We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote beach cabins in nature reserve at western tip of Cuba”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinar del Rio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Cabo San Antonio
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pinar del Rio
Reviewed February 16, 2008

Extremely remote beach accommodation at the western tip of Cuba. Amazingly detached from the rest of the world. Long Carribean beach. Well sized cabins with all you need. Perfect if you do not want the 'all-inclusive' style of beach holiday that seems to be taking over Cuba (eg. Veradero). Only things you can do are sunbake, swim and read.

Make sure you get the hotel transfer to and from Havana to Maria La Gorda, then the connecting hotel bus out to Villa Cabo San Antonio. They could not offer us a transfer from Havana, so we were forced to catch the Viazul bus to Pinar del Rio (12CUC), then a taxi (old Lada rustbucket!) for 3 hours to Cabo San Antonio (90CUC!!!!!) An adventurous ride! We may have been ripped off here, I heard others were offered 60CUC for the same taxi ride.

PROS:
- Remote location, far from everywhere! Absolutely relaxed and peaceful environment.
- Well sized villa's, with all mod cons.
- Staff all lovely and helpful.

CONS:
- Killer SANDFLIES! Got >100 bites after my first session at the beach. Take industrial strength protectant, and DO NOT lie directly on the sand. Use the beach chairs, which still does not guarantee you won't get attacked! A BIG problem.
- Poor insulation between each side of cabin means you hear everything in the adjoining room in your cabin.
- Limited restaurant menu gets boring after ~4 days.


Why weren't the villas and restaurant positioned on/overlooking the beach?????

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank neb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 84 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2008

What a fantastic place to stay. We had it to ourselves for 48 hours with a lovely Carribean beach...priceless. At its busiest there were 17 people staying. It was quiet. The bed was HUGE.
The staff were predominantly lovely and helpful. There is a complete staff change every Monday to confuse matters though. Food is very limited if you are a veggie - bring marmite and peanut butter. I managed to survive for a week. As with all things in Cuba, never take no for an answer...
Weather, beach and sea were fantastic. The wooden cabins were lovely too. Couldn't recommend it more if you want total peace and quiet.
All there is to do is read and swim. Don't come here if you want activities, or even good snorkelling. Go to Maria La Gorda.
Transfer from Havana is tortuous but the sights are amazing. Would probably get the bus to there again, but cadge a lift back. The road up the penisula is incredible. Unlike any other landscape. Completely unspoilt.
Would recommend and wouldn't hesitate in going back.
Oh, and if you can pick it up in Havana, take your own wine, loads of insect repellent for the sandflies, and the cigarillos will go quiet if you play them Aerosmith or The Damned (not too keen on A-Ha either).
Enjoy the stars on the beach, and watch out for the land crabs.
Please contact me if you want more information.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dompelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

We travelled to this hotel by car from Havana in one day and were doing OK until we reached a town called La Fe where we discovered our first pucture. This was before we had even reached the peninsula, which is invaded by thousands of tyre-slashing land crabs! Anyway, there is a great repair service at the fork where you can turn left towards (the better known) Maria La Gorda or right to the Cabo de San Antonio.

So, trye fixed, off we went. The crabs were enough of a worry, but after about 30km the tarmac ended, and we found ourselves on a rocky, holey, dirt track for the remainder of the journey. Two hours later, with no roadsigns to reassure you that you are on the right track, we finally arrived.

But what a place! It really was worth it. Newly built in 2006, the wooden 'chalet'-style accommodation is spacious, comfortable, air-conditioned and surprisingly stylish. The bathroom is great, each chalet has a balcony out front, many with a sea view.

The small development (only 16 chalets) is beautifully landscaped and planted.

There is only one place to eat - at the hotel restaurant. And the food is great - especially given the distance to the nearest town. There is lots of fresh fruit and salad available along with the standard Cuban menu of chicken, pork, prawns, etc.

The beach is great. Lovely fine sand and virtually nobody else to disturb you. Just one point though - there is no lifeguard so weak swimmers may want to be careful about how far they swim out.

Feel free to contact me for more info about this great destination - it was a wonderfully different experience in what was, for my partner and me, a great fortnight in amazing Cuba.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank jamesward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SergioChavezCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank priscillaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: que la busquen en otro hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajfabregues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank jorge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinar del Rio
0 mi away
Hotel Cayo Levisa
Hotel Cayo Levisa
#3 of 14 in Pinar del Rio Province
751 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Maria La Gorda
Hotel Maria La Gorda
#8 of 14 in Pinar del Rio Province
328 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Vueltabajo
Hotel Vueltabajo
#1 of 3 in Pinar del Rio
96 reviews
0 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
2,018 reviews
0 mi away
Horizontes La Ermita
Horizontes La Ermita
#5 of 7 in Vinales
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cabo San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cabo San Antonio

Address: Guanahacabibes Peninsula, Pinar del Rio 20100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Pinar del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pinar del Rio
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Cabo San Antonio 3*
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing