We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best casa on our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular
Ranked #4 of 18 Playa Giron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Out of the 4 casa's that we stayed in during our trip to cuba this was definately my favorite. The room was fine and was certainly clean with a rather pinappley smell thanks to the fridge! But obviously that isn't what made is special it was probably becasue it was a proper family home and we felt welcomed in to it complete with a party on the first night.

Playa Giron is small and options for eating out exist but are limited - we decided to eat at the casa on the first night and had the most amazing fish, so good we decided to eat in the second evening. This was the best food that we had in cuba for both breakfasts and evening meals, with very generous portions.

i'm still slighly confused by the set up as Yvette and Ronel appeared to live next door but they would pop in and were very friendly and helpful as was the wonderful Lydia who rustled up the lovely meals.

The highlight of my trip was my first dive which we organised with Ronel, he is the most reassuring dive instructor and took me on an underwater adventure not to be missed.

this place was amazing if i could score higher than 5 I would!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Ivette and Ronel and their staff are the perfect hosts! So welcoming, they treat you like family. The food was exceptional, highly recommend having dinner at the casa (fresh lobster and prawns!), and the included breakfasts are above and beyond. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean, with a fridge in the room included. There is a huge verandah to relax on after a day of diving or snorkeling and Ronel will even offer you a cigar after dinner!
Also highly recommend scuba diving with Ronel. I am a complete beginner and was quite nervous, but Ronel was an exceptional teacher and really looked after me and made me relaxed. The diving is great, so much to see and very clear visibility.
Could not recommend this casa and a trip to playa Giron enough! Thanks again for having us :-)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sally_M_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed overnight between Vinales and Trinidad and had a great stay. There is a lot of laughter in this house, which is full of life. The food was excellent. they called on our way there to ask our driver what we wanted for lunch. Good rooms with airco, which was needed because of humidity, good showers and fridges in the room. Evening meal and breakfast equally good.

In the afternoon we did a trip by horse and cart to the local forest, with Amory first to visit a bat cave (no bat man however), and subsequently a walk to a small swimming pool. Calm water, beautiful temperature and great hight 8 metre jump appealed to my son.

The following morning we went snorkeling with one of Ronal's team. Again great water temperature and walk into the coral from the shore.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Eurofolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed with Ivette & Ronel for 3 days in Feb 2014. Marvellous hosts, super clean house, and lots of laughter. They both speak good English, are very knowledgeable and prepared to discuss openly. We would certainly stay with them again. Don't bother with the local hotels. We returned to the area to fish for bonefish, stayed in one of the Government hotels & regretted it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footloose111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed in Playa Giron for only one night on our drive to Trinidad. The place is very easy to be found being the first house of the town/village. Well kept garden, clean, nice parking spot. The room was extremely hot and A/C produced more noise than cold. The room was designed for two people but actually had 4 beds so it was very crowded, TV working and OK. If there is anything to point out than it is the cook who was extremely nice and helpful and prepared the best breakfast and dinner when travelling round Cuba, definitely a good plkace to stay, would look for another one if had to stay for more days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milan_czech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I spent 2 nights in this casa particular in Play Giron with my family (my husband and our son) in February 2014. It was great accomodation in Cuba during our 2weeks travelling. Our room and bathroom were very clean. Private bathroom was adjacent to our room . Casa is in very quiet location. The best option to visit the beach or the museum is by bicycle (included in the room rate). The food was excellent (all breakfasts and dinners)! Yvette, Ronel and all people in their house are very friendly. They can give you a lot of information about Cuba, Playa Giron and surroundings, etc. I definitely recommend you to stay at this casa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PepaLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

A great choice of accommodation in this interesting little village. The welcome and care from all the family was great. There is little choice of places to eat in Playa Giron but there is no need to go elsewhere as every meal we had was excellent and even more fun if you like to join in with the family . Ivette ensured that our pre arranged itinerary ran smoothly which is an achievement in Cuba.
Everyone who happens to be passing is made welcome so never a dull moment and you are sure to meet lots of local people!
Excellent nature walk with local guide close to the village is a experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: Larger room has its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Giron
209.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
1,992 reviews
45.6 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#2 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Luis
Hostal Luis
#2 of 18 in Playa Giron
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.2 mi away
Hotel Pelicano
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 6 in Cayo Largo
2,892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Particular Mario Garcia Rodriguez Mayito
0.4 mi away
Hostal El Castillito
Hostal El Castillito
#3 of 18 in Playa Giron
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular

Address: 1st House of Playa Giron, on left side after "Welcome to Playa Giron" sign, Playa Giron 44510, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Playa Giron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Giron
Price Range: $52 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House with 5 bedrooms and prices: bedroom 25.00 CUC per night + breakfast: 4.00 CUC per person (buffet). Big house with garden in front, big porch, terrace and lateral yard with tree of fruits and backyard with a mini zoo. From the porch you can see serveral kind of birds. In the mini zoo there are: crocodil, freshwater turtles and tree rat. The price of bedroom is 25.00 CUC per day and are included safe box, bicycles, set to do snorkeling, cold case, compass, prismatics, umbrellas, set of sewing, informative magazine about diving, Playa Giron and Cuba and maps of Cuba. The house has Internet and included betwen others services. The owners are relativetly joung persons (43 and 47 years olds)and have very experience in the touristic activitie. Ronel, one of the owners of the house is Diving Instructor and he is certified to give diving course of all levels, even to prepare Divers Instructors. Close to the house you can do many activities: go to relax to the beach, snorkeling, diving, traking, birds watching, fishing, visit to the museums 50 Aniversary, Comandancia de las FAR and Giron, visit to crocodiles farm, ride in motor boat around the Treasure Lagoon until the Indian Village in Guama, ride in motor boat for the Hatiguanico river, ride in catamaran around the Bay of Pig, play billiard and go to de Discotec at night if you likes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing