We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem indeed”
Review of fatCUPID

fatCUPID
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Malaysian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Set in the beautiful grounds of La Pari-Pari, fatCUPID is tucked away down a quiet lane off the main Pantai Tengah strip. Owned and operated by three cousins, the restaurant features recipes from their family's rich Nyonya heritage, incorporating dishes learned from their Grandmother, and some Aussie favourites that are a reference to the cousins' shared experiences living in Australia. Great for a laid-back breakfast or lunch, and a fantastic intimate venue for a quiet, cozy dinner.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem indeed”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Google map brought me through dark alleys at night but I found it! to make it easier to find, i'd suggest putting "La Pari Pari" into your GPS. The food was great and the staffs are exceptionally friendly! Great place to go if you are looking for a quiet dinner and is wiling to pay for what it's worth. The best part is they don't include service or government tax in the bill!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    219
    48
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hidden place”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Unfortunately we found this place in our last day. It's hidden but taxi driver knows the way. You need to walk 100m from the main road. The restaurant have a spanish style. The service is awesome, the waiter was very nice. The food was very delicious (we tried fish, burger and pizza). The portion are huge. You need to try this restaurant !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1982mikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Bit of a Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The menu ranges from western favorites to local delights. Best won-ton appetizer with homemade filling. Local dishes are the feature and delicious! Great, attentive staff too! The restaurant sits well back from the main road in town - not so easy to find. Once there it's a nice quiet spot though a bit lacking in atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice setting off the beach front to relax.”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Had dinner here this week and for the most part enjoyed it. The menu is creative with lots of choice of both local and western dishes.

Cocktails were excellent and again the list was creative. Service was super friendly though perhaps a little slow towards the end of the night (we waited about 15mins tone asked if we wanted dessert).

Portions of local dishes could maybe be a little bigger though the western food portions were ample.

Overall is a bit different compared to what else is on offer I. The area and I would go back if i was in Langkawi again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redfella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely setting & great value”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Fatcupid is a real find & well worth seeking out. The service was friendly and the food fast and fantastic. Mum and I were only in langkawi for 2 nights and wish we were staying longer so we could have another round of satay and nonya chicken curry! Also check out Sugar, on the beach, this is by the same owners and is a great place to catch the sunset with a cool drink

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank splorerkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed fatCUPID also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to fatCUPID? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing