We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and great hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular
Ranked #4 of 18 Playa Giron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a great stay with Ivette and Ronel during our visit to Playa Giron. Ivette and Ronel have a beautiful house with excellent facilities for their guests. Ivette is an excellent cook and looks after her guests really well. During the daytime we went diving with Ronel who is the lead instructor at the international diving centre in Playa Giron. It is clear he knows the area well, is very experienced and puts safety as a priority during all of his dives. All in all I couldn't have asked for anything better during our stay here - great clean house, lots of space and great hosts. 10/10!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shailyn_1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette Ronel P, Gerente at Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias Shai! Muy bonitos tus comentarios sobre la casa y sobre nosotros. Sabes que te queremos como familia y esperamos que regreses para compartir juntos otra vez, bucear y seguir practicando tu español.
Te queremos mucho,
Ivette y Ronel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 190 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a great place to stay. A casa particular is our equivalent of a bed and breakfast - they have two rooms for rent and one is en suite and the other has the bathroom just adjacent to the bedroom. Their casa is the first one you come to on the road from Playa Larga and is on the edge of the village of Playa Giron. Ronnel is a first class diving instructor and works at the dive centre - there is diving every day and courses from novice to instructor level are easily and professionally organised. Not only was the breakfast excellent, but the dinner was superb - beautiful local roasted pork with a cuban FLAN to follow - the best I have ever tasted. I know how hard it is to find things in cuba - so if you want to get in touch, Ronnel and Ivette's web site address is www.playagironcasa.com and their email is lidi@infomed.sld.ca -

As you can see this lodging in Play Giron comes highly recommended and as for the diving - well go and see for yourself - it is unspoiled and completely clear turquoise water

Room Tip: they have two rooms - the one at the back is the en suite room - so this is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette Ronel P, Gerente at Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hi Bob & Judy! Is beatiful your review about our casa and us. We miss you a lot. We are waiting to Peter.
Love Ivette & Ronel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a great time staying at Ronel's. We visited Playa Giron because we wanted to dive and so this was the perfect place to stay as Ronel was a perfect guide under water. We enjoyed the freedom of having bicycles to use as well as the tasty & beautifully presented meals. In future Ronel will also have his own diving business so it will be even better to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavey_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette Ronel P, Gerente at Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hello my friend. Thank you for the review about our casa. Was a great plasure for us to meeting you and sharing with you. Comeback soon.
Best regards,
Ivette & Ronel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The best time we had in Cuba was our time at Playa Giron with Ivette and Ronel and all the others of the casa. They have been so nice and lovely, anticipated our every wish and greeted us with open arms. The rooms are really nice and clean, you can sit on the veranda in front of the house on great rocking chairs and enjoy your time having a beer from the fridge or go diving with Ronel, a really great diving teacher. They also have 2 bikes you can use and the nature around is amazing, Ivette knows nice guys who can show you everything and every animal there (never seen so many animals in such a short time, they know every detail about the nature there!!). And they are amazing cooks! We had a lot of good meals in Cuba, but never like at this place!!!
I only can remmend you this Casa, one of the most lovely places in Cuba.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette Ronel P, Gerente at Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013
Google Translation

Hola Teresa y Estefan!!! Nosotros los recordamos con mucho cariño y hablamos a cada rato de ustedes. En realidad los sentimos como parte de la familia. Gracias por tan bonito comentario sobre la casa y nosotros. Vuelvan pronto.
Los queremos mucho,
Ivette & Ronel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We did not have the best of starts in Play Giron (nothing to do with Ronell or Ivette)as when we drove to the Casa we thought was booked for us our room had been let to someone else! Typical of Cuba (things do not always go to plan) though, our agent had managed to get us into Ronell House and we were looked after so well that it worked out for the best. Ronell came to the other Casa and rode his bike to his house at the end of the strip. He gave us a very refreshing welcome drink and we instantly relaxed! The house has a large garden with lovely birds, including a humming bird nest, and his wife Yvette was lovely and very interesting (as was Ronell).

We nipped to the beach for an hour or so and snorkelled and Ronell provided us with beach towels, another nice touch which had not been expected.

The swordfish dinner with rice, fruit, veg etc we had at the Casa was delicious and the 3 staff, Umberto, his wife and another lovely lady had cooked and presented it so well. Breakfast the next day was great too.

The house was really clean and the bathroom was a lovely surprise with blue tiled deep bath, as with many places the shower pressure left a bit to be desired but this is Cuba! The bathroom was just for our use and is next to the room we had so there is a little less privacy than in a hotel but everyone was very friendly and professional.

I would return to this Casa if I was in Playa Giron again and wished we had stayed 2 nights rather than the 1 we had.

There are some minor cons but it is reflected in the price, the air con was effective but noisy and you could hear traffic passing (but there are not too many cars). These do not matter when you are staying with such kind and genuine Cuban people. We were even given lovely Mangos when we left as we had enjoyed them so much (the fruit in the Casa was a higher standard and tastier than in our 4|5 star all inclusive hotel in Cayo Coco).

There are some scammers in Cuba, as with anywhere in the world, but the majority of people we met in Havana, Playa Giron and Trinidad were highly educated, interesting and kind. Cuba can be a frustrating place at times re communication systems but Vive La Difference and enjoy! The rewards are there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob+Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette Ronel P, Gerente at Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013
Google Translation

Hola Bob y Diana! Nosotros los recordamos mucho y aún conservamos la nota que nos dejaron. Gracias por haber estado en nuestra casa y por tan bonitos comentarios sobre la casa y nosotros. Esperamos que puedan volver. Ya tenemos lista la última habitación con baño privado y sin ningún ruido.
Con cariño y los mejores deseos,
Ivette & Ronel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A very relaxing place to stay, with bee hummingbirds (world's smallest bird) flitting about the patio. We shared a room with 2 double beds between us (2 adults, 2 young children) and didn't feel too crowded since we had our own nearly-en-suite bathroom, and could sit outside or in the lounge. Best place we stayed in Cuba.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette Ronel P, Gerente at Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hi family! Thanks for your review about our casa and us. Was a pleasure that you had stayed here with us and we hope you return soon and we will receive you like you deserve.
Best regards,
Ivette & Ronel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Staying at Ronels y Yvettes casa was really great! The welcome was friendly and we soon felt comfortable there. The room is cosy, spacious, has a fridge full of non alcoholic drinks and beer. It also has a closet and aircon.
The bathroom also is spacious and there are amenities for your use.
And the best is the nice veranda to sit, in rocking chairs and having a night cap.
What is really great is that they have bikes included as well as snorkelling equipment. And they also have bici-taxis waiting for you at arrival & departure, for free.
Ronel is a diving instructor and responsible for the diving centre in Giron. So he can organise dives to great sides around Giron. Recommended!!! Was a really great experience, also for snorkelling.
As ronel knows a lot of people in town, he also can organise excursions, f. eg. to the nearby national park with Leo (great!).
Breakfast and dinner always was more than enough and delicious. You just choose what you would like to eat and Yvettes prepares it!
They are a young couple, speaking English as well and are very friendly .
We had a lot of privacy, but could also have a conversation if we wanted. They fulfilled all wishes and are really generous.
Muchas gracias por todo!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franzi1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette Ronel P, Gerente at Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013
Google Translation

Hola! Qué bonito comentario sobre nuestra casa, nosotros y Playa Girón. Gracias. Nos encantaría que volvieran y así poder compartir juntos nuevas experiencias. Cuando vengan notarán que hay muchos cambios en la casa, todos para mejor y nosotros seguimos siendo los mismos.
Con mucho cariño los saludan,
Ivette y Ronel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Giron
209.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
1,992 reviews
45.6 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#2 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4,494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Luis
Hostal Luis
#2 of 18 in Playa Giron
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.2 mi away
Hotel Pelicano
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 6 in Cayo Largo
2,893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Particular Mario Garcia Rodriguez Mayito
0.4 mi away
Hostal El Castillito
Hostal El Castillito
#3 of 18 in Playa Giron
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular

Address: 1st House of Playa Giron, on left side after "Welcome to Playa Giron" sign, Playa Giron 44510, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Playa Giron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Giron
Price Range: $52 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House with 5 bedrooms and prices: bedroom 25.00 CUC per night + breakfast: 4.00 CUC per person (buffet). Big house with garden in front, big porch, terrace and lateral yard with tree of fruits and backyard with a mini zoo. From the porch you can see serveral kind of birds. In the mini zoo there are: crocodil, freshwater turtles and tree rat. The price of bedroom is 25.00 CUC per day and are included safe box, bicycles, set to do snorkeling, cold case, compass, prismatics, umbrellas, set of sewing, informative magazine about diving, Playa Giron and Cuba and maps of Cuba. The house has Internet and included betwen others services. The owners are relativetly joung persons (43 and 47 years olds)and have very experience in the touristic activitie. Ronel, one of the owners of the house is Diving Instructor and he is certified to give diving course of all levels, even to prepare Divers Instructors. Close to the house you can do many activities: go to relax to the beach, snorkeling, diving, traking, birds watching, fishing, visit to the museums 50 Aniversary, Comandancia de las FAR and Giron, visit to crocodiles farm, ride in motor boat around the Treasure Lagoon until the Indian Village in Guama, ride in motor boat for the Hatiguanico river, ride in catamaran around the Bay of Pig, play billiard and go to de Discotec at night if you likes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing