We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only the best casa in playa larga, it's the best one in Cuba!!!”
Review of Hostal Mayito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Mayito
Ranked #4 of 26 Playa Larga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights but I wish we stayed for much longer. It was the best casa in terms of hospitality, food, location, and rooms. Mayito is a man with many skills: amazing cook, excellent fisherman, great travel guide, and most importantly super friendly and honest. He has your best interest in mind which is the nicest thing when you are travelling in a new place. Before I came to Cuba, I heard the food was not so good, definitely NOT the case here! We had fresh seafood everyday and an assortment of local dishes that were all fresh and grown from his garden. We will definitely come back and bring our friends with us next time. Thank you for a great experience in Cuba!

ps> beds were super comfy, quiet rooms, and clean!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squashy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 268 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have been travelling around the island and spent few days in Playa Larga. Together with the amazing wild life and sea we really enjoyed our time at Mayito's house. He and all the "staff" (wife, little girl, friends,etc....) were absolutely friendly from the first moment we met and helped us to arrange our itineraries with real care (the sendero della Cuevas was just great). The rooms of the house are one of the best we experienced during our trip in Cuba and the food (meat and fish) fresh and well prepared (sorry for asking boring arros y frioles as side all the time....). We loved our time in Playa Larga and we want to thank Mayito and his wife for their help. Ciao Mayto muchas gracias por todos, Emanuele y Natasha

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrMuolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed only one night at Mario's place but we really enjoyed it. The house is very nice, with a roof terrace, very close to the beach. We arrived late in the afternoon without having a proper lunch, Mario cooked for us really good sandwiches and brought them to us directly on the beach with delicious homemade cocktails....
I do not even know how to describe the dinner, there was so may things and everything was so good, I would go back to Cuba only for this! Same story with the breakfast!
We also wanted to walk in the park and to have a scuba diving session, Mario called someone he knew and we could do everything with the same guy who was very helpful (Daniel).
Our regret is that we stayed only one night in Playa Larga, but in a nutshell, we really enjoyed it! Thanks again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bebech1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hello Mayito,
We stayed in this casa for three nights with four persons (Tijmen, Miranda, Michel and Brenda). We had a great time here. The food was excellent! The two rooms are big enough and there is a fantastic terrace on the first floor. We also had a workshop how to make a Mojito.
Greetings from Holland

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MirandaNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights in November. Mayito is an amazing host who served up some of the best breakfasts and dinners that we had in Cuba. The house is lovely, with the second floor given over to two guest rooms.
This casa is in the main street of town, just 100 metres from the beautiful local beach – there are other casas that are right on the beach, but I think the food at Mayito makes up for it (plus the fact that the little beach bugs come out at sunset and it’s good to have somewhere to retreat to!). All in all an outstanding stay.

Room Tip: Get the room with the view out to the sea if you can
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have been to Cuba twice and have stayed a quite a few casa particulares and Hostal Mayito is by far the best one. Great hospitality and amazing food. Extremely highly recommended. We had seven of us staying there and had wonderful service and they cleaned our rooms daily. Everything was very clean and nicely decorated. The food was varied and very good and the fresh fish doesn't get any fresher! Tons of food so bring your appetites. Great snorkeling and diving in the area. And the park is a must do for seeing birds and it is just down the street from the casa. When I got sick (from food at another place) they treated me so well and brought me soup and a doctor and got medicine for me, all the while not charging anything for these services. They truly want to make your holiday the best it can be. They are genuinely happy and love what they do.

Room Tip: Both rooms are nice. the south room has a view of the sea and the north room has incredible sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were on our honeymoon and traveling through cuba. So Playa Larga was on our route. We stopped at a casa that was in our guide book, but since there was no room left anymore the owner brought us to Casa Mayito! And that turned out to be a really beautiful place with a very nice owner and family. The food there was very good (we had breakfast and dinner), too. All was very fresh and tasty!
Unfortunatelly, we had a rainy day in Playa Larga and we decided to travel on. There the family was very helpful, too. They recommended us places to see on our way (for snorkeling) and places to stay in other cities along our route. These casas were also very nice and great recommendations!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuKhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Larga
0 mi away
Casa Costa Azul
Casa Costa Azul
#1 of 14 in Playa Larga
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ca' del Sol Cuba
Ca' del Sol Cuba
#7 of 14 in Playa Larga
25 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Yaime & Manolito
Casa Yaime & Manolito
#15 of 26 in Playa Larga
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.3 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#2 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4,511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Plata Tropical
Villa Plata Tropical
#19 of 26 in Playa Larga
21 reviews
18.7 mi away
Casa Particular Mario Garcia Rodriguez Mayito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mayito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mayito

Address: Batey Caleton | Ciénaga de Zapata, Playa Larga 0000, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Playa Larga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Larga
Price Range: $53 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Mayito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Mayito is a modern style house located very close to the beach, in Playa Larga: one of the most beautiful places in the south of Cuba.The house rents two rooms for travelers, in the second floor with independent entrance and terrace with a lovely sea view. Both rooms have a private bathroom with cold and hot water, TV, fridge, air conditioning, fan and a double bed. Another bed can be added if needed. The owners of the house offer delicious meals at any time, laundry service, dance lessons, Internet access and all the information necessary about different places to visit in the Zapata Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Mayito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing