We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Bistro

Aqua Bistro
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Coral Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I both enjoy good mahi. Here we both had magi sandwiches, one jerked and one grilled which were up to par! We also enjoyed my first crab cake! The sauce it came with was delicious!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    257
    80
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch time visits”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had lunch at Aqua Bistro twice while passing through Coral Bay. Nice place to eat, good atmosphere. First time - Chicken fingers and fries for the children, fried grouper and grilled mahi sandwiches for mom and dad. All were good, although the chicken fingers were cooked using fish batter, which our children are not used to. Sandwiches were good. I opted to replace the regular dressing on the mahi with the chipotle. Kicked it up a notch. Second visit - We were looking forward to the flatbread pizza and it was not available as they were using the oven for prime rib. That was a big disappointment, especially for our children, who opted for the chicken fingers again in lieu of anything else they would consider appetizing. All in all it was good, but would have been happier the second time around with the pizza.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank crazyKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mind Blowing Good”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I ate here during a storm, and the staff didn't skip a beat! The food was off the charts, especially the buffalo wings (which was a surprise). Get the banana bushwhack if you like frozen drinks!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JBu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
217 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Maybe we caught it on a bad night?”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I visited this restaurant based on the trip advisor reviews as well as other recommendations during our visit to St. John. We showed up on a Sunday night, there seemed to be very little action due to it being off season. We quickly found a table and commented on how nice the outdoor restaurant was. Beautiful plants, nice surroundings, etc.

We were impressed by the menu and found ourselves having to decide because everything looked so good! Drinks were ordered, they were delicious. I had the rum punch, my wife had the lime in da coconut. We noticed that our table was the only one that didn't have a lit candle in the hurricane vase...we asked the hostess if she would light it for us and she quickly replied, "it won't stay lit because it's windy". My wife and I kind of looked at each other thinking, well, maybe try? If we didn't have a candle it wasn't going to kill us. Moments later, the hostess came by and lit our candle...maybe she felt bad? On to dinner.

We started out with conch fritters. They were as tasty as any other conch fritters I have ever had. Entrees were next. My wife ordered the down island grouper with mango salsa, mushroom risotto and plantains...I ordered the Parmesan crusted grouper with LOBSTER risotto. Both dishes came with asparagus.

When the plates came to our table, our jaws dropped! They were the biggest pieces of fish we had ever seen at a restaurant! Heck, we got our money's worth tonight!!! Then we started to eat it.

Both were fried, which we weren't expecting. Both had asparagus, which was canned, I'm sure of. Mine was missing the LOBSTER risotto- it had the same mushroom risotto that my wife had and both were just so-so. Not bad, not great- we were kinda disappointed. Maybe we were just thinking of something else, who knows. It was a shame to butcher such a nice piece of fish!

Any who, our server was great, her name was Christy...very charismatic, friendly, on top of things. Our mediocre meal wasn't her fault, she was tipped nicely.

I'm just thinking that we caught this place on the wrong night...we might try it again before we leave.

Ps- the candle stayed lit throughout our dinner....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SHESAIDYES09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service for a good price!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stopped in to have dinner one night with some friends staying in Coral Bay. The service was fantastic and the food was even better. For being a sit down resturant on the island the price was also very resonable. The location is a little far from Cruz Bay but worth the drive for a change of pace. I would visit again next time for sure!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cschneider04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Bistro also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Aqua Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing