We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing less than excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Mayito

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Larga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Mayito
Ranked #4 of 25 Playa Larga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing less than excellent!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The 3 day stay at Casa Mayito in early January was the highlight of our Cuba trip. Every aspect was just excellent and I agree with all previous very favourable reviews. So really no need to read further just book the Casa, you will not regret it.

Still uncertain? We a family of four stayed in the two roof top rooms. The rooms were very comfortable, tasteful and clean. They were well equipped including a good AC, a well-filled fridge, attached bathroom with hot shower. Internet is available but do not expect broad band speed. Just outside the rooms was the partly shaded roof top terrace with a splendid view over the bay. Think sunset. The safe sandy beach was within a couple of minutes walk. The water was clean and a bit less salty than ordinary seawater due to the nearby streams. The bay is famous for its coral reefs and for the drop off on snorkling distance from the beach. I strongly recommend a snorkling tour with Mayito who will take you a short distance by taxi and guide you to reef and drop off. He is very good snorkling guide, knows much about the creatures living I the sea and he checks so even beginners in snorkling have a very comfortable tour. A highlight of the tour was a light lunch prepared on the beach of whatever catch he could get whilst snorkling. Lovely! In addition Mayito arranged a tour to the nearby nature reserve that required a government official guide and helps from a pleasant taxi owner (thanks Ernesto!). We took a short walk in the reserve before ending up snorkling in a fresh water cave in company of turtles and fishes. Trip not to be missed.

Many has written about the excellent food. It is all true! Mayito and wife grows some of the ingredients for cooking in their backyard garden and both are very good chiefs, lots of different and good food. Our request for vegetarian foods was received with appreciating comments “so fun to cook something new”. (don’t worry, all was very good!). if you do not manage to get their rooms, do not miss to go their for dinners

Mayito and his family are warm and genuinely friendly and pleasant to deal with. Thanks for everything! We hope to come back another time!
Lotta and family from Sweden

Room Tip: any of the two roof tops are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    34
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
49
151
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Mayito's casa particular is an excellent place to stay in Playa Larga.

The house is kept very clean and it has recently been renovated. There are 3 guest rooms: one on the ground floor and 2 up on the second floor. Mayito's wife makes fantastic food for breakfast and dinner - we particularly liked the seafood, lobsters and fish.

Make sure to ask for Mayito's snorkelling trip ($15 per person)! You may see how to find and catch an octopus, how to prepare and cook it. The hunt takes place at a secret location on the way to Playa Giron.

Overall, Casa Mayito was the highlight of our trip to Cuba and we strongly recommend it.

FB: http://www.facebook.com/mayito.playalarga

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei_ordine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I didn't stay in the room here, but I stopped here for a late lunch with a group of about 16 people. We dined on the rooftop which has a pleasant view of other rooftops and the beach and water in the distance. The food was very plentiful and delicious. The variety of foods was awesome. They served us a total of about 15 different meats, seafood (including lobster), vegetables, and side dishes. The service was efficient and friendly. This is one of the best dining experiences I've ever had!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiela-Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights but I wish we stayed for much longer. It was the best casa in terms of hospitality, food, location, and rooms. Mayito is a man with many skills: amazing cook, excellent fisherman, great travel guide, and most importantly super friendly and honest. He has your best interest in mind which is the nicest thing when you are travelling in a new place. Before I came to Cuba, I heard the food was not so good, definitely NOT the case here! We had fresh seafood everyday and an assortment of local dishes that were all fresh and grown from his garden. We will definitely come back and bring our friends with us next time. Thank you for a great experience in Cuba!

ps> beds were super comfy, quiet rooms, and clean!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squashy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have been travelling around the island and spent few days in Playa Larga. Together with the amazing wild life and sea we really enjoyed our time at Mayito's house. He and all the "staff" (wife, little girl, friends,etc....) were absolutely friendly from the first moment we met and helped us to arrange our itineraries with real care (the sendero della Cuevas was just great). The rooms of the house are one of the best we experienced during our trip in Cuba and the food (meat and fish) fresh and well prepared (sorry for asking boring arros y frioles as side all the time....). We loved our time in Playa Larga and we want to thank Mayito and his wife for their help. Ciao Mayto muchas gracias por todos, Emanuele y Natasha

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMuolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed only one night at Mario's place but we really enjoyed it. The house is very nice, with a roof terrace, very close to the beach. We arrived late in the afternoon without having a proper lunch, Mario cooked for us really good sandwiches and brought them to us directly on the beach with delicious homemade cocktails....
I do not even know how to describe the dinner, there was so may things and everything was so good, I would go back to Cuba only for this! Same story with the breakfast!
We also wanted to walk in the park and to have a scuba diving session, Mario called someone he knew and we could do everything with the same guy who was very helpful (Daniel).
Our regret is that we stayed only one night in Playa Larga, but in a nutshell, we really enjoyed it! Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bebech1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hello Mayito,
We stayed in this casa for three nights with four persons (Tijmen, Miranda, Michel and Brenda). We had a great time here. The food was excellent! The two rooms are big enough and there is a fantastic terrace on the first floor. We also had a workshop how to make a Mojito.
Greetings from Holland

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirandaNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Larga
60.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,147 reviews
62.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,217 reviews
63.9 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,179 reviews
63.3 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
61.9 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mayito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mayito

Property: Hostal Mayito
Address: Playa Larga; Caleton | Ciénaga de Zapata, Playa Larga 0000, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Playa Larga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Larga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Mayito is a modern style house located very close to the beach, in Playa Larga: one of the most beautiful places in the south of Cuba.The house rents two rooms for travelers, in the second floor with independent entrance and terrace with a lovely sea view. Both rooms have a private bathroom with cold and hot water, TV, fridge, air conditioning, fan and a double bed. Another bed can be added if needed. The owners of the house offer delicious meals at any time, laundry service, dance lessons, Internet access and all the information necessary about different places to visit in the Zapata Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing