistro sees us more than any other restaurant... And as rental villas managers we're always happy to recommend it to guests who want a great dining experience while here. Getting seated to ponzu tuna night on Fridays can be a challenge as this has become a very popular island event but all other days are fabulous as well, try the macadamia-encrusted grouper for instance. Aqua Bistro will be one of the highlights of your stay!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank O K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesano, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, nothing spectacular.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great food, but inconsistent. Appetizer mussels were great. Crab stuff portobello was ok - highly suspect it was frozen and not fresh crab meat. My pre-teen boys ordered a Rib eye steak for $36.00. It was absolutely charred! For $36.00 steak, I would expect it better. Mahi was excellent. Most of the appetizers are priced approx $10-15. Entress $20-40. Pretty limited dessert choices. Wine selection wasn't bad with all reasonably priced bottles ( mostly all under $50.00). We had a very pleasant, mostly attentive waitress. All in all, I guess it's good for St. John standards.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayak40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, bad mood”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I must say that the food was really good (fresh red snapper) Had a lovely atmosphere, wind blowing in from the bay. But the waitress was in a piss poor mood. Made a great evening into a poor evening. Drove from Cruz bay to get poor service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WishIwasgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive from Cruz Bay”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Amazing Ambiance, Staff, and Food. This is a top 5 restaurant and you will not be disappointed!!! I accidentally left my Credit Card behind and when we went back the next day they had set it aside for us. Very trustworthy folks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJShake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Bistro also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Aqua Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing