We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambong Ambong Langkawi
Nearby Hotels
Camar Resort Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$103
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tropical Resort(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
$61
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desa Motel(Pantai Tengah)
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Resort(Pantai Cenang)
$48
$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveler rating
621
54
2
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
54
2
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese restaurantsteep hillmobile phoneyoga retreatishan spabedroom cottageyoga decklocal breakfastbeautiful rainforestdusky leaf monkeyscocktail partypool villaspecial thanksandaman seacontinental breakfastwonderful staynearby restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 684 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Highly recommended if you don't like big hotels. 'Suite three' just a stunning room by the highest international standards. Beautiful huge air-con bedroom and your own private open living space with gorgeous views of the bay. Breakfast will be in your fridge so make real coffee to your own taste in the neatest kitchenette facilty. Watch the monkeys swing through the trees close by, and I mean close by. A little way (ten mins walk) from beach and fifteen minutes walk from main centre action but who's grumbling about that. Taxi fare equivalent to £1.80 UK prices! Almost certainly the hotel car will take you where you wish to go gratis.Very special hotel, staff very keen to make your stay a delight. Lovely,lovely, lovely.
Don't be afraid to hire a car on Langkawi, the traffic is very quiet and it opens up the island to you. If you do, it might be better to ask for a major rental agency if you are nervous. Shall we suggest local agencies are interesting by european standards? Reminded me of Majorca in 1970.
Great place to stay, will always remember it.

Room Tip: I am sure most rooms are good. Suite 3 is specially nice. The hotel is built on a hillside, the staff are most helpful and they continually shuttle you up and down as required but wheel chair users would have to be have to be almost foolhardy to wish to stay here. The pathway gradients, because of the natural terrain, are very severe indeed.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indefatigable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

The monkeys are really getting mischievous Only this week a macaque ( the dusky leaf- eating monkeys are harmless) stealthily crept into the balcony , stole a container of yoghurt and leapt into the nearby branch and calmly ate it The guests who were a little surprised and very amused were able to tape record the whole episode.
Getting a car to explore the island is a good idea but we recommend that guests check with the front office first.
Thank you for the helpful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful small set of rooms carefully placed in the rain forest. Loathed to give this a top rating as I want to keep this place to myself it is that good. One recommendation would be if you are staying in a suite do not leave any food out for even a second or you may have a uninvited guest swing in from the forest. Makes my top 10 places to stay in Asia with ease.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Allister L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for the review and the tip about the monkeys, which I hope the visitors will take heed.

The dusky leaf monkeys are cute, loveable and harmless but the long tailed macaques are a different story. They are cunning, mischievous and if encouraged, can be a pest. Feeding them, even if inadvertently, is not to be encouraged as it makes them become dependent and loose their of humans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Ambong Ambong for 4 nights over the christmas period and had our best family holiday to date. The location of the resort is awesome (only a few minutes from the beach), the accommodation was very clean and very peaceful and and the staff were quite simply amazing. We arrived early in the morning after travelling for 15 hours and Anna and her staff were just so welcoming from the moment we stepped foot in the resort. Anna gave us some wonderful ideas on what we could see and do on the island and all of her recommendations did not disappoint. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Having been subjected to many 15- hour ordeals in narrow airline seats ourselves, we know how it feels; you just want to get to the room , quickly drop the luggage and crash out. Hanging around in a hotel lobby while waiting to do the check-in is especially aggravating which we avoid by doing that formality in the comfort of the guest's room instead.

Thank you for the review and we look forward to hosting you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views, wonderful staff, cheeky monkeys, useful hill climb, great location close to beach and restaurants but peaceful and private, wonderful attention to quality in the buildings design and interior amenities - totally recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank manucaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Succinct , informative and a great review!!

Terima Kasih ( Malay for Thank You )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed in Ambong-Ambong for 5 nights on the 2nd January 2014, from the moment we arrived to when we left it was absolutely first class. It is unusual to start a hotel review by mentioning the staff but the team (Anna, Nizam, Mokta and Aman) deserve it as they are the best we have ever come across. We have stayed in various hotels around the world but the service is without doubt way above anything we have experienced!
The hotel has huge rooms, the setting (in the rain forest), the location (minutes from the beach) and only 5-10 mins walking from some of the best restaraunts in Langkawi). Yes there is a hill, but when they have given you a mobile phone and pick you up/drop you off to your room it is like a having a personal chauffeur!, they even pick up & drop off in the town if you cannot be bothered to walk!
The staff recommended several restaraunts which were all first class (the Japanese by the entrance to Ambong is voted best restaraunt in Langkawi), they also arranged a mangrove tour which was great.
One last thing, when we stayed we met the owners who were very keen on asking if there was anything that could improve the hotel which is a refreshing change, we could not think of one thing. I asked them about the design of the hotel (which is unique) and they said it took a long time as they wanted to capture the beauty and tranquility of the area without ruining it. They have achieved a wonderful result.
This is the boutique hotel that all others should be judged by!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derryck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review, especially the kind words about the staff which are appreciated. As you know , we are not professional hoteliers and are still in the learning process and we are reliant on suggestions from guests ( who are mostly kind and helpful) to improve the quality of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews