We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real jewel, still hidden!!, especial for divers and nature lovers”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinar del Rio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Cabo San Antonio
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pinar del Rio
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you are a nature & diver lover, Villa Cabo San Antonio is the place for you. Although is located at 370 km from Havana, in the northwest part of Cuba, at the very, very end of Guanahacabibes Peninsula in Pinar del Rio is worth the trip. The last 60 km are through lush vegetation and pure nature. And then you will be welcome by a wonderful, friendly staff that will made you feel at home
The Villa has 16 cottages made of wood, but with the comfort of a 3 or a 4 star Cuban Hotel, rooms with private bathrooms, air conditioning, safe deposit box (extra cost), telephone service, mini bar, Satellite television, cool and hot water (the water can be really hot so please be careful to let the tap closed on the cool water side)
And about.
The diving center is well equipped and it is at about 4 km from the reception of Villa Cabo San Antonio, there you can find a snack bar, a shop and a medical post.
They have 27 diving places. For accompanying persons (like myself) they offer excursions to visit places on the area and the spectacular beach where you can really relax and forget all the stress. I do really recommend it!!.
But please if you are looking for other type of entertainment this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: All are well equipped, but paying and extra you can have a partial sea view, since the majority are...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HHunting1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Cabo San Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 82 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

The villas are clean and comfortable, the location is brilliant and there's a deserted white sand beach for at least a mile in either direction. No hotels, no holiday villas, in fact no buildings of any sort.

When we were there the dive boat had broken down, the dive shop at the marina was shut up and reception had no idea when either would be available. There are also walks in the nature reserve advertised at reception. But, be prepared for an 80km round trip (in your car) if you want to take one.

If you want peace and quiet on a remote tropical beach this place is unbeatable. But if you're looking to go diving, birdwatching or nature trekking you probably want to head for Maria la Gorda instead.

Room Tip: For the extra few dollars it's worth taking a villa facing the sea.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diver_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

After a long and bumpy journey and managing to get pass check point charlie, reservation, passports required, the father of the taxi driver was not allowed in as in the guards words "there is no reason for him to pass" so he had to wait over two hours for his son to return to pick him up (it is about 60kms from the check point). We encountered 5 iguanas on the road which was amazing and a few crabs on their journey to the sea. you arrive to another barrier and a hotel worker checking entry, The cabins are great very spacious and the beds are massive about 7ft, we had a cabin next to the restaurant, which was a tad noisy because of the air con units, but we had a ocean view so not grumbling. The staff were great and very friendly, restaurant needs to be a bit larger and painting, but the food was good although a bit pricey, this I suppose is due to the location! felt like we were on a remote island. There were scooters and a couple of bike, but there were not for hire just for show I think (excuse was the man who runs the business was not around, but a previous TripAdvisor reviewer in November also mentioned this,it was a great shame because it would have been great to explore a bit, so we did a lot of walking, to the Marina, and lighthouse, and along the 6km beach, and encountered lots of wildlife, but you had to pick the times right as there was not a lot of shade. I was well armed with insect repellant, apart from Deet (I took natural repellants) nothing worked, but having said that I could have been bitten alive if I had not sprayed, extremely small biting insects called flying teeth were the worst. The wild pigs and their babies were very amusing, cows wandering around the beach, it was all amazing. The sea beautiful and very clean beach, lots of shells to look for. We had a sunset trip on the hotels catamaran - we were the only passengers, and two great crew - who went out of their way to make it special - thanks guys.

Room Tip: Ocean views the best you could be bitten alive if your balcony faced the forest area
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjtilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a Fenomenal and beautifull place a must visit place, is far from the city but must see, the food in the restaurant is ok, not great but ok, need repelent for the mosquitos, very nice white sand and clear water,

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mmduny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Don't go here expecting night life and excitement. But do go to experience secluded beaches, livestock wandering the grounds, quiet atmosphere and relaxation. The accommodations are large, clean, have comfortable beds and hot water. Our cabin had a balcony from which we could see the Ocean. Food in the restaurant was good.
We walked the beach and enjoyed swimming in the Ocean. we also walked the 3.3 km to the Marina early in the morning. Beware the the bugs are hungry at that time of day and bug spray doesn't seem to bother them.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cousinkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Of course you need a car. This hotel is in the end of the world!. That´s the best part of the story. The closest inhabited "village" is more than 100 kms. away and all the road that takes you there is surrounded by jungle. Warning 1: It takes long to get there and you will see very very few other cars in your trip. How is still possible to find places like this in the 21st century? How long are they going to last in this virgin state? Not much, I´m afraid. You can really feel isolated there. You have a 6 kms. tropical beach just four yourself in front of your cabin. Not much else to do, that´s true. But perfect for a couple of days of total relax.
Warning 2: Make the reservation in advance or most probably they (police) won´t let you enter the National Park Road (the last 60 kms. drive) and you could be forced to drive two hours back to civilization.
The rooms (cabins) are really well equiped. Almost Luxury finish. Very good broad bed (in our case). But the rest of the facilities are average. Food was repetitive (all around Cuba, by the way) and I would say scarce (but we were unlucky to share restaurant with a group of 16 Russians who ate and drunk it all before our eyes!!!). Maybe this is the weakest point of the hotel.
Warning 3: there is also a small ship-base 4 kilometers from the hotel where you can do scuba diving, sunset trips, etc... The crew is nice but they will try and try to sell you any kind of activity for a reasonable price. The prices are reasonable indeed, the activities are not really professional. You choose.
As a whole: an original, lovely and unforgettable experience. If you have the time and also the guts to travel there.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms near the restaurant. There could be some noise. Not to many double-beds.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Our Canadian-style cabins with interlocking rooms were beautiful, large and clean with a good view across into the trees which led onto the beach. We were pretty much the only guests around, so we had the beach to ourselves.
We turned up here in a cab expecting to be able to hire bikes and motos to get around as the location in the depth of a nature reserve is pretty remote. Unfortunately, the man who 'owned' the bikes and the scooters was not around. This was a major inconvenience: it meant we couldn't get out at night to see the turtles laying their eggs, had to walk in the heat to the marina to book our dives and only got a quick look at the beach on iguanas in the cab on the way back. Equally, without a car, there is only one place to eat: the hotel restaurant and while we were there their food stocks were a bit low!
But, if you want to get off piste into the wild it is a fabulous location. Wild pigs wander with their babies, birds and butterflies abound, the sea is beautiful and, if you're into diving, the dives are meant to be among the best: there's a large wall which you can go down. My son saw a sleeping shark and a whole host of other less common fish, and the four of us got a whole swish catamaran to ourselves

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mersault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinar del Rio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maria La Gorda
Hotel Maria La Gorda
#8 of 14 in Pinar del Rio Province
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
0.0 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cabo San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cabo San Antonio

Address: Guanahacabibes Peninsula, Pinar del Rio 20100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Pinar del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pinar del Rio
Price Range: $77 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Cabo San Antonio 3*
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing