We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Playa Larga
Nearby Hotels
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$205
$170
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$174
$156
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Laura(Playa Larga)(Great Value!)
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Casa Dussac(Playa Larga)
$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
Hotel Guama(Playa Larga)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Punta La Cueva(Cienfuegos)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
4
18
59
38
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
18
59
38
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roombeds were comfortableunitsaccommodationsforestswamp
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 165 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel's location by the beach compensated for the bleak holiday camp look. Sadly the pool was shut with warning signs around and hardly anyone around when we arrived mid afternoon. However, the bedroom was quite large and everything worked, although it was 'tired' and needed refreshing, especially the bathroom and particularly the grout. The shower area was huge which was fortunate as I shared my shower with a small frog. How it got in the room was a mystery but another room had a frog visitor too so I suspect they were not uncommon. The food was OK and tha staff pleasant and helpful. All in all, this hotel was adequate for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHEWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hotel complex is organised in a series of bungalows around the main building. It's dated appearance unfortunately extends to the hotel reception, dining room, shops and bars as well as the bungalows themselves. Overall the hotel is clean and sufficiently provided for, the beach is sandy and the water clear, but the restaurant (dining room) is something to forget. The staff are welcoming and friendly but the food they provide is institutional in style and containing almost none of the magical Cuban flavors that could so easly be added. When it comes to style of presentation, anyone who has travelled in the old Soviet Union will recognise it immeditally...... Unless your stuck for somewhere to eat, avoid eating here unless bland food in boring buildings are your forte.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main building as the evening entertainment on the beach can sometimes be noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fredbloggs110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We unfortunately stayed here over new year's eve. We were forced to pay about 20 cuc per person for a new year's dinner/buffet. We had to pay it although we wanted to eat at a casa particulares. As i am vegetarian we asked before, whether there would be anything for me, which they said there would be. When we arrived, i only got half a small plate of salad! That was it. in that price they didn't even want to include drinks! We more or less payed for the staff, their families and friends which were partying there.
The room itself wasn't any better. You feel like staying in a bunker. We found blood on our sheets, it smelled like they smoked all year round in there and we either had no water or only cold one. Breakfast was a joke. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. All in all we tried to get the hell out of there as soon as possible!
The surroundings are really nice. Especially for diving and snorkeling. But the mosquitos are quite aggressive ;o)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ausseertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

This hotel is basic but perfectly clean and adequate. Hot water, air conditioning and electricity were fine. The staff were kind, efficient and very helpful. Breakfasts were fine as was the fresh fish at lunchtime. The swimming in the sea was wonderful. You can get a first class meal at Casa Silvia-Homero, Entronque, Playa Larga, Tel:- 0145-98-7558. Generous helpings of delicious fresh fish.
It is an excellent base for bird watchers, divers and fishermen. Mario Morejon is a brilliant, painstaking, enthusiatic bird guide. His mobile no is 52 75 35 89. Highlights were seeing Cuban Pygmy Owl, Cuban Screech Owl, Stygian Owl, both types of hummingbird, Fernandina's Flicker and Zapata Wren.
In such an interesting environment you get out of a stay what you put in by way of effort in pusuing your interest. Not a place for people who want to be pampered.
David & Mary, nr Guildford, Surrey

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ab0yne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Stayed here so we could go birdwatching. Only here for 2 nights ad although it is fine as it is clean etc, the food in the hotel was terrible and the rooms extremely basic. The beach was alright but the hotel has a br which decided to play music to the benefit of the 3 people working at the bar at full volume meaning any chance of relaxing on the beach was ruined. Ate in a paladar second day to avoid the hotel restaurant which served bad food and the service could not cope with the large tour groups.

The hotel is very popular with Russian tour groups and cycle tour groups from what I could tell.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroTravellerLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews